We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Robson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Robson Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed for 1 night August 06. The room was clean but a bit average not sure if there were better rooms. The room was very small very small bathroom. Couldn't move at all in the shower. No minibar. The reception area was very nice and the staff were very nice & helpful.

Room service was operated by the restaurant (I believe completely separate owners) on site but can't be added to your bill must pay cash on the spot.

Walking distance to centre of town about 10 mins (I think, could be a bit more). It was getting close to the outskirts of town but its not a big town. Brewster Day trips will drop off and pick up from the front door.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    600
    259
    83
    50
See reviews for
423
680
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

Do not stay here unless you like getting dinged extra money without your authorization and then treated like an idiot when you call to ask why. I have never been treated so poorly in my life as the manager did when I called to enquire why I had not been informed that I was going to be dinged for cancelling a room that I did not book in the first place. Apparently it was my mistake for not checking to see why their staff did a lousy job of booking their customers. The rooms were small and very overpriced for what we got. I figured because Jasper was a tourist destination the standards would be higher, but they were not.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank brutal_defeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripseverywhere, E-Commerce at Mount Robson Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2007
We do have a cancellation policy in place when guests book reservations. When guest book on line it is the responsiblity of the guest to read the confirmations that are sent to them. When you book 2 reservation and get 2 confimation letters for both reservations and cancel one upon check in (within the 48 hours) than you will be charged as per our policy that is clearly stated on our confirmations and on our web page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

This was our first trip to Canada and having had reasonable service in Calgary and excellent service/hotel in Banff, we were very disappointed by Mount Robson. The room was tiny( but it has to be said, clean).....but our main problem was the noise!
We had a neighbour above who seemed to walk around most of the time from when we booked in mid-afternoon ... (WHY???? the room was TINY!!!!!)until midnight ....when they decided to have a shower! And then started to wheel their case around at 5am! When this was mentioned at the front desk as the reason for cutting short our booked stay, we were met with "Well I can't help that"! This is not a hotel, more of a motel...we were not offered anything better to encourage us to stay though we had planned to spend several days there. I can only suggest that the staff sample all levels of accommodation before dismissing complaints!
Of our two weeks in Canada this was the worst accommodation and the worst service we encountered. The on site "restaurant" also left much to be desired!Thank goodness we only stayed for one night...though we felt cheated of the opportunities Jasper has to offer. Hotels at the other end of town looked much better....though as we had been so disappointed, we left Jasper PDQ!

  • Liked — leaving!
  • Disliked — checking out/ noise from above
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't! Unless you have ear plugs!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed at the Mount Robson Inn when we stopped in Jasper this past weekend. The front desk staff and waitresses are friendly but there is nothing else nice that can be said. The rooms are small and the beds excruciatingly uncomfortable. We went to the restaurant after checking in - the menu advertises "homemade" pies. We ordered two pies and received supermarket frozen pies, were overcharged from the menu price and given no receipt when we paid cash. This was done by the rude and unprofessional manager/owner of the cafe. The next morning, we decided to try breakfast and ordered a cheese omelet - it was made with Cheez Whiz or a like product. and we were charged $3.50 for a single coffee. We will not be staying or eating there again.

  • Liked — friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — restaurant quality and service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank UNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripseverywhere, E-Commerce at Mount Robson Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2007
The restaurant on property is not owned by the same people as the Hotel. It is under seperate ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

After reading bad reviews on this site we were very worrid about what we would find on arrival. There have been many comments about rude staff, but we were greeted with smiles and complete courtesy. Our room was quite dark (near the hot-tubs) but was very well equiped and clean. Yes the place is expensive and the main reason we booked here was that they had smoking rooms available (my husband). I was pleasantly surprised on entering the room to notice there was no "smoke odor". There was an air-freshener above the door and this kept the room fresh without an overpowering perfume odor.
Our room had fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle and teapot (I loved that) a jacuzzi tub and massaging shower.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

We were a family of 4 adults travelling through Western Canada in our hire car and had booked two rooms in the Mount Robson Inn in Jasper through Expedia. The Mount Robson Inn seemed a little expensive, but then all accommodation in Jasper seems to be pricy and hard to get in early July. We stayed for one night.

The hotel was easy to find and the hotel is built on 2 levels around a square courtyard with plenty of parking. The reception staff were pleasant and had booked us two adjoining rooms as requested on the upper level. Our rooms on the upper level faced towards the mountains if you stood outside the door.

The rooms were well equipped. The usual big TV with lots of cable channels for the teenagers, big comfy beds, a small but OK bathroom and a fridge and coffee maker. The only window looked out onto the walkway to all the upper floor rooms.

Being a family on tour and half-way through our two-week holiday, we appreciated the launderette on site. We did not use the hotel's hot tub or the adjoining restaurant, preferring to eat downtown. There is a large number of restaurants in town less than 10 minutes walk away (although many seem to have the same menu as each other).

We would stay here again but stayed in much better hotels in Vancouver and Victoria for the same money. The hotel's big advantage is its proximity to all the sights in Jasper National Park and Jasper's location as a staging post en route to Edmonton or Lake Louise/Banff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Quickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway retreat to Jasper for our anniversary, and it was a little last minute. We weren't sure what would be left when we tried booking the same week we intended to leave. A friend suggested AMA, to help us find what we were looking for and they were very helpful. Unfortunately, they suggested checking the website to give us an idea of where we would be staying... This made me a little nervous, as the pictures on the website made the rooms look like something out of a cheesy 70's movie, and the room I booked was the worst of all! I called the hotel, to ask about the pictures on the website, and she assured me they had done extensive renovations and the website hadn't been updated yet. When we arrived, we were very impressed! The room was such a nice gift to ourselves as our getaway retreat. We were very happy with our choice after being a little unsure what awaited us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a little pricey, but we thought it was worth it, given our occasion. Keep in mind when you drive in, looks are very much deceiving, as it "looks" like a motel...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#14 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Robson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Robson Inn

Property: Mount Robson Inn
Address: 902 Connaught Dr (Main Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jasper
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Robson Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst spectacular mountain ranges in the charming town of Jasper, Alberta, the Mount Robson Inn is five blocks walk to downtown; providing a quiet setting. The Mount Robson Inn’s 80 rooms are recently updated and well-appointed with pillow top mattresses, fridges, microwaves and high speed Internet. Choose from a variety of accommodations ranging from studio rooms to king suites with couples Jacuzzi to spacious suites for family vacations. Guests of our Jasper hotel enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, onsite outdoor hot tubs, laundry area, ski and bike storage, and the convenience of being on the Marmot Basin ski shuttle route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mount Robson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Robson Hotel Jasper
Mount Robson Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing