We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, overpriced and old dated hotel that pretends to be much more.”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OK, overpriced and old dated hotel that pretends to be much more.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the chateau hotel. the hotel is far from the center of the city, the rooms are large and always very clean but are very old dated. The hotel needs a "face lift" and specially the bath. As with hotels in Jasper in the high season, prices are high however, the Chateau is overpriced for what you get. We opted to eat breakfast in other places rather than in the hotel. The wi-fi was not good, reception was very weak when we had one. In sum this is an OK hotel that pretends to be much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    376
    235
    60
    27
See reviews for
168
440
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perfectly adequate but nothing special. It is a bit dated but the rooms are very clean ( other than the bed spread, which didn't seem dirty, but you can't help wondering). It's a 15 minute stroll to shops and it's a pleasant walk past 'real homes'. We liked Jasper. It seemed a bit more 'lived in' than Banff. We had fun on some bikes that we hired. The trails are lovely. I enjoyed my morning coffee in the community garden ,by the railroad, which was a little oasis. We will return but might give one of the other hotels a go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here, which was fine for a base. The room was large, but the furniture was tired and dated. The beds were comfortable, though. The bathroom was also tired and had no plug for the bath, loads of towels on offer. The Internet was rubbish -it kept cutting out when you could get access. The most reliable connection was to use the computer in the foyer. We ate in the bar for the first evening, food was good, service was good, but there were flies in the room and dead ones on the windowsill, which was not very appetising. We ate in a sister hotel on the second evening and we think the restaurant was cheaper than at the chateau jasper, for the same thing. There was plenty of parking and the staff on the reception desk were always very helpful. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of our holiday in Canada. Stayed15 July for 2 nights.
The rooms were very clean and well appointed. We arrived at about 8.30 pm and the desk staff were very helpful after along drive up from Vancouver. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant that night and we found the food very good and at a reasonable price.
Jasper town centre is about a 10 min walk away. There are plenty of things to see and do.
The parking at the hotel is very good and if you want to you can even park under ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotter1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we stayed one night we found the hotel very comfortable not to far from the city centre hotel and room were both clean and tidy and the courtesy bus the next day to was just ideal for us to get us down to the station in nice time for or train. would return at a later date

Room Tip: all rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in Chateau Jasper for 2 nights on our tour of the Rockies. The room had everything we needed - fridge, safe, 2 large beds and coffee making machine. The 15 minute walk didn't bother us as it was a pleasant walk into the town.

Having read another review, we decided to have breakfast one morning in the nearby Best Western as it was cheaper. The other morning we had breakfast in town on our way to Lake Maligne, so can't comment on the restaurant.

Overall, a fine base for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a basic hotel - it isn't expensive, it is clean, has large rooms, has wifi and a pool. It is a wee bit outside of the main town, but the walk is not unpleasant. We did not eat in the restaurant or use the bar, but instead went in to Jasper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing