We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great Hotel”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed February 7, 2012

this was my first visit to Jasper, and i stayed at the Maligne lodge a nice hotel in beautiful jasper, the indoor swimming pool is a bonus, i booked my room through the hotel directly the girl at the front desk was super helpful.
when i will revisit jasper Maligne lodge is my home

Room Tip: Book through the hotel you get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 747 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel while skiing at Marmot, so I'll keep this review short.

Rooms are good - they clearly try to stand out from some of the other hotels in area. However, the bathrooms are in desperate need of renos. The previous renos are messy and while the bathroom is clean, its time they just completely re-do the bathrooms.

We opted to have breakfast at the hotel for the first time. It took 60 mins to get our food. I would have just walked out, but I was convinced to stay. Its ridiculous to wait longer than 20 mins for breakfast food. I won't eat there again. Head down the road to the Soft Rock cafe for better food and service at the same price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Maligne Lodge is a very old establishment with old decor and bathroom. However, can't complain about the beds - very comfy and warm. It's located at one end of the main street, so it's a slightly longer walk into the main part of town than other lodges. Not too good after dinner in the cold, fall winds but during the day, when the sun is up, it was a lovely stroll through the residential neighbourhood. There are better lodges in Jasper but you'd have to pay a higher price.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room which is pretty pokey. If you can pay extra, get a bigger room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_Steve_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

It was not inexpensive, but our stay was wonderful. The suite was really large & inviting, the bedrooms were large & the beds super comfortable. A full size kitchen was a nice bonus! The pool area was directly outside our door & the pool is great with kids as it is mostly about 3 feet; so not a pool for actually swimming, but fabulous for the kids to play in. Walking distance to downtown for eating out or shopping. There are definitely some maintenance issues within the room itself (small things like the bathroom fan & tub jets were broken, so they do need to fix up those things (esp. when you are in Jasper as you are already overpaying vs. other towns), but the room was quiet, enjoyable, roomy & comfortable!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, so can't comment on the regular rooms, but if you can afford a suite in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarai2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Maligne Lodge is a good professional Hotel to stay in Jasper. I had stayed here in 2009 fall and came back 2011 summer too mainly because it has value for money. It is located in the heart of the town with access to various restaurants and other souvenir shops. They have large parking space and checking in and checking out are all very efficiently done.
This was a trip with my son Anoop Karollil who works at Vancouver, my daughter and wife.
The room is neat and bathrooms too are quite hygienic. May be they can give breakfast too so one does not have to stir out in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are accessable without climbing stairs if you have baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devidas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here in March 2011. We had a great pool side room. The bed was super soft and comfortable. Loved the outdoor hot tub. Great value for $100 a night in off season.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeyrulesWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was my first time in Jasper NP and it's overwhelming how beautiful it is. I'm so glad I got a chance to stay at this cool little lodge, I can imagine that it's bustling in the summer but in the late fall it was pretty quiet which was nice. Jasper was my stopover point between Grand Prairie and Banff and it worked out perfectly. Jasper is not to be missed if you're in the region, it's spectacular.

This is one of those hotels with the exterior door opening onto a walkway and I can imagine families staying here over the years, dreaming of the great adventures they'll have in the park. The room had everything I need: a clean, safe place to stay that's quiet. It had everything I needed and was whisper quiet. They have an indoor pool in an adjacent building (there are a couple of buildings) and a workout room.

I can't wait to go back to Jasper again with my wife and when we do we'll stay at the Maligne Lodge, it's a winner.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing