We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere!”
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere!”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I have never written a review of a hotel before but couldn't let this one slip by.
I booked a premium room at the Marmot and the one we got was 2nd floor in a building near the back of the hotel complex overlloking a building site; it's a series of buildings of what appears to be varying vintage and the one we were in must have been original. Although the room was large and fairly clean,the floors sloped severely in several different directions indicating some structural problem which gave me pause and the "rustic" furniture looked like something made by Canada's Worst Handyman! the balcony/deck looked like it had not been washed down since last winter and the table had used drinking glasses on it that looked as though they'd been there a long time.
When I called the desk to inquire if this was the right "premium" room, I was politely informed that, "yes, that was what I had booked" and when I inquired about the value based on what I'd paid and relative to Banff where I just came from, I was told that "this is Summer time in Jasper" I assume that meant there's no bargains; and they sure got that right. This place has been neglected and it shows but their rates don't reflect it.
The on-site restaurant did a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriumphTRfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    425
    172
    51
    22
See reviews for
212
466
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

First off, Jasper is a beautiful town nessled into the mountains, with spectacular views, plentiful wildlife, and tons of outdoor adventure activities to enjoy. The town has a quiet cozy uncommercialized vibe. That said, I would recommend Jasper to anybody, however the Marmot Lodge is not the place to stay.

The rooms are very outdated, and could use some renos. The beds were terrible and definately need to be replaced. All 4 of us had terrible sleeps and we all woke up with sore backs. The pullout bed is rediculous I have no idea how people are expected to sleep on a bed that is sloped at a 15 degree angle.

We wanted a hotel with a pool which is why we stAyed there. The pool house is nice but the water definately could have used some tlc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcoderre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here for a month and have few complaints. The check in was quick and our room was as advertised. We had a seperate bedroom and lounge room, good cable television, everything you needed in the kitchen and great water pressure in the shower. The bed was very comfortable and the cleaning staff were very friendly and did a fantastic job when cleaning our room.
We had a few issues with noise during the weekends but mainly because there were large groups of kids staying and they tend to make noise wherever they go.
The Embers restaurant on site did provide good food but was terribly understaffed and probably not worth the high prices - eat next door at the Sawbridge, where we had an amazing meal for slightly less than you would pay at Embers. Also would not recommend Embers for breakfast, it was very disappointing.
You can walk into the main CBD of Jasper in about 6 mins. There are lots of places to eat and drink and all were friendly.
We loved Japser and will be back one day, and will probably stay at the Marmot again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Stayed over for a night during a family ski getaway. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, but we had to deal with them far more than we should have! Our room was very cold (10 degrees Celcius) when we checked in. We cranked the heating, but 3 hours later, it was not much warmer. When we called the front desk, they told us the maintenance man was off-site, but they did send us a space heater - mixed blessing. The heater did warm things up, but it also caused the breaker to trip twice (when we used other electrical devices like the hair dryer and coffee maker.) There were two extra blankets in the room, but one was very dirty. We used this blanket to block the cold draft coming in the door, so that might explain why it was best suited to being on the floor instead of our bed.

The pool area was good for the kids - they enjoyed everything, including the sauna and outdoor hot tub. Everyone in the pool area was friendly - this was a highlight of our trip.

The room was decent - queen beds, fridge, sofabed and extra chair. The "Hudson's Bay" decoration theme was, well, amusing. We did get hot showers and the beds were quite comfortable. Overall, the room was dimly lit and was pitch black when the breaker tripped.

This is a tired property that would benefit from a facelift - a little thing like a gas/electric fireplace in each unit would really brighten the rooms.

  • Liked — Pool, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of heat and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CentralABFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Granted, it's NOT the Fairmont. But for a "motel" style hotel, this is about as nice as it gets, and was much nicer than we expected having read a few other reviews. The staff was SUPER nice, the entire facility was very clean, well maintained and the location is gorgeous.

We had our hearts set on some hot-tub action after skiing at marmot, and were very pleasantly surprised by how fantastic the pool area was - I'm betting it's the nicest you'll find in Jasper. The extra outdoor hot-tub shack is an added bonus!! We certainly enjoyed it. Again - very clean and well maintained facilities.

The room was pretty basic, but certainly functional, the bed was comfy (we got a king) and the room was plenty big to spread all our stuff out after a day of skiing.

The restaurant/lounge that is located in a separate building on hotel property was VERY good. The food was outstanding and above our expectations, and the service was great.

The entire setup was great. They have the pool/hottub/sauna area in one separate building, the restaurant/lounge in another separate building and that design worked really well, I thought. No noise from those places gets to your rooms - so it's nice & quiet at night!!!

CONCLUSION: Excellent staff (very helpful and upbeat!), Clean and well maintained all around, great facilities (pool, hottubs, sauna, great restaurant...) - and the price was rock bottom. In early december for a multiple-night stay we paid $72 a night, booked right from the hotel website.

Highly recommended as the best place to stay, if you don't want to pay through the nose for the Fairmont resort - this place is probably nicer than any other in town.

  • Liked — Great Facilities. Nice & Clean. Friendly Staff.
  • Disliked — Located on the very North side of the town of Jasper (away from the downtown area)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank surfair98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in November and were really disappointed. although the rooms were large and fitted with a fridge the level of cleanliness and decor was poor. When we arrived we found excrement and blood on the the toilet seat, which the staff promptly cleaned up. The carpets had also seen better days and the bedding was old and frayed. What was also unsettling especially for female travellers was the fact that we were away from the main building and walking back at night was a little worrying.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

What a great cozy little hotel.This was just perfect for our family.Unlike most hotels it had a nice place to wash clothes while your kids played in a indoor pool. My kids did not want to leave.This hotel is also a short distance from downtown so you could walk. Our room was so quiet and we slept well on their confortable beds.We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Property: Marmot Lodge
Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing