We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below average and way to expensive”
Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Way below average and way to expensive”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I guess this is one of those properties that know how to take full advantage of the tourist when accommodation options are limited, you know the sort of place you stay once and swear you never would again.
They are very good when it came to paying but that's where it all ends.
No air conditioning. Rooms are stuffy and the carpet looks as though it has seen better days. You do get a cheap plastic fan.
For $260 a night one would expect breakfast, but no. One may also expect ample parking but again no. It is also noisy, being able to hear what's going on in adjacent rooms. There are no shops within 4 blocks so be prepared to walk if you need any supplies.
No recommendations with this one. My advice, find somewhere else.
Surely for the rates the owners could do better.... a lot better.

Room Tip: This is one of those places where I recommend finding alternative accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruzinoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    219
    235
    86
    74
See reviews for
210
270
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Phillip Island
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked a double queen kitchenette unit for early July online for 2 nights.
The internet proved to be very flattering for this establishment, as we found it to be very outdated, not properly cleaned, (someone other than us had used the toilet) and one of the stove elements did not work.
We booked for 4 of us, but were only given 2 towels, 2 coffee mugs/coffee etc. We are still waiting for the extra towels we rang the desk for on the first evening; they were never brought to our room as promised. I went to the desk and collected extras the first morning, but was made to feel uncomfortable for asking.
The only positive we had from the staff was a tip about visiting Mt Edith Cavell, which was a very worthwhile drive.
Based on the tariff we paid online for the quality provided, Lobstick Lodge is over priced and we would not recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had been downgraded in our Hotel in Jasper, part of my Trafalgar Tour, so I was not expected anything. So, Lobstick was a good surprise. New bathroom, good amenities, large towels and good bed. Our room was very close to the reception and we had free wi-fi because of it. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We were given this motel as part of our Rocky Mountaineer tour package. It looks ok if a little jaded and the reception staff were ok. The first room we were given was nice, clean and very large. Unfortunately the toilet blocked very shortly after and could not be fixed. The hotel staff then told us we were lucky as there was an identical room on the next floor we could have. They didn't help us to move up there and left us struggling with our luggage. The funny part of this was that according to our tour info we were supposed to get luggage handling here but it was the first place we stayed that didn't help! The alternative room was the same size but felt stuffy and outdated by comparison. It is also worth noting that this place does not have air con and it can get very warm at times. We were given one fan.
My main complaint was the food. The hotel has two restaurants and is obviously very popular with coach tour companies. Our first night there we were turned away from one restaurant as it was being used by one coach party exclusively and directed to the other one. The following night we were directed from both restaurants to the other ones as they were both in use by coach tours! It was annoying that the staff didnt seem to know that there was no restaurant available! We gave up trying in the end and walked a short distance to the Tonquin Lodge and had a really good meal there.
Not sure how much the tour company paid for this hotel but considering the rest of our tour we were in hotels from the Delta and Hilton chains we felt it was prob too much. Would rather pay extra and stay at the Fairmont if we went again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

...but probably not the hotel's fault. We paid a lot more than if we had merely turned up at the front counter, so before you book on something like Expedia may be best to first compare with what the hotel is charging. The rooms were fine if a little old fashioned. We didn't have any issues with noise or the floor above and there was ample free parking. The location was a few hundred metres from downtown which allowed for a nice walk in the evening sun, and we were the right side of town for Maligne Lake. Maligne Canyon and the tram are the must-sees, and we also enjoyed Pyramid Lake

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blackwatchtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I will start with the pros:

Ample parking
Friendly front desk and domestic staff
Clean
Decent sized beds
Decent sized rooms
Nice pool and hot tubs
Easy to find
Free wifi and desktop computer facility

Cons:

Late check in times - considering people are going to arriving throughout the day due to the nature of trips\tours people take through the Rockies, I felt they were a little inflexible, luckily we had only done a 1.5 hour drive and so not too tired, but to be told to come back in 4 hours and given no options for a place to sit and gather our bits and pieces or baggage storage didn't sit too well with me.

Noise - this was a massive bone of contention for me. I am a light sleeper and hate to be kept awake by unnecessary noise. The hotel is quite an old building and so the walls and floors are thin, paper thin. Kids were running up and down the halls from their rooms to the pool and whilst I don't mind kids having fun, it felt like they were actually in our room. I looked out at one point to see if they were outside my room as i thought they were but saw they were running down the stairs at the opposite end of our hall - about 40-50 ft away but you could hear and feel it loud and clear.This was due to the thin walls and floors. We didn't need a TV on in our room, you could hear the neighbours just as well.

The buffet breakfast was kind of expensive for what I would call a continental breakfast buffet - yoghurt\fruit\toast etc - with some optional scrambled eggs and hard french toast on the side.

The pros far outweigh the cons of this hotel and as a base for a couple of nights in Jasper it was fine, I just like two things in a hotel - option for a good breakfast which is value for money and a sound nights sleep with no need for earplugs and a pillow over my head.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabe_cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were overcharged (paid higher than advertised price even though we booked by Expedia weeks earlier). Hotel is very old and not well-maintained. Toilet moving and bathroom smelly. Sofa bed very dusty and itchy. Took one hour to get them to drop new bed sheets. Had to wait until midnight. Staff could use some manners and at least smile. Had to take door card key few times for reprogramming. It kept failing to open door.Definitely won't stay there again. For the price, we could get a more decent place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Property: Lobstick Lodge
Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing