We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

For the last few nights of our trip, we were going to stay at the Marmot Lodge. Deciding on accommodations in Jasper was a little tougher than Banff, and as we drove up, I was a little concerned. From first appearances, this looks a bit dated. Check in was very friendly, and as we walked into the room, we were very pleasantly surprised - we had a modern looking, very clean (apparently remodeled) room. While there wasn't quite as much room to navigate as in Banff, we had a nice TV and refrigerator (no safe, unfortunately.) The bathroom and shower also looked brand new and immaculate. The rooms were very quiet - never heard a peep, even with the motel style doors directly to the outside.

We got one day in the pool, and it was nice sized, clean, and a good temperature. Only knock on it was no towels were available, so we had to bring the ones from the room.

The hotel is a little bit if a hike from downtown. It's probably do-able, but you're better off driving into town at least a little way. There is a fancier restaurant onsite.

A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkFloydActuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    399
    163
    50
    21
See reviews for
202
435
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean, I had separate bedroom with 2 Queen beds. The bathroom was large with plenty of hot water. The kitchen had large fridge, microwave and cooker, with pots, pans crockery etc =well equipped. My only gripe is that other residents did tend to slam doors and the walls are quite thin.
The staff were lovely, especially Jasper the Belgium guy on reception. There is also a laundry room that is well priced- washers and driers. There is plenty of parking, and its a lovely 15 minute stroll to the downtown area.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here as a stop off on our road trip from Calagary to Vancouver. Its traditional motel / lodge and whilst the rooms most definately aren't trendy ours was spacious and spotlessly clean as well as being realy quitet. The only negative (which was our fault) was that we hadn't realised just how long the walk into Jasper was.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed one night here before picking up the train again in Jasper as part of our trip across Canada. We have no particular complaints about the room or the service but in comparison with other places we stayed on this holiday, we felt it was rather expensive. It is also a good walk into town from the hotel though a taxi was provided free to get us back to the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Andrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This one of 5 Hotels we stayed in on our trip from Vancouver to Calgary.
The Hotel was located in the town of Jasper perfect for exploring. Our room was spacious with two huge beds which was great being a family of 4. The bathroom was clean and modern.
Compared to the other hotels we stayed at this was by far the most comfortable and spacious.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansZ78CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

clean big room great bed
lovely staff at front desk especially Eden!!!
10 out of 10 for this hotel!!!!!
10 minute walk to a lovely little town of Jasper
had a lovely meal at Chinese restaurant
good grocery store super food
all good with this hotel
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We braced ourselves as we pulled nose up to the unappealing room door and then opened it. What a nice surprise when we stepped inside.

A lounge and kitchenette and two giant (if a bit firm) beds.

It was all nice and clean and the sofa and big tv meant we could be comfy and set up as home from home fast.

We were mid 16 day road trip and the aytag equipped coin laundry was perfect and nearby. 8 dollars and 75 minutes for two loads. Job done.

A quick Google pointed us to Robinsons nearby general store (no liquor there...get beer if you want it when you fill up at the esso on connaught drive) where we bought two days of food.

Except for there only being tiny drinking glasses in the suite, and that even with fans running it was a little bit stuffy, we were very happy with our stay although I don't think our room had been in any way refurbished...at least I hope not ;)

Good value for us as part of a package.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank whoamiwhereami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Property: Marmot Lodge
Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing