We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong here...great hotel.”
Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed May 21, 2009

You get what you pay for. First time user of this hotel - lots of times in Jasper. Great service; absolutely great room. Breakfast really good. Not sure what others who stayed here expected; but a solid hotel at a good price. I will be using again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ykbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 758 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

Our group of 31 were all checked in within 5 minutes, reception staff were very efficient. Our rooms were large and airy with two king size beds. The bathroom was very clean and had a powerful shower and all the usual toiletry stuff.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant both nights we were there and the waiter who served us was a lovely friendly guy. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made us feel very welcome - thankyou Jason!! Perfect!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexdaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was a little aprehensive as we were on a group holiday and you can sometimes get the poor end of the deal as far as hotels are concerned, although the occasional touring holiday can be good fun - don't knock it until you've tried it!

However, the Lobstick was a little gem. Big light room, everything you could need and very clean. I don't normally do hotel restaurants, but this one looked so good we did give it a try and it didn't disappoint. Also, the continental buffet breakfast was great, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

A nice gesture also was the free internet access for guests in the lobby, which we much appreciated.

Other point to note was that we often had elk grazing directly outside the hotel, which was fun to see, although I don't think the management can be creditied for arranging this!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTripsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed at the Lobstick Lodge on a school skiing trip in February and found the hotel to be very dull indeed. It lacked character and imagination and had that hotel decor we've all seen before - I would recommend going somewhere a bit more exciting!
Overall, I have no problems with cleanliness or administration: everything ran smoothly and we were even looked after when we arrived at 03:30 in the morning after our bus journey from Calgary Airport.
We had breakfast and dinner each day at the hotel which was a buffet, but only with one option. (Perhaps this was because we were a school party; maybe other guests have more choice.) The food was unvaried American fare - burgers, pizza et cetera - nothing to write home about.
The location was not great either: though we could walk to the small town, we had to get a coach to the ski resort for about 20 minutes there and back each day.
Generally, the hotel was all right, but not great. I am sure you can do much better in Jasper! And to sympathize with other guests, don't expect to get a swim in the pool, dip in the hot tubs, to use the internet or get a quiet night's sleep if you come during school holidays; there were no less than 3 school parties of 50 students each roaming the corridors while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammywammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Just returned home from a 10 day stay at the Lobstick lodge and had a really good time.
Arrived really late in the day and walked into my room to see a good size lounge area including kitchen, fridge and kitchen table. Did not realise how important this would be. Food in Jasper is REALLY expensive, so ended up buying food at the local supermarket and cooking for ourselves. Room had all the utensils needed including pots and pans. Made the stay.
I did not book the kitchen part with my booking but is a must if staying for a week or so unless you like paying 30-40 dollars per meal, per night.

Overall the stay was very enjoyable. Ski bus picked up every day on time and had no problems in all the ten days. would use again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at the same time as a huge party and had to queue for a long time at reception, we we were finally given our room and were appalled to find that it was in the basement. To get to it we had to pass laundry rooms, staff rooms and lots of cleaning trolleys. Entering the room was so disappointing, it was dark, very hot and stuffy and semi-subterranean. The net curtains were filthy and unironed, the bedding also was unironed and most unwelcoming with a dirty bed spread. We complained to the reception staff who were extremely rude and unhelpful. To make matters worse my wife was ill whilst we were there and needed to attend doctor/hospital and reception staff again were unhelpful. We spent four weeks in Canada and America and this hotel was BY FAR_the worst we experienced, and in fact we are quite seasoned travellers and this hotel is without doubt the worst we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltsireDisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I planned a quick getaway to Jasper with my partner and my mom. We figured we'd go between Christmas and New Years and take the train from Edmonton. I started looking at booking this trip in the middle of summer to find out that many of the Suites in the hotels had been booked already. We were specifically looking for a suite to allow us to have some extra room. Because of that we had to book with Expedia, which I normally wouldn't do, I'd rather book with the hotel directly, but it was our only option.

Anyway... about the hotel. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the 'downtown' area of Jasper. On a nice day it's actually a nice walk, but when the wind picks up, it can be kind of daunting. A cab ride into downtown is only about 6 bucks, so that's not bad at all.

The cafe in the hotel is only open in the am and in the pm, closed in the middle of the afternoon. The coffee is 'ok' but no starbucks... which you won't find anywhere in Jasper.

The lobby is very nice, great fireplace and siting area around the fireplace. They often had cookies in the lobby in the middle of the afternoon. We would often sit around the fire in the lobby with our books and just read the afternoon away.

Now for the room. It was much smaller than I had anticipated. The bedroom which had 2 double beds in it, had about one foot between the 2 beds. Very cozy... also the kitchen/living space had a pretty hard love seat for 2, and then a dinning room table. This was not very comfortable for the 3 of us to sit and enjoy a movie or just relax.

We also got suck right next to the maids work room. And well those kids were pretty loud through out the day. However we didn't ask to be moved or complained about the noise either.

The hotel did also offer free Wi-Fi, however you had to get a code from the front desk (which they didn't offer when we checked in). There is also a pool and 3 outdoor hot tubs. We didn't go into any of them. They were often filled with kids at night.

There is a great little lounge upstairs. We went there for dinner one night. The food was pretty good. A little over priced, but pretty typical of a hotel restaurant. The lounge also has a GREAT HUGE fireplace. Very cozy to sit by on the over sized leather chairs and enjoy a few beers.

Other things about Jasper: Must check out the Jasper Pizza Place... great pizza and losts of fun. Also check out the Jasper Brew Pub... great food and great local beers. The Vanilla Blueberry was my fave.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DigitalDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $83 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing