We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great quality and value”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I stayed here for three nights in August and was a bit disappointed as it wasn't as great as I'd expected from the reviews. I think this was partly due to having stayed at Baker Creek Cabins prior to coming here and feeling much more in the wilderness and experiencing the Rockies. Alpine Village is very pretty, well-maintained and is across the road from a river but isn't in the heart of the forest in the same way as Baker Creek. Secondly, I'd booked the ground floor lodge suite as no cabins were available when I made my booking. In hindsight, this was a mistake, as the lodge suite is at the back of the property, next to the staff laundry room and overlooking staff garages - nothing like the picturesque cabins that are detached and surrounded by lawns and flowers. This isn't really Alpine Village's fault, as I knew I wasn't getting a cabin and was paying a bit less but I hadn't realised how much difference it would make, particularly after staying in our Baker Creek cabin. However, on the plus side, great location close to Jasper (which we liked) but set away from the town closer to nature, nice staff and very luxuriously equipped and furnished (certainly to a much higher standard than Baker Creek Cabins). The kitchen had everything we needed, the lounge area was very comfortable and we had a lovely though small italian-tiled bathroom/shower. I would recommed staying here but be aware that it doesn't have the feel of remoteness that Baker Creek has and think twice if you're not booking a cabin.

  • Liked — Location of property
  • Disliked — Staying in a lodge suite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chick1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    173
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
178
547
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed here for a week -- 2 adults and 3 children (12, 10, 3) in a deluxe family cabin and had a really wonderful time. We had a small double bedroom on the ground floor with walk in cupboard, bathroom, kitchen/living room with breakfast bar, and upstairs a mezzanine bedroom in two sections (double and single) with another bathroom. The kitchen was fully supplied except for a washing machine --- but the town has 2 laundrys which are cheap.
Staff were really friendly and helpful -- booked our white water rafing for us (picked up at the hotel), fixed a broken table within a couple of hours, told us about the local rodeo (what a blast, but only on for a few days in August).
There is a children's playground with swings / playhouse, and a basketball hoop. Also an awesome tree house, and a lake / woods to play in.
Had a great time. Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Just about perfect
  • Disliked — Road noise (but you find that everywhere!)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriedaCrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

alpine village was clean, grounds beautiful. cabin spacious, bathroom tight but recently remodeled. location about a 4 minute drive to town unless there is a train, then you either wait or go around to the end of town and then it takes 7 minutes!

folks were very nice, hot tub very clean and refreshing at the end of a hard day of hiking. sitting by the river at the end of the day, waving to the rafters going by was fun. even though you have to cross the road to sit riverside, it is really not a busy road at all and it was never a hastle.

elk roamed thru the property but not every day. AV will provide you with extra towels if you need them for a raft trip etc. there are also towels at the hot tub so you do not have to bring your room towels.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PALsIMHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

This was our fourth trip to Canada within the last six years. Our first two visits we stayed in Banff National Park. It was absolutely breath-taking, but very congested. We stayed in five star properties, but something was missing. We wanted solitude, the opportunity to see wild animals and the ability to get back to nature.

On our third visit, we decided to rent a car at the airport and drive the five plus hours to Jasper National Park, by way of the Icefield Parkway. We found The Alpine Village website and knew that it was what we were looking for! The "cabin" was georgeous with a floor to ceiling fireplace, lots of windows, marble countertops in the bathroom with a heated tile floor. Not what we expected in a cabin. Our large deck overlooked the woods behind us.

The staff were top rate, the cabins are kept emaculate and the surrounding beauty is incredible. The wild life is all around you, even right on the property. For this reason we knew we would return again. We found our little piece of heaven.

We just returned from our fourth visit. We booked at the last minute and were fortunate enough to find out that somebody had cancelled. The cabin was much smaller, but just as nice as the other one we had during our last visit.

We sat on the banks of the river, drank some wine and looked out over the mountains during our last night there. Even though we missed our family at home, we wanted to stay forever.

We are well traveled, but I know that we will return again to this special place. I can't describe it..you have to experience it.

Kathy, Pennsylvania, USA

  • Liked — The comfortable, clean cabins and surrounding mountains.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaja5275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We had a lovely 4 night stay here in a deluxe family cabin. It was a nice change from hotels on our tour. As others have said it was very comfortable, well equipped, well maintained and clean. Great bathroom and nice shower. Lovely views from the front of the cabin and from the patio area. Elk came right in amongst the cabins on the first night of our stay! The staff were very good and helped us with advice and bookings.

Just a couple of very minor points. We had also thought it a little odd that it had been built with a double bed in the separate bedroom downstairs and the queen bed in the open loft along with a single bed. One of the reviews below explains this, the cabin was built in 2 stages.

Also, we were slightly surprised at the road noise (from 2 roads) when sitting by the river (the chairs were provided by Alpine Village although we did notice they were, at times, being used by passers by). There would probably be less traffic outside high season but it was just a slight shame, given the wonderful view and sound of rushing water, that there was more road noise than we have in our back garden! No issue with noise though from inside the cabin or on the patio.

There was some construction going on in another part of the site (new cabins?) and we were pleased that we were not located near that area.

Overall though, a great stay and I would recommend it, just book early as we did!

  • Liked — Rustic but with all mod cons!
  • Disliked — If I had to be picky - road noise when sitting by the river (July)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA_user_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We just got back from Alpine Village and found it to be the perfect place. The log cabins are like ginger bread houses and are so clean and well appointed. Make sure you book well in advance since Alpine Village books up quite early. I think I had to book in March for July. You will not be disappointed. Alpine Village is very quiet and private but still close to Jasper ( 2km )

  • Liked — cabins
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

What a great surprise this place was. We booked up at the last minute so did not know what to expect and now realise how lucky were were to find this accomodation at such sort notice. Staff were really helpful and friendly, cabins were really clean and pretty well equiped. We loved sitting by the side of the river with our early evening glass of wine and then wandering back to the cabin and sitting by the roaring log fire. Options are either buying the logs from the reception or chopping it yourself in the area provided, which is actually good fun. One night we were surrounded by elk whilst chopping the wood - great experience. The only down side is that the cabins can be a bit cold without the fire although there is a small radiator but unfortunately this does not throw out much heat. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Liked — The position of the resort
  • Disliked — Being cold in the morning !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bets56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

Property: Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Address: Highway 93A North | 2 km south of Downtown Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#1 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded area of the Canadian Rockies, Alpine Village Cabin Resort is ideally situated across from the sparkling Athabasca River in Jasper National Park. 50 rocky mountain style log cabins are spaciously set in a natural pine forest of 11 acres located 2km south of downtown Jasper. Alpine Village Cabin Resort boasts a panoramic view of the Athabasca River with Mount Edith Cavell towering in the background. Ideal for honeymoons, family vacation and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper Hotel Jasper National Park
Alpine Village Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing