We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in jasper”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family and I come to jasper as much as we can winter and summer as its a beautiful place.
We have stayed in probably over the years most of the hotels in jasper trying them out.
I have to say yes Jasper is expensive compared to the cities but its a out of the way, in the parks get away.I have read some of the reviews on this site and I find them ridiculous. Our stays at maligne lodge have been pleasant, the rooms are clean the people friendly. I enjoy the fact that there is a breakfast buffet and that there is a pool for my kids. I have yet to find a place in jasper that is brand new and worth the money compared to the city. However We also understand that obviously things are going to be more expensive so far from a major center. This place even though it is dated looking is a good deal compared to the rest in jasper. If anyone that stays in hotels in any regularity can find me a perfect hotel room 5 star to 2 star I would love to find it.
For our family this place is perfect comparatively to the rest of jasper and what you get.
I think some people think that every day like changing the sheets they make the room brand new again . I never seen so many complaints about really nothing in my life. maybe everyone should take their shoes off at the door and leave their luggage in their car and have a shower before they get in the room to keep everything pristine . People abuse hotels because its not theirs so how do we expect the room to be made perfect every second? For our value and our experience and for the money in jasper this hotel is just fine. perhaps take a look at your own house is it perfect? do you renovate every day? I thought people actually enjoy jasper and its nature but it seems people have nothing better to do than write reviews about silly things that are so small comparatively...

Room Tip: They have roll out ac in some rooms thank god they have some sort of Ac a lot in jasper do not altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank george j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We appreciate you sharing your comments about your stays at the Maligne Lodge. It is great to know that we fulfilled your every need with our friendly service and clean economical product and that we are your hotel of choice when visiting Jasper. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 744 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place is a dump. Room reminded me of the 1960's. Very dated.Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere eles. The location is ok not too far from town and free wifi. The only redeeming qualities I can think of.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timeshareaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Renovating our rooms and the property is ongoing and we just completed 35 rooms with new furniture, carpeting and granite in the bathrooms last fall. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After reading the reviews I was hesitant on booking but the price was one of the best although overpriced IMHO. The room a junior suite, was clean and spacious, bathroom looked remodelled although the fan was too noisey to use. Buffet for the price was a good value, yogurt, fruit, eggs and bacon, pancakes, sausages, toast. The second day we went next door to the coffee bar and it cost us almost as much for two coffees and two buns.
Staff was helpful and noted the Need to replace the fan.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and that you enjoyed your accommodation and the breakfast buffet. All of the staff and management of the Maligne Lodge look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it was very pleasant. The suite was spacious. The only downside was that we found ants inside and the room was in the basement. The outside curb appeal looked like a cheap motel. The room is overpriced. But the location isn't too bad, right at the end of town, within a couple minutes walk downtown.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Maligne Lodge and its location. We are not sure which room you were in as we do not have any rooms in a "basement". All rooms are either located on the first or the second floors. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed at this motel for one night. and the staff were very friendly. We got into our room and it was tiny, and smelled like pee. We had to close the bathroom door to try and get the smell to dissipate. The air conditioner was so loud it made it near impossible to sleep... Overall, not worth the money and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. It was a pleasure to read that you found the staff friendly but we are disappointed to read about the issues you had with your room. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping team and that your concerns are not indicative of the high standards we have set. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is a dump. At 300 bucks for the night we had a "suite" with a 6 inch by 12 inch window in the bedroom. It was like sleeping in a stuffy coffin. The front room of the "suite" had a large window that looked out onto a brick wall. Dark, dingy, dated and stuffy. And yeah, no fan in the bathroom. Seriously, no ventilation in the bathroom. The hot tub is in the parking lot; yes the parking lot. There is apparently a "sauna" on the second floor? Odd.

12 bucks for cold scrambled eggs and cold hash browns and cold bacon and cold sausage is a bit of a rip off too. Avoid the restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zoopdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We offer our most sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team. We hope that you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper itself. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently. Room was a bit dark but the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Situated at the end of the main street, it is less convenient for the village centre as it is a five to ten minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the bed to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing