We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel but hard beds”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel but hard beds”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

we decided to stay here because it is aways from the main drag, friendly staff, ya you could here people coming and going but you hear that in every hotel, we had 2 double beds which were very hard, tiny fridge for drinks and no microwave, needs some updating, lots of room they could put 2 queen beds and a stand for a microwave, might stay here again and its only a 10 min walk to resturants and stores in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerpooh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    361
    230
    59
    26
See reviews for
156
421
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I found Chateau Jasper to be a very comfortable and quiet place stay. The room was large and comfortable, the bed was easy to sleep in, sheet smell fresh and clean and bathroom was cleaned. The tub could be deeper though. It got a nice place to eat and overall, I was quite pleased. The Internet service was pretty good and inside garage was roomy and somewhat clean. It is bit of a walk away from the hub of Town of Jasper but I needed to stretch my legs a bit.

I didn't see too many guests as I was in the off season so I wondered why I ended up with a room with no view at all?? It wasn't crowded and when I checked early the morning, my vehicle was one of the few. So why would an very uncrowded hotel give me a room without a view??? I thought that deserves taking away one spot on the rating.

Room Tip: My room had a view of a "garden" which appears to be some sort of BBQ space or backyard fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Jasper is in a naturally beautiful area, but doesn't have a lot of first rate hotels. The Chateau Jasper offers large comfortable rooms and a passable restaurant, but is rather dated and not particularly close to the downtown tourist area. It is either about a 25 minute walk or a $7 taxi ride. The only fancier hotel, the Fairmont Jasper, is totally away from town. This hotel served us for what it was - a two night layover on our Via Rail crossing of Canada.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbadjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a tidy and well-maintained facility. Service is very good. What is missing is a contemporary look to the decor. It has the appearance of a place frozen in time, circa 60's-70's, but so does Jasper itself. This has a certain appeal with its slower pace. The rooms are quite large; the baths are not. If you want a more upscale vibe, visit Banff, but expect higher prices on most everything.

Room Tip: On the second floor, ask for an outside room. Traffic noise is not a bother and the inside rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlagged08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable and clean hotel for a reasonable price - this is it. It is an older hotel but it is clean and has nice big rooms. It is also within walking distance to the main street and shops. Perfect for a family ski trip or a weekend of biking or hiking. We have stayed at many hotels in Jasper and this is the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikimcCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very nice hotel stayed here with my parents on the way to see my relatives. First opinion oh the hotel was very friendly staff and very clean, but very outdated but I would say one of nicest hotels in town, And the underground parking was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzajamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hello Everyone
If you every wanted to visit the 1970's again this is the property for you.
The decor of this hotel will bring you back to that good old era we have almost long forgotten.

Pros
- Ok all kidding a side with property is very clean and well maintained.
- The staff is very kind and courteous and was always helpful.
- Modern upgrades, a flat screen TV and a Touch Tone Telephone. (no more rotary dial)
- No stupid hotel system for renting movies so the TV actually worked like a TV.
- Fridge and a safe are located in the room.

Cons
- Pool area and hot tub looked ok but still from the 70's. The hot tub had a lot of foam in it so we decided not to use it.
- The fitness area is above the pool and if you can really call it a fitness area would be terrible to workout in as the heat and humidity from the pool makes it to hot up there.
- The smell of grease in the elevator was strong but at least you know they were doing the maintenance which is good.
- Thin walls, could hear the hockey team staying on our floor leaving in the morning as well as the guy above us going to the bathroom. Just glad that we have quiet guests around us. hotel
- Fridge is located in the room but no microwave so obviously the fridge is for drinks only.

All in all I am not sure if I would come back to stay in this hotel. I think next time I’m in Jasper I will try somewhere else.
Sadly I don’t think there are many great hotels in Jasper to choose from.

Room Tip: Not sure what would help here. We saw a number of rooms fr the doorway when they were being cleaned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajar_desde_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing