We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, big clean room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, big clean room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our newly renovated room was massive, new flat screen with lots of channels. Beds were big and comfortable, great size shower. Everything was very clean. Staff were very polite and helpful. Indoor pool, out door hot tub. 10 min walk into Center of Jasper, all for $99. Can't beat it. Recommend to all travelers!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    396
    159
    50
    21
See reviews for
200
430
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here in May this year for 3 nights and to be honest I do not recognise it as the same place as the rest of the reviews. I did not expect much of Jasper as I had read that accommodation was expensive for what you got. We had previously stayed in Calgary and Banff and the rooms were absolutely amazing but when we got to Marmot Lodge it was even worse than I expected. The room was small and very dark. The door facing looked as though someone had tried to break in and I was not at all happy. In retrospect I should have complained but I thought it was just Jasper not realising that there were much better rooms. My husband and myself were so tired and hungry when we arrived we decided to go to the restaurant for something to eat having been told the food was really good. We were served in the bar as it was early and although service was quick the food was mediocre and over microwaved so we never ate in the motel again. My experience of this place was dire and I am just wish I had complained. We had booked through a reputable travel agent who chose this hotel on tripadvisor ratings and I just don't know why we were demoted to a poor room on this trip resulting in the only low point,of our otherwise amazing trip to Western Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Marmot Lodge with my partner & Dad. We were able to secure the lovely Pyramid Suite for our stay which was wonderful. Darek was lovely upon check in. I don't think I have encountered better, or friendlier service from all the hotels I've stayed in over my travels.

The Pyramid suite is not one of the newly renovated rooms, so it has a more classical Canadian Rockies feel about it. There was a huge living area with a wood burning fireplace (I believe it is only this suite that has this fireplace, the others are gas or electric?) There was enough sitting room for a small group of people - we had some friends meet us in the room and it was very comfortable to have a drink before heading out for dinner. There are 2 separate bedrooms and an enormous bathroom with jacuzzi tub. We slept extremely well both nights we were there.

The lodge is about a 10-15 minute walk downtown for those happy to go for a stroll and enjoy the amazing scenery. Otherwise a taxi is about $6 and takes 2 minutes.

We had breakfast at Embers on our first morning and it was a great start to the day. The full buffet was $14 and had a great selection of food. Not to mention a great view of the mountains.
We ate at Anthony's on the second morning, which is part of the sister hotel, the Amethyst Lodge and tried the Mexican breakfast menu which was delicious.

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marmot Lodge and highly recommend it for all travelling to Jasper. The Deluxe and Kitchens are the renovated rooms and they are beautiful (I asked to see one for next time). The staff were all lovely, the rooms immaculate and overall the best choice we could have made for our 2 nights in Jasper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on our tour of the magnificant Rockies. Quiet lodge. Elk roaming freely. Constant hum of CN freight train but not disturbing. Very clean, 2 queen beds very comfy. Restaurant pricey but for a treat why not as food fab. Loced ded dog and whistler pubsIas felt at home. Good value. WeIdid the harley davidson bike trip, awesome. Did the trail number 8.very well sign posted. Did notIsee any bears, had a fab time.

Room Tip: Hot tub a bonus and pool very clean. Maybe ask for a bigger room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrexhamLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Marmot is an older facility that has been updated but still carries the stigma of its age. It is clean and many portions of its remodel were well done but it lacks the polish found in a new facility. For the price, it is a reasonable value and met my expectation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWFootballFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were moved from the Jasper Chateau to the Marmot Lodge because they were renovatiing their accommodation - stayed there for two nights during our Rockie tour. What wonderful accommodation-not long renovated I am told, wonderful full length walk in shower, lovely room and flat screen TV, Bed was very comfortable, food in the restaurant was first class, reception team very good - I would have stayed longer in this lovely place. Yes it had a Motel look but that is where it ended. We walked into town and it does take a little while but found a great restaurant for breakfast on our last day (a tad cheaper than the lodge) but we only went out for a morning stroll. I enjoyed being a bit out of town away from the hustle and bustle and walking does you good. We are smokers and were allowed to smoke on the balcony which was great. Canadian laws re smoking need changing in outside areas. Thanks for a wonderful stay in a wonderful town. Would stay there longer if I ever got the chance.

Room Tip: We were in a far corner room at the swimming pool side upstairs looking west over a Mountain. A resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent a few nights at Marmot Lodge on our journey between Lake Louise and Whistler. On arrival the room was a bit musty and it seemed that the Air Con was not working, however, the Bathroom was spotless and the bedding was fresh.

When we mentioned the Air Con it was look at and fixed very quickly, after which the mustiness was much improved.

There is a coin operated Laundry on site, $2 for Wash Powder and the same for Washer and Dryer.

There is also a Steak/Grill Restaurant which seemed OK from the outside, we did not try it but good to know you do not need to travel into town to eat.

Its about a 20 min walk to town which is pleasant enough in good weather. There is a good Supermarket 10 mins into the walk called Robinsons (I think).

There are plenty of places to choose from for food in the town, weather that be for snacks, sandwiches or sit down dinner.

Jasper itself is a great place to stay close to just about anything outdoorsy that you may want to do. Plenty of Lakes, Trails, Hillwalking and Wildlife about in the summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellKentFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Property: Marmot Lodge
Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing