We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fomer hotel employee with w readworthy review...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 2, 2006

Visiting Jasper is a wonderful way of experiencing a taste of Canadiana, and JPL is a worthy stop.

Keep in mind that it is a large resort destination (446 rooms) as opposed to a metropolitan (or boutique) hotel, and the property and its upkeep are indicative of such; ie. the sinks could have been cleaner, and we were given the wrong keys at check-in, and after a long drive and finally finding our room was an unwelcomed welcome!... but the service was very friendly

Some things to keep in mind:
- Valet parking is free and during busier times, it is best to park your car and call for valet when you need to get around the property... The lodges are spread out all over the place and it is a MAZE to try to find your way around...
- There is a 'Park fee' when you enter the park- it was $16/day for us, and not mentioned by our reservations agent
- The 'Fairmont Room' is a basic, but nice enough room for up to a 2/3 night stay for a couple; it is mentioned in another review as having only enough room for one in the washroom, which is true, but you get what you pay for! A self-contained cabin would be more rustic and romantic...
- DO GO FOR A WALK IN THE SURROUNDING WOODS! We saw elk and deer two minutes into a trail around the lake, and it is very common to see them (and all their droppings!) from the road in Jasper and Banff
- Do venture into town and check out the food services there (and avoid paying $8/pint at 'The Tent City Lounge', although it is convenient after a dip in the outdoor heated pool!); Jasper Park Brewing Company is a good stop for a beer, and the Dead Dog is a good stop for a stompin night out
- Do bring your skates if you are driving in during the winter! A skate on the lake is a great way to start off the day... and DO have a $1 hot chocolate after around the fire! <- The best deal in Jasper, other than the free skating on the lake and free wildlife viewings!

Overall, I would recommend this beautiful bit of the Rockies to anybody looking for a rustic, comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank beigewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,883 - 3,889 of 4,145 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2005

Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2005

I absolutely loved this hotel. My 4 friends and I spent 6 nights there this summer on a road trip across the country, and I hope to be able to go back one day.

We stayed in a lakefront junior suite, which would have been impossible for a group of university students to afford if it weren't for the great discounted rate we were able to secure. The room itself was very nice, we had a sitting room with a couch and table, the bedroom with 2 double beds, and the bathroom. We had a ceiling fan which we really didn't use, as the daytime high while we were in Jasper never exceeded about 20C, and the nighttime lows were around 4C.

This hotel is absolutely amazing. It is a beautiful setting around a lake, with wonderful views of the mountains beyond. The way the property is set up is wtih smaller cabins containing the rooms, from as few as 2 rooms in a cabin to as many as probably 20-40. We had a cabin that had 4 suites in it, and we never heard our neighbors, nor did we have any complaints about being loud... with 5 20 somethings in a room, that is pretty good.

The pool and recreation area was great, we really enjoyed the hottub, outdoor pool, and games area. The pool is heated, but most nights it was still a little cool. Not surprising as the outside temperatures were pretty low, but it was absolutely bearable. The disposable swimsuits available from the recreation desk were very funny.

The staff were top notch. I know from experience that most of the staff at the fairmonts out there are students or young people staying there for the experience, or the discount they get on lodging at other Fairmonts. Despite this fact, they were very attentive to what people needed and were wonderfully helpful. We had a great server in our one meal on site, at the Moose's Nook, he was so helpful.

The beds!! they were sooo comfy. Great mattresses, super soft sheets, and nice cozy duvets. I want one for home.

I would absolutely recommend staying here if you can afford the room rate, for travellers on a tight budget it would be impossible, but if you can work it in, go for it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Taryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

You cannot fail to be impressed by this unique hotel, with its log cabins set in the pristine and stunning Canadian Rockies. The only drawback to our bijou Fairmont room was the lack of air conditioning. The ceiling fan was totally ineffectual and the little desk model wasn't much better. We took a chance and left the two small windows open overnight although, being Canada, we felt safe anyway.

The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. Two calls to distant reception about the fan and the television were each dealt with within five minutes.

Facilities on the entire complex are plentiful and excellent. My husband, a keen golfer, played a round of golf with three delightful Canadians and he described it as 'magic'. The rented clubs were new TaylorMades and a golf cart was included. He even saw a black bear on the 15th fairway, which beats the rabbits and squirrels at his local club.

The breakfast buffet is absolutely superb.

Altogether, an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lily_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We were only booked at the hotel for two nights, but upon driving in the entrance, we knew we wanted to stay the whole week. We checked out the Fairmont in Banff and the one in Lake Louise. Both were beautiful, but seemed touristy and too big. The Jasper Park Lodge is a very special property - in every area. The staff couldn't have been any friendlier and helpful - some of the finest hospitality we have ever experienced. They also seemed to really love working there and love the area - always quick to give a suggestion for a hike or activity. I highly recommend the Jasper Park Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kfrobertsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

We stayed for three nights and have to say loved this place (and,no, we are not members of staff in case the previous reviewer thinks so!).

The setting is lovely and the room was lovely with a good size balcony - only criticism here is that the bathroom, although beautifully fitted, was so small that you could only have one person in there at a time.

The service in the Meadows Restaurant started off well for breakfast but we ended up having to chase our pot of tea three times and they forgot to bring our toast which they charged for but then took off the bill. The breakfast however was delicious.

The service and food in the Emerald Lounge was excellent on the two nights we ate there.

We could park the car outside our room but I would say the signage is very confusing around the roads within the lodge grounds - they have a one way system which we contradicted one day!

The ambiance around the property was great and it has its own shopping mall with a wide variety of shops.

We can thoroughly recommend a stay at the Jasper Park Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jonathan Viney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed here for two nights in one of their most expensive suites during a hiking trip in Banff and Jasper Parks. We had heard it was just the place for a little pampering, for which we paid $714 (CAD) per night. The bottom line is, it is a great place to stay for two nights because of the scenery and plush estate feel of the place, but after that, you will resent being overcharged for restaurant food, no parking spaces anywhere near your room or suite, no air conditioning and "We know there are these problems, but we really can't do anything about it" response whenever you complain.

The Good - It's a beautiful setting. On a private lake surrounded by tall fir trees at the foot of beautiful mountains and big blue skies. The people who work here are helpful and very understanding. The lodge and golf club are very nice and the shops are nice. The restaurant food and the service is very good, although an entre' in either of the two white table cloth restaurants runs about $28-37 (CAD). If you only stay 1-2 nights, get a suite with a fireplace. It was so awesome to wake up and build a cozy fire with a beautiful lake just outside.

The Bad - 1) The rooms and suites have no air conditioning. Of course, the daytime temperature in the heat of summer is about 76 degrees (F), but the sun faces all the units which face the lake and if you open all the doors and windows and turn on the ceiling fan, if you are lucky enough to have one, you can get the temp down to about 80 degrees. 2) The restaurants are way overpriced, although the service is about average. Some guidebooks have stated that the tuxedo wearing waiters in the most upscale of the restaurants have an attitude problem. We dined in the Moose's Nook and had a great waiter named Allen, which attended to our party much more closely than the other waiters we noticed there. I recommend that you try out the restaurant at the Tekara Lodge on Hwy. 93A. Awesome food and service, 5 star quality at a 3 star price. Get reservations. 3) No close parking spaces after 7 p.m. If you are returning from hiking or town after then, you will have to walk about 1/2 mile to your room or suite no matter how much you pay for accomodations, unless you succomb to valet parking and want the hassle of having to order your car if you want access to something you left inside it. 4) There is precious little privacy here unless you draw your drapes. The patios and balconies, even in the most expensive suites are only about 4' deep, have only a thin wall between you and the next unit or the one above or below you, and have a heavily used public walkway another 4' away.

Actually, the hotel management must know of all these issues, but have done nothing to resolve them. So they will have to deal with the complaints. I feel really sorry for the people who work here.

As for the other reviews for this hotel, my take on them is that the reviews fall into two categories: A. Those people who feel like I do that they like the pampering but they resented paying for it and having to deal with the poor planning of the hotel, or B. Those people who work at the hotel who feel the need to lie about the hotel in reviews by posting anonymous and glowing comments, that could not possibly be true even if one were an eternal optimist.

Nevertheless, I would stay here again for 1-2 nights now that I know what to deal with. And now you will too.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: 1 Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $192 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alberta's magnificent Jasper National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the iconic Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge resort invites you to experience our Great Canadian Lodge, surrounded by nature and abundant wildlife. Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is a 700 acre year-round luxury mountain resort which wraps around the shores of pristine Lac Beauvert and Canada's #1 Golf Resort Course. The resort's charming village of cedar chalets and Luxury Signature Cabins, all connected by picturesque paths, offer guests unique access to explore the natural environment surrounding the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing