We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Jasper
Nearby Hotels
$126
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marmot Lodge(Jasper)(Great Value!)
$115
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$151
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
163
415
240
63
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
415
240
63
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingnice hotelminute walkgood sizerocky mountaineer traintown centrehotel restaurantcouple of nightsspacious roomshort staystayed here for two nightshot tubwould stay here againbreakfast buffetpleasant staymini fridgeindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 909 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a comfortable and large room. We chose the double standard room. I liked the idea of two sinks in the bath area as this was very convenient in the morning. Plenty of drawer space, however, hanging closet space a bit small as it also housed a refrigerator and safe which we did appreciate.
The staff was helpful and friendly and service overall was very good. Quiet location and it was only a 10-15 minute walk into the village which we enjoyed, especially in the morning before breakfast and another walk for dinner if you didn't want to drive. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Room on Top floor, the 3rd floor, is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNelsonBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Chateau Jasper is almost at the end of Gieke Street and close to the Trans Canada and Highway 16. It has underground parking as well as aboveground parking lot and conveniently located for the middle of town.

Our room was on the 1st floor (though like many Canadian hotels it was the 2nd, the ground floor being 1/main or lobby) We had a good sized room with the standard twin doubles, a desk, small table with chairs, large TV and a compact bathroom. Not much of a view but then there's no stunning views to be had!!

Breakfast the first morning was busy as the Chateau Jasper seems to be popular with coach trips for the over 60's and we had to wait to be seated and for the requested tea though it did arrive fairly quickly. We weren't asked that morning if we wanted the continental or full buffet breakfast (we were the second) but had the full buffet both days. It was average with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes or french toast as well as pastries, fruit, yoghurt and juice. The dining room serves dinner in the evening though we didn't sample that, preferring to go into town for that.

All in all CJ was as good as any other small hotel in the town I would think, it would be possible to walk into the centre (though could take 20 minutes or more) and was a comfortable base for the trip. One minor gripe would be the chambermaids chatting in the corridor early (something we found in other, bigger, properties too) but on the plus side they provided free wifi, something the larger, more expensive properties find impossible to do!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magrithea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On the outskirts of the town and a 15 minute walk to downtown, nevertheless a pleasant place to stay. Large and pleasant rooms which were very quiet. Easy parking outside or underground. Did what it said on the tin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rameman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

For $301, including breakfast, this hotel was completely overpriced, so dated--going back to the '50s with no
remodeling. The first thing we saw upon entering our room was a large, red stain on the carpet, reminiscent of
blood. There were no railings in the bath tub--a dangerous situation. When we confronted the manager about
the price of this dingy room, she said Jasper had some ruling that prohibited renovation. How ridiculous!
Save your money, stay in Banff and visit Lake Louise from there. Don't go all the way to Jasper, which is a
tourist trap filled with old, smelly hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyous1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Manager at Chateau Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. Comments and concerns will always help us improve our products and services. Throughout our properties we do offer accessible rooms with the railings in the washrooms, I apologize that the manager you spoke to did not offer you this option. It saddens me that your views on our rustic small town were disappointed by your hotel accommodations. There are many things people visit Jasper for including the wildlife, beautiful scenery and the peaceful resort town we are. I do hope in the future you do return to Jasper to experience what we have to offer as a destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. On arrival the hotel looked nice, our room was very spacious with an enormous bed and we thought we had chosen well. However the room was dark, due to a large bush covering nearly all the window, and the room was too hot. We think the underfloor heating was on and the air conditioning couldn't cope with the temperature. The air conditioning worked by cooling the room, switching off, the room heated up and the conditioner restarted and the cycle began again. It was was on full blast so noisy and not conducive to sleeping. You could not open the windows either, but if you could have then the coaches that parked alongside our room (101), would have woken you anyway.

Breakfast was expensive and the staff disinterested in the customers. Interesting I have read this in other reviews and the management said they were addressing it. Well they failed and we ended up breakfasting next door at the Best Western, which was cheaper, friendlier, and had a generally more pleasant ambience.

This hotel spoilt our stay in beautiful, peaceful Jasper as the air conditioning was far from peaceful. Of course other rooms may be different, but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to friends.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wanderlust092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews