We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So dirty, poorly treated, we didn't even stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Bourget, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So dirty, poorly treated, we didn't even stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Check in experience was fine, but got to rooms and looked all and well until you roll up the sheets to look for bed bugs (as we do at EVERY hotel we stay at).

- mattress was incredibly dirty with lint, dead bugs, other material. Rm 223 also had a really sketchy looking bathroom, with tiles and baseboards falling off the wall. RM 204 also had dirty bed but didn't stay long enough to check out couch or bathroom.

- called front desk to voice concern and had to request to stay in another room, also asked to have someone come and see the room and no one showed up for ~15 mins. We gave up waiting for the staff that was supposed to be 'sent immediately' then headed back to office to get new room assignment.

- was re-assigned rooms and that too was dirty. Same dirt in mattress, took a picture of only one mattress, didn't think to get them both. See pic, which isn't even the beginning of what was in the edges of the mattresses.

- went to front desk to ask for money back and the attendant Ahmed was incredibly rude. Saying things like "everyone had to move so you could get another room", "we gave you complimentary upgrade and you're not grateful", and "we don't give refunds for any reason".

- when he FINALLY got the assistant manager, he was also rude in saying that we had to stay there regardless... there was NO way we were staying in that dirty place! After about 5 minutes of typing who knows what on his computer he said we would not be charged for the room.

- not impressed that the staff were so rude when we were being reasonable in the request for a clean room for over $250 a night. We did not ask for an upgrade, we only asked for another room.

- since I had said the mattress was dirty and was concerned about bed bugs, they were angry when they said they 'investigated' and it wasn't. The assistant manager actually said that he wouldn't refund us since we 'accused' them of having bed bugs - when I clarified what I had actually said to his staff, he said 'oh no problem then'.... unbelievable!

- what I couldn't get over was the mattress was covered in 2 mattress pads and then another sheet. Seeing as how mattress pads are historically not changed or washed in hotels/motels that it was not normal for the mattress to be so dirty. There was also a large yellow spot on one of the mattresses that smelled like fresh urine.

- we stayed in a house that had "approved accommodation" and it was great. They actually said that the Maligne Lodge was the lowest of the accommodations, dirtiest in Jasper. They were dumbfounded when we told them the price of the room.

Highly suggest staying with a family in one of the 'approved accommodation' - they are closer to downtown and usually have a few extra perks (pick garden fresh fruits and veg, etc)

Also, as others have wrote, this is a motel style building. Also, we didn't even stay here so this experience is just the 30 minutes since we checked-in, moved rooms and left.

Room Tip: rm 224 and rm 204 had dirty mattresses in aug 2013. If you're there, check them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mugwhumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
First of all, let me sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the Maligne Lodge. I personally checked both Room 204 and Room 223. Your comments regarding Room 223 are well taken and I have spoken with my Maintenance Manager and my Executive Housekeeper about the state of this room. The issues were addressed immediately and both departments were reminded to remain vigilant in the maintenance and cleaning of a room. I would like to assure all guests that cleanliness and maintenance are priorities for our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and thank you for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    210
    204
    86
    53
See reviews for
190
267
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed with our experience with this place. It is not what we expected at all. For future people wanting a night in this motel, give you a heads up, don't GO! Our room was terriblly outdated, the toilet seat was broken, the ceiling was leaking with a huge wet patch on our floor, the cabinet doors were broken, grim all around the edges, inadition to paint peeling. Sorry to say we will never return here :/ we were also very disappointed in the site we bought the room from. Otel.com, which said the place was three star on their site, and in fact it's 2!! We also found the staff cocky and rude about our complaints, saying most of our fault was the site.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am truly sorry we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the appropriate departments for immediate corrective action. We are looking to renovate/upgrade our guest rooms, which will begin before the year is out. We take our guest's comments very seriously and will take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A reasonable to good motel, easily reachable from the freeway and just within (for us...) walking distance from the town center. The room was clean and equipped with arco and a fridge. The staff was friendly. For the (mediocre) buffet breakfast, you first need to buy a voucher at the reception (which made us have breakfast elsewhere the second day).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and your feedback about our friendly staff, clean, well equipped rooms and our good location. We are disappointed to read that your did not enjoy our breakfast buffet as we usually receive very positive comments from our guests. We have shared your comments about the breakfast buffet with our management team. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can't really comment on this hotels amenities, since I arrived at midnight and was on the road again by 6:00 a.m; However, the room was reasonably clean and adequate. But even for a long-weekend in Jasper, $250 for one sleepless night on a lousy bed in an outdated hotel seemed a bit extravagant. The a/c was terribly loud, and since it was a large portable unit, seemed to shake the floor (where I was trying to sleep, actually) every time it kicked in or out. In all fairness to the hotel, the bed and a/c were probably not the main reason I couldn't sleep -- but they sure didn't help matters. If I'd paid half as much for this room, I'd probably not even mention the noisy a/c; at least it worked! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drj_sandseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay as we usually receive very positive comments from our guests. Our room rates are consistently compared with other hotels in Jasper to ensure that we remain competitive. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. Jasper hotels are pricey and this was one of the cheaper ones at around $200 for the night. We arrived early evening and checked in smoothly, no hassle. We managed to get parked right outside our room. The room itself was clean and reasonably large, but from a different era! There was a portable air conditioner and de-humidifier in the room, which was needed as the weather was hot at the start of August. It worked in the sense that the room was cooled down, but it was so noisy that sleeping was difficult. Hot and quiet,or noisy and cold, your choice.
The location is on the edge of town, it's pretty much the first hotel if arriving from the south along the Icefields Parkway. It's only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the centre, which was fine for us, but may be an issue for others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Maligne Lodge. I am glad to read that you found your room clean and reasonably large. Our location, at the edge of town, allows for a quieter guest stay. The air conditioning units in our rooms can, unfortunately, be somewhat noisy and we are presently looking into different units so that we can still provide the comfort of air conditioning for our guests, as we are one of the few hotels that does have air conditioning.
Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this accommodation because we needed beds for 4 and also wanted a kitchen to be able to self cater to save on costs. When we entered the room and saw the tiny kitchenette in the corner of the main bedroom we were very disappointed. The fridge was a mini-fridge that was no where near big enough to fit all of our food in. The room had 3 beds so could sleep 6 people however the table was so narrow and only had 2 chairs at it so we couldn't enjoy meals together. The space was also lacking bench space, thus meal prep was very difficult.
We spoke with the staff straight away, however there were no bigger rooms available. We asked to speak to management but were told he/she was away until the day of our checkout. We asked for a discount and were told they would speak to management for us.
In the end we checked out a day early without penalty- only because the same staff member was working at the time we made this decision. We never heard from the management.
This was more expensive than where we stayed in a much bigger 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and we were told "it's Jasper, everywhere is expensive"- doesn't cut it!
Fitness equipment is above the heated pool and needs a fan to move the humid air around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments about your recent stay. I have looked into your reservation to determine what had happened. When the reservation was made, it indicated that the room would have 4 people in it. Upon arrival, the front desk was advised that the number of people would be 6. Our family kitchenette rooms can comfortably accommodate 4 people as indicated on our website. Its unfortunate that due to no availability, we were unable to upgrade you to a larger room. I have forwarded your comments re the fitness area to my maintenance department. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

When you pull into the parking lot you get a "'50's Motor Lodge" feel and it looks like they haven't done any maintenance since the '50's. $235 a night for a room that didn't have a working air conditioner. No ventilation except for a small 6-inch bathroom window. Although the motel continued to rent rooms and had the "vacancy" sign lit, they refused to offer us another room. My wife and I spent a miserable night in a sauna.

Outside railings falling apart, threadbare carpeting in the rooms, antiquated bathrooms, musty smell throughout the motel. To be totally honest, I would have saved the money and slept in a tent than stay another night in this dump. Beware.

Room Tip: DON'T stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to address the concerns of our guests. Renovations to the hotel are ongoing. In the last couple of years, the beds and some carpeting have been replaced and 45 rooms were redone with new furniture. I have forwarded your comments to my Assistant General Manager to review them with his staff re upgrading guests when possible. Thank you again for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing