We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good valued hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good valued hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here in september and found it to be very well valued for what you paid for compared to other hotels in the area. We stayed there for one night and we liked the hotel a lot. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alebale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good value and helpful staff are jusy a few of our many selling points. Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    203
    198
    82
    51
See reviews for
182
258
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

No towels at pool ran outside to room, key didn't work our son and baby were in the cold until we got a new key. 2year old could get out freely as the dead bolt unlock from inside as soon as knob was turned. Staff was friendly but safety comes first. Considering chairs and baggage were piled in front of door to keep the toddler in we hope there is no fire. Price was high for how old the rooms were. Beds are comfortable with good pillows but that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPKNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel with other travellers. I am pleased to hear that my staff were friendly and that you found our beds and pillows comfortable. Rest assured that your comments regarding the issues you had with the pool towels and the keys have been forwarded to the appropriate department manager. The safety of all of our guests is of utmost importance to us. Our guest room locking system is inspected on a regular basis to ensure that we meet all safety standards. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to us and will take your comments seriously under consideration in evaluating our system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked last minute over the phone and was offered 2 free lift passes for Marmot Basin INCLUDED in the price. Upon arrival, Maligne Lodge attempted to charge us for 2 lift passes and denied ever telling us that they were included in the price quoted over the phone. The same thing happened to a couple standing in line behind us - they were also charged for lift passes after being told they were included in the quoted price.

WARNING: The website is misleading. Based on the Jasper in January Ski Package, we were overcharged for our room and forced to pay for 2 lift passes which the website implies are INCLUDED in the room price.

When discussing this with the front desk, the woman just kept repeating the same things and changing her story. We had to fight to speak to the manager and when we did, we received the worst customer service.

As an added annoyance, when we attempted to purchase the lift passes at the front desk, we were told that Maligne Lodge did not sell lift passes. However, when the couple behind us in line reluctantly purchased two, the woman at the front desk pulled out 50+ tickets from under the desk. It just seems like they change their story to suit them.

It was a shame too because the room itself was very clean and comfortable and the location was great. Based on our treatment and the misleading nature of their website advertising though, we would not stay here again and advise future guests to get whatever is discussed over the phone in writing BEFORE paying a cent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to read your feedback and the experience you had at the Maligne Lodge. I am especially concerned about your comments regarding misleading advertising. Our packages, as noted on our website, do include ski lift tickets as advertised. I would certainly appreciate you contacting me directly with more information so that I can look into this for you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were very please with our King sized bed it was ever so comfortable. We had a real good sleep and when we woke up we felt totally rested, well rested and on top of the world. The mountains may have had something to do with this also. We had a gorgeous view and everything was clean and neat and tidy, we even had enough towels and wash cloths in the room. Maligne Lodge even supplied the shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, kleenex.

We give this Maligne Lodge a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Main floor you can get out quicker and it is close to the restaurant and walking to restaurants arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to read feedback from our guests. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a restful stay by providing comfy beds, great location and a full complement of guest amenities - I am sure the mountains also added to your memorable stay! Please contact me directly for your next visit so I can personally look after your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked this online and judging by the picture and description thought it would be an excellent place for the rate. Boy was I wrong ... Rooms are dark and dirty, no natural light. The room smelled of I don't know what :/ immediately went to the front desk and asked if we could be refunded. Was told that was not an option but they would upgrade us to a junior sweet. The junior sweet is priced at 170 a night and from I'm concerned is not worth that at all. The only good thing I can say about my stay is the service was exceptional, they did not have to upgrade us by did:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Maligne Lodge but I am delighted to hear that you received exceptional service from the staff. We take pride in offering the best value in Jasper and normally receive postive feedback from our guests. Thank you for informing us of the issue you had with your room. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate department. Renovations at the hotel are ongoing as well as our website is being redeveloped to reflect the changes at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

we stayed in maligne lodge on Jan 4 and 5, 2013. the room was nice and clean. the staff was very friendly. we got there early, and they let us check in right away. the outdoor hot pool was very nice. after a day's skii, sitting in the pool with fresh air, it was amazing.
we left some stuff in the room, the front desk was very friendly and sent the stuff to us. we got it the next day. Thank you, the front desk lady and all the staff! we had a very nice stay. we will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy2012Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your many compliments about our staff and our hotel. I am pleased to share them with all of my departments. Our number one goal is to provide experiences for our guests that are special and I am thrilled to read that the efforts of our team will have you returning. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact me directly for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yes, Jasper was the most expensive place to stay in the Rockies for us and accommodations seemed to be snapped up quickly online. Anyway, we ended up booking Maligne Lodge, and while we were there for 2 nights (Sept), the 'Vacancy' sign remained on, so maybe it's not *that* busy.
Our room smelt nice on entry and was very spacious, with 2x Queen/King beds (very comfortable) on the second floor, which I requested. Unfortunately, this means that you do have to drag your luggage up a short flight of stairs yourself. There's an LCD TV, coffee maker, fridge, iron+board, free wifi, free bathroom amenities, free local calls from the room phone, but no safe. Some small issues were that the bathroom door was very stiff- you had to lean in hard to close the door and the lock still doesn't always engage. Also, the bathroom could use a ventilation fan to prevent fogging up of the one and only mirror in the entire room. There seems to be no control for the room temperature- just a fan, but this was sufficient for us. We didn't try their breakfast next door, which seems pricey at $13.
So the room itself was great and we did appreciate that they truthfully advertised a 15 min walk to one edge of the town- it's a straight road down. However, even this distance can be an inconvenience when it's late at night and you have heavy shopping to carry and/or if it rained, which all happened to us. When we were tired from just having arrived for our first night, it also seemed like a bigger task than it was, to have to do a 30 min round trip just to grab a bite to eat. If you have a car or bike to get around, it'd be perfect.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Its always great to hear feedback from our guests. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your room with all the amenities and services offered. A 15 minute walk to town can be enjoyable when the weather cooperates - its unfortunate that this was not a great experience for you. My team and I look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#14 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing