We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and friendly”
Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We got there around 9pm after a long flight and a long drive from Edmonton. the snow was coming down thick and fast and there was still lights on the xmas trees in Jan which the kids loved. After problems finding our booking we were given the keys to the 2nd floor room and was impressed with the 2 king beds and the room was clean. However as a family of 4 sharing one room it was a sqeeze bathroom wise. and as we were there for 8 days i would next time book 2 rooms with the other room being smaller next door but with a full kitchen and 2 doubles so you can turn it in to an apartment with adjoining door. But the hotel was full as it was a busy weekend. having said that a couple would be very comfortable in the the standard room. The spa is great after a day on the slopes but we all found the spa was a little to strong on the skin. we did not eat there but i am sure its fine we went 2 doors up in the jasper inn and enjoyed a big fire and nice food with lovely red merlot house wine in a carrafe. Also a great cheap breakfast place on the main road called utopia as you come in at the esso gas station very near the hotel all in all i would recommend this hotel as long as you have a car as its 10 mins walk into Jasper.

Stayed: January 2007
10  Thank evesmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 762 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2006

Fantastic place to stay, inexpensive, good food, friendly helpful staff and good breakfast. We loved it and will stay again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maltesetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

My wife, my son aged 16 and I stayed in the Lobstick Lodge for 3 nights in early July. It wasn’t our first choice, but had some good write ups in Trip Advisor so we booked it through our travel agent. We were in Jasper for a break in our train journey from Winnipeg to Vancouver. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the town centre in a very quiet area which is a mix of residential homes and hotels. Our first problem was that the hotel had booked us a room right outside the restaurant just a few steps from Reception, whilst they said that noise wouldn’t be a problem, we were not convinced as it was a large and busy hotel. After much pleading, they found us an alternative room on the ground floor. It was a smaller room, no kitchen, but had the usual pair of double beds so was not an issue for us (no refund of the price differential was offered). The next problem was the heat, the weather was very hot and the hotel had no air conditioning – a good quality fan was provided, but it was still very sticky and uncomfortable. What made it worse was the fact that the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working so after three of us having showers, the room became like a sauna. When we complained, we were told it was a long-standing problem! Having a shower was also an experience as water temperature varied widely and rapidly – most unsuitable for young children. On the positive side, the room was clean and well equipped. It is worthwhile stating that the hotel is not that well planned with an unusual mix of staff rooms and offices amongst the guest rooms, this was especially evident where we were on the ground floor which made it feel more like a basement and that we were staff and not guests! More positives: the hotel was well equipped with a laundry, pool, hot tubs, steam room, Internet access etc. Due to steps, access into the hotel would be difficult for those with wheel chairs and push chairs, but there was a ramp and a chair lift (see photos). Restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Old_Waspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days as part of a 15 day trip to canada. We were very disappointed, the room we were allocated was in the basement, it was dark, tatty and depressing. It also had a very strange smell which was very unpleasant.
If the hotel had not been pre-booked as part of our holiday we would not have stayed there. The breakfasts were only average and we ate elsewhere after the first day. It wasn't a place we enjoyed staying and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrrobins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Having read the reports on tripadvisor we were very worried about this hotel and had tried to change our accomodation before leaving the UK. However we were told by our travel agent that they had not received any negative reports from previous customers this year and so we decided to try it for the four nights that we had originally booked.
It is a little way out of town amongst a number of other hotels in the area however has we had a hire car it presented no problem to us, and there was sufficient parking spaces at the hotel. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff in an organised way which was maybe lacking a little in the depth of the welcome and were then left to organise our cases and to find our room.
We had booked a superior room which turned out to be on the third floor and it contained two very large beds with the resulting floor space which created a nice atmosphere. However it was also close to the upstairs dining room which caused us some initial concern regarding possible noise disturbance which did not prove to founded during our stay.
The upstairs dining room was not available for two nights during our visit due to private functions, so we ate downstairs. The food proved to adequate rather than stimulating with one disappointment being the grasshopper cheesecake, best avoided. Having said that on one evening we went into town to the Jasper brewing company pub where the food we were offered could only be described as disappointing. Breakfasts were taken at the Bear's Paw bakery, which we would highly recommend or the Hotel just around the corner which offered excellent cooked breakfasts but interestingly the "tip" was included in the final bill at the end without any option to the amount for the customer.
The room was kept clean during our visit and we used the swimming pool and hot tubs which were also of a similar standard. There proved to be a good enough laundry facility downstairs which compared very favourably to our experiences on the better french campsites over the years and the cost was extremely reasonable.
We would use this hotel again in the future but would make sure that we were again on the upper floors as some of the ones below looked to be very dark especially on the ground floor

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I found the room rate to be 20.00 more per night on check in than quoted online. Also had a printout of my confirmation with the rate I was quoted clearly on my printout and was denied that rate.
Had to pay the additional 20.00 per night. Hotel has a laundry faciliy that consists of 2 washers and 2 dryers for the entire hotel. I was on a 2 week vacation with one weeks clothing. Dryers not efficient at all. Laundry room hot and in basement. Front desk personal very inefficient in their training. Also asked to purchase postcard stamps to U.S.-should be .89 cents per stamp was told by front desk all they had were international stamps at 1.90 per stamp. Food was average, beds were average, room could have been alot cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Arrived on spec as we were on a usa and canada driving trip. We were offered a ground floor room which turned out to be a dingy basement room with a window having views out over the kitchen waste bins. When entering the room it was very hot but was reassured the temperature control had been turned up to the wrong setting. After dinner, outside the hotel (thank goodness) we returned and the room which was still very warm. During the night the temperature soared to even greater heights and this was accompanied by a terrible noise of machinery coming from next door which i later found out was the heating / boiler room. After a virtually sleepless night from which we were exhausted we were just so pleased to get out of the room into the corridor to cool down before packing and leaving. At reception we complained to the check out lady who refered us to Jean Hannaford. She turned out to be the most argumentative and objectionable person you would ever want to encounter on a reception desk. After some ten minutes she eventually agreed to reduce our bill by 20 cad (£10) and told us were were lucky to have even been offerd a discount on the full rack rate price when we checked in. She then proceeded to inform us she had never received a complaint ever and that we were confused as the room number we stayed in didnt exist. For your information it was room 149. Whatever happens and however desparate you are dont stay there its the pits.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank whitepaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $85 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing