We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome setting...decent cabin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome setting...decent cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Alpine Village in early September. The facility as a whole was really nice. The grounds were well-maintained, the "hot pool" was great, and watching the moon rise while sitting by the river was a highlight of each evening. On our first night, a large bull elk came through the property, and he was fun to watch. The staff was always very friendly.

As for our cabin...BE AWARE: if you book a "One Room Cabin", these are the property's original cabins (circa 1940). They are kept up, but are just really old. When we first entered our cabin, we were overcome by the smell of 70 years worth of fireplace use (the smell of campfire was really potent in the room). The bathroom had been updated, but as a whole, the cabin is what you might expect from a 70 year-old room. the mattress also wasn't so great, and we didn't get the best sleep. If we had known this, we would have spent just a little more for a newer cabin.

On the whole, it was a nice place, which we would stay at again if ever in Jasper...just not in a One Room Cabin.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    164
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
173
516
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Allins are WONDERFUL hands-on owners who I personally caught tending to site details and tasks each day! We booked our getaway just two days in advance and the front desk juggled some other reservations to allow us seven uninterrupted in one of their cabins. To think that I almost booked our week long getaway at another cabin area at the base of Miette, but thankfully a few TA reviews helped prevent a potentially miserable week... instead, we had the most wonderful experience here at Alpine!

Alpine is perfectly located in Jasper National Park. HWY93A is a tiny little offshoot road that feels remote, is beautiful, but walking to town is very doable too! Our Cabin R was awesome.. we were on the greenbelt on two of our four sides of cabin with elk walking by each day. Even though the price was a bit hard to stomach, seeing the evidence that these owners are clearly re-investing into the quality of this property is worth it.

We loved that there are no phones in the room, the rooms were perfectly clean, the moose dishes fit the decor perfectly, the black out curtains were nice, and the beds were very comfortable. It was fun to chop wood and stock the room for a week of fires! I appreciate that these owners are 'green' and list all the ways they are helping to love our earth and resources!

Instead of paying $30 for a tram ride up Whistler, we recommend you walk, bike, or take a short drive over to Old Fort Point. We happened upon this site and we amazed to find this short free hike with 360 degree views of Jasper, the river, and many lakes.

Just so the reader knows this is a legit report and not a family member trying to promote this Cabin Village, . these are the few things I let the owner Chris know what could possibly improve the experience here: WD-40 the closet door, the 'kitchenette' had WAY more than they advertised, so I could have saved the extra packing of kitchen supplies. If I could do it over, we would bring a toaster oven and our little kitchen provided us so many meal options. We left the owner suggestions such as a key shelf by the front door and putting the bed on stilts so our suitcases could go underneath them and conserve space.

Our highlights included; seeing a Bull Moose scare off a Bull Elk at Pyramid Lake during sunrise, Mt. Edith Cavell meadows hike, Spirit Island Boat Cruise, driving out to Jasper Lake provided new mountain views that we are so glad we saw, elk rutting season, mineral rich blue waters in every scene, the hot springs experience was nicer than we expected, and tomorrow we are going on the 5 hour deluxe ice walk.

It has been a wonderful week, wish it didn't have to end!

Room Tip: Cabin R is on the greenbelt and by the wood pile and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScherisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived in Jasper at the start of Canada's Labour weekend, so accomadation was getting hard to find. We managed to get one night in one of the deluxe cabins. - Self-contained, but don't leave any dirty dishes as you get fined $25.00. Lots of squirrels around the property. I checked out an axe from reception (after signing a waiver) and chopped a heap of firewood from a huge pile of seasoned timber that really burnt well. Our cabin backed on to the forest, but had no direct car access. (A luggage trolley was provided at the car park). A short drive into Jasper for dinner at a great restaraunt then back home in the pouring rain. We found the turn-off to 93a hard to find in the downpour and actually drove past it. All in all a good stay though slightly overpriced we felt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We travelled with another couple so booked the larger of the cabins which was the two bedroom two storey cabin. Our cabin faced the Athabasca river directly across the road. The cabin itself was awesome, clean, tidy, very "themed" with moose lampshades and stuff. But we loved it! Even thought it wasn't that cold we had to light the fire. You can buy chopped wood for $5 or they give you an axe (and a release to sign saying it's your own fault if you chop your leg off) and you can chop your own. So of course, the boys took their beer and off they went to chop wood. Unfortunately they don't keep their axes sharp so it was a bit of a battle and in the end, the wood is small enough that it doesn't really need to be chopped.

The cabin is spacious and has a kitchen so you can stay in and cook if you feel like it. All we wanted the whole time we were there was to see the animals such as the elk and even a bear but unfortunately were weren't lucky. We did see a couple of elk crossing the river but other than that, the animals were hiding from us. (We were lucky enough to see a few different animals, black bears and a grizzly on the drive from Banff so that made up for it).

The other couple we stayed with used the hot tub one night but they said it was so hot they couldn't stay in for more than a few minutes.

We went to the town of Jasper for dinner both nights we were there which is only a 5 min drive away. I loved the town of Jasper, much more than Banff. It was a lot quiter and had a more of a small town feel to it. I can't remember the names of where we ate - we aren't foodies anyway - but the food was good and we ate at a few different places.

We absolutely loved this place and I would really like to go back one day. In my opinion skip Banff and come straight to Jasper!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were wowed when we walked into our very upscale cabin, but the effect was ruined when we opened the cupboard in our non-cooking efficiency kitchen to find a plastic sign warning that we would be charged $25 if we didn't wash, dry AND put away our dishes before checking out. We then learned that our fabulous fireplace didn't include firewood - we could buy it from the front desk, or take our chances hoisting an axe at their woodpile. Third problem was that the front desk staffer had no information about the many trails that we knew were walking distance from the cabins - fortunately we tried the next person on duty, who gave us a map and good directions. For $300 a night, we expected better. However….memories of relaxing in the Adirondack chairs by the Athabasca River across the street and admiring the numerous elk that frequent the site push us into a recommend vote.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin in the rear of the property, next to the woods & nature path, for privacy and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ketchup99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Really quirky place to stay - a goldilocks style cottage in the woods! Almost had a Canadian Disney village feel to it.

Was a little disappointed on arrival, as our cabin was quite expensive, but appeared to be very small and basic. However I eventually began to appreciate it for what it was! Everything was tiny and old fashioned, but in a really cool way! The entire cottage was made of logs and so was the furniture. There was a tiny old fashioned cooker, with a whistling kettle on top and the windows were dressed with gingham curtains, complete with tie backs.

The real fire made it really cosy and romantic and you were able to borrow and axe from reception to chop your own firewood (under the watchful eye of elk in the surrounding woods!) There were also board games available to loan from reception. The cabin didn't have a hairdryer or iron, but these were also available from reception.

Although our cabin was small and very dark (one bedroom with kitchen and living area) it actually seemed much cosier than the larger more expensive cabins. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, (although one of the younger members of staff did recommend that we did the harder level of whitewater rafting, even though I said I was scared. Bad experience - was completely terrified!)

Hot tub was fabulous and in a beautiful setting. It was never crowded - despite staying in August we had it to ourselves. There was a lovely bright blue river running in front of the cabins, with gorgeous mountain views and chairs to relax in.

All in all, a cool and romantic place to stay (just don't book the scary rafting!)

Room Tip: Cabins without kitchens have a river view. Larger cabins are bright and spacious. One bedroom cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmccu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

From the moment I saw their website, I fell in love with this place and HAD to stay there on our trip! Myself and my husband had a deluxe one bedroom cabin right across from the river. It was amazing - just like on their website, a huge male elk walked right in front of our porch while we were sitting there one nite! The interior of the cabin and attention to detail regarding the furnishings was perfect. We almost didn't want to go do any sightseeing becuase we just wanted to sit in the cabin and enjoy it! Late check in (4:00 pm) seemed to be the norm at most of the hotels we stayed at - and our cabin wasn't ready until shortly after 4 - however, our hotel in Banff allowed us to check in at 9 am instead of their usual check in time of 4 pm! You can chop your own firewood (my husband didn't have to chop, just got wood off of the pile) or you can buy it in the office. The girl who checked us in was very nice and helpful! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been longer. Everyone that we have showed our pictures to (and the website before we went) all want to go!

Room Tip: Something in the "front row" of the property, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridagirl2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

Property: Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Address: Highway 93A North | 2 km south of Downtown Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded area of the Canadian Rockies, Alpine Village Cabin Resort is ideally situated across from the sparkling Athabasca River in Jasper National Park. 50 rocky mountain style log cabins are spaciously set in a natural pine forest of 11 acres located 2km south of downtown Jasper. Alpine Village Cabin Resort boasts a panoramic view of the Athabasca River with Mount Edith Cavell towering in the background. Ideal for honeymoons, family vacation and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper Hotel Jasper National Park
Alpine Village Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing