We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for Jasper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good base for Jasper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Jasper, it is a good base towards the end of the townsite, just a nice walk when going for dinner. It was nice to have the pool and hot tub after a hard day of sightseeing and we even had it to ourselves one day. The room was spacious but very old fashioned in appearance but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. Most of the staff were lovely but one guy really needs customer service lessons. Didn't try the food at the hotel, we felt Jasper was expensive for eating out, but we enjoyed the food and atmosphere in The Jasper Pizza place so we ended up there for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Maligne Lake, it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    355
    225
    59
    26
See reviews for
153
416
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Chateau Jasper was our hotel on the Rocky Mountaineer trip. After the fantastic Gold leaf experience, to stay our first night at this resort was awesome. A welcome drink and cheese awaited us on our arrival . The resort looks lovely and 'old world', and the staff are efficient and polite. The hotel had two huge queen sized beds (so no extra charge for third room occupant).Double wash basins and a spacious bath was the other delight. Jasper is quite a small town, and the chateau is on the main road.
Unsure of restaurant facilities, as we decided to 'explore' town and eat out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had no great expectations of this hotel and definately were not expecting a chateau. Our first impression was a dated interior and an efficient check in. We had booked a standard room and were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. We were on the second floor. had 2 beds, a bathroom with 2 wash basins and the basic essentials for our stay. Our view was the garden , some large fir trees and several squirrels which entertained us with their antics.Parking was good and free. It was a ten to fifteen minute walk into the centre of Jasper but most of the other hotels were in the same area and would have involved the same walk. We did not use the restaurant which seemed busy catering for large groups but did use the bar on our return from day trips and found the staff very pleasant and friendly.The pool was an awkward shape which made swimming difficult and there did seem to be a lot of chemicals used in it when we were there.The hotel does need to be updated and surely there must be a more appropriate name for a flat roofed wooden cladded building. However our stay there was comfortable and quiet and we probably would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably quiet.Ground floor rooms may have cars parking outside. View of the garden wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmotManager, Manager at Chateau Jasper, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the reading public. We inherited the name “Chateau Jasper” when we (Mountain Park Lodges) purchased this property in 2008. We have since invested in many upgrades, including refurbishing all of our public areas and hallways, and have done several in-room improvements, and more to come shortly.
The Chateau Jasper has seen a number of owners since it was built in 1982; known for 2 decades as the Charlton’s Chateau Jasper, then briefly as the Royal Canadian Lodge, then again as the Chateau Jasper. There are many senses to the word Chateau; at the time it was meant to describe a “seigniorial residence, manor or country house of any pretentions” rather than castle or fortress. We kept the name “Chateau Jasper” to honor its heritage and for consistency, but we understand that it is often interpreted as an indication of its structure. Your suggestion to change the name is under consideration. On that note, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

The rooms are indeed big, bathroom especially, as other reviews pillows were on the hrad side but caused no real issue. Loveley views from the room of the mountains and cleansiness no problem. Yes on the outskirts of town but most people could walk into town in 15 minutes or have a car. Large underground car park with direct access to hotel. Biggest issue for us was the service in the hotel restaurant - showed to table and then left for 30 minutes unattended and it was almost empty. When I made a complaint it didn't get much better and food was extre,ely average. In fact staff spent more time setting tables for the next mornings breakfast than attending to diners. Poorest meal & service we had in canada - hence absolutely no tip. Would recommended any restaurant in Jasper above this one.

Overall hotel worth the money but definately not the restaurant. Would agree the receptionists could have been more helpful as they forgot to give us our voucher book on checking in and we only got one when asked for.

Room Tip: overlook poolside of hotel and away from lift and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Gill_EN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a comfortable hotel, with big, clean rooms and big comfortable beds. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. The only downside was that it was too far from the hub of the town - too far to walk - so we had to take the car each time we ventured out. The restaurant served good, tasty food both at breakfast and dinner, which we used for one of each, eating in the town on the other two occasions. Service was prompt and efficient and the servers pleasant and informative.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheElginNobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed three nights here, beds & room clean & comfortable, food excellent with speedy friendly service, only drawback was 15 min steady walk into town. One useful tip is if you can't face the walk back, go into any shop and they will ring a taxi for you [about 5$], nice friendly helpful people these Canadians!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambrian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had read some of the previous reviews over the past few months and was very worried about staying here - I tried to change hotel a few weeks before staying, but most couldn't get the dates so I thought we would have to grin and bear it.

The property was just outside the main town and also had restaurants close by. It was near enought to walk into town. The room was large and spacious and had a separate sink outside of he bathroom area which was good. The bathroom could do with a bit of an update, but everything was very clean. Our view from the room could have been improved by the removal of a large pine tree pressed up closely to one of the windows, but this was only a minor irritation. How much time are you spending admiring the view from the room when you have come to see glorious Jasper? The room also had a safe (excellent news).

The pool and gym area were nice and the hot tub was a great temperature. The changing facilities could have been better though.

The free underground parking was great too. Plenty of room to park outside if you prefer.

We had breakfast at the hotel and it was more than adequate. The staff seemed helpful generally, although did give poor advice on cashing some Canadian travellers cheques - they would only cash 50 dollars at the desk and directed us to a bureau who wanted to charge a big commission per cheque - we went to the bank instead and they changed them all for free....

If in Jasper again, I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaminofnextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing