We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of an update”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In need of an update”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very old looking hotel. Furniture is very out dated, but room is clean. The matresses are hard and the worst we've slept on during this entire road trip. We stopped here as a last resort as we arrived in Jasper at 11pm. We were lucky to even get a room so can't complain. We stayed at the Tonquin Inn up the street a few days ago, which was the same price but had very clean, modern rooms which were very nice to stay in; we wanted to stay here again but they were fully booked. Would not reccommend Chateau Jasper as its very outdated and overpriced (no free breakfast here, but Tonquin has it). I suppose it's decent if you're looking for a clean place to stay for one night...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    358
    225
    59
    26
See reviews for
154
416
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on our trip through the Rockies. The hotel was in a bit of a time warp but was clean and tidy. The receptionist was very pleasant. We walked in to town in about 5-10 minutes which was fine. Quiet location on the edge of town, surrounded by other hotels in the chain. A good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The other reviews are pretty consistent, and wee too found the same - the Chateau Jasper is aging and showing its age a lot now, but rooms were clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffet could be better, refills of a couple of items were slow.

A little off to the side from the town center, so not such a close walk, but manageable.

Would stay here again, good value.

Room Tip: We were at the back bang next to the rear elevator, but frankly it didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel- We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon, it was by far the least luxurious of the places we stayed but it wasn't disappointing. The decor is very dated, although it is all clean and in good repair. The beds were comfy and facilities in the room were good- tea/coffee, fridge, safe, ironing board etc. The rooms could be lifted simply by reupholstering the chairs or changing the carpet for something less 70s! The pool is lovely but the changing facilities are small. Glad to finally get free parking too!

The Silverwater restaurant - avoid! The breakfast is ok but you can get the same in town for less. The evening meal was a complete rip-off. If we had had a 3 course meal there it would have been the same price as a the Fairmont at lake Louise for food that was drowned in oil and salt, bread that arrived before our drinks and a 45 minute wait! Also if you wait at the 'please wait to be seated' sign expect to wait a while because you can't be seen from inside the restaurant...

We would stay here again if we returned, by all accounts one of the better Mountain Park Lodges.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona_Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Chateau Jasper is just alright mainly because it's starting to show it's age, and it's not very centrally located although anything actually in Jasper isn't far from anything else in Jasper, which is pretty small. After staying at newer hotels with better amenities on this trip it was a bit of a shock to pay $300 a night (summer season) at this rather old and dated property. That being said, the room was fine and quiet, they had a pretty good pool for the kids, and there were places to eat close by and in the hotel. I've stayed in Jasper about a half-dozen times in my life and have never really been impressed with any of the hotels, noting that while the Jasper Park Lodge is nice it is also really expensive and located out of town, so I think I might actually stay at the Chateau Jasper again next time I come to Jasper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 987xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Location good, quite, about ten minute walk to centre and shops etc. Good Steak restaurant across from hotel on side street coming directly off main road.

Most of the accommodation in Jasper seems to be stuck in a time warp so out of what we saw the Chateau Jasper wasn't too bad and it had the added benefit of a pool. Although rooms were dated they were spotless and couldn't fault the cleanliness at all.

Ate the continental breakfast here in the mornings which was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Convenient location close (5 min walk) to the restaurants and town center. We stayed one night in room 101 - first floor, first room closest to reception - would definitely NOT recommend the rooms in in the 100 block as they seem to be closest not only to reception, but also the the elevator shaft, which made ghost-like moaning noise non-stop through the evening and the night even when it probably wasn't in use. This will be annoying, especially if you're a light sleeper (which we are not, but still woke up a couple of time a night and heard it both times consistently). Rooms are OK - nothing special, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Did not use anything else in the hotel, so can't comment on amenities or restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing