We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Love and Hate This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“You Will Love and Hate This Place”
Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed here for two nights in one of their most expensive suites during a hiking trip in Banff and Jasper Parks. We had heard it was just the place for a little pampering, for which we paid $714 (CAD) per night. The bottom line is, it is a great place to stay for two nights because of the scenery and plush estate feel of the place, but after that, you will resent being overcharged for restaurant food, no parking spaces anywhere near your room or suite, no air conditioning and "We know there are these problems, but we really can't do anything about it" response whenever you complain.

The Good - It's a beautiful setting. On a private lake surrounded by tall fir trees at the foot of beautiful mountains and big blue skies. The people who work here are helpful and very understanding. The lodge and golf club are very nice and the shops are nice. The restaurant food and the service is very good, although an entre' in either of the two white table cloth restaurants runs about $28-37 (CAD). If you only stay 1-2 nights, get a suite with a fireplace. It was so awesome to wake up and build a cozy fire with a beautiful lake just outside.

The Bad - 1) The rooms and suites have no air conditioning. Of course, the daytime temperature in the heat of summer is about 76 degrees (F), but the sun faces all the units which face the lake and if you open all the doors and windows and turn on the ceiling fan, if you are lucky enough to have one, you can get the temp down to about 80 degrees. 2) The restaurants are way overpriced, although the service is about average. Some guidebooks have stated that the tuxedo wearing waiters in the most upscale of the restaurants have an attitude problem. We dined in the Moose's Nook and had a great waiter named Allen, which attended to our party much more closely than the other waiters we noticed there. I recommend that you try out the restaurant at the Tekara Lodge on Hwy. 93A. Awesome food and service, 5 star quality at a 3 star price. Get reservations. 3) No close parking spaces after 7 p.m. If you are returning from hiking or town after then, you will have to walk about 1/2 mile to your room or suite no matter how much you pay for accomodations, unless you succomb to valet parking and want the hassle of having to order your car if you want access to something you left inside it. 4) There is precious little privacy here unless you draw your drapes. The patios and balconies, even in the most expensive suites are only about 4' deep, have only a thin wall between you and the next unit or the one above or below you, and have a heavily used public walkway another 4' away.

Actually, the hotel management must know of all these issues, but have done nothing to resolve them. So they will have to deal with the complaints. I feel really sorry for the people who work here.

As for the other reviews for this hotel, my take on them is that the reviews fall into two categories: A. Those people who feel like I do that they like the pampering but they resented paying for it and having to deal with the poor planning of the hotel, or B. Those people who work at the hotel who feel the need to lie about the hotel in reviews by posting anonymous and glowing comments, that could not possibly be true even if one were an eternal optimist.

Nevertheless, I would stay here again for 1-2 nights now that I know what to deal with. And now you will too.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    954
    734
    495
    280
See reviews for
1,017
1,893
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sandiego california
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2005

After all the bad reviews I read about the Jasper park lodge I was very hesitant to stay but honestly I am very glad I did. The service was great and attentive the room was lovely and it was simply beautiful. The lake is spectacular and there are so many activities to keep a family happy. We went horseback riding and saw a bear and elk on the trial. The elk were grazing right in front of our room. The staff at the hotel were friendly and everytime we called they were attentive to our needs. The only downside of the room we were in which was a lake front suite was that we were on the first floor and the sound proofing wasn't the best. The upstairs guests could be heard throughout the night which was somewhat upsetting. The room was very costlly and one might expect better in this area for what you are paying. I would go there again in a blink of an eye. It was a wonderful,relaxing and very beautiful place. Since it is a family location I felt the fitness area wasn't as nice as other fairmont locations that mainly target a business crowd. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to tell people to go .

Helpful?
8 Thank DLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

we stayed at the Jasper park lodge for 2 nights on our honeymoon.

The staff were lovely so friendly and natural, we were given a fabulous cabin - just wish we had been there in the winter to put the wood burner on!

the grounds are amazing, and lovely to walk around, and the seating areas around the lake are nice to sit and read a book, have a drink on etc.

All the meals we had were outstanding especially in the mooses nook, where our server Adrianne was fantastic, very helpful and knowledgeable.

We will definately be returning there again at some point and I fell sorry for those who felt it was not goo - as per some of the other reviews - but my husband and I thought it was one of the best hotels.

The local is very rural, but the hotel have cars to take out into the town, and little carts to take you to your cabins.

We saw lots of wildlife in the area, and the local tours are well worth the time (we done the discover Jasper tour with Brewsters)

cannot wait to return there!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davies1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Jasper is one of the best places on earth, and because it's a little more remote, the Jasper Fairmont has far less of the 'wandering tourists' syndrome that so afflicts your experience at the Lake Louise and Banff locations. Having said that, the experience is sub-par compared with the Fairmont norm.

The location and grounds are wonderful, no question. The lodge building is very nice, but the cabins themselves are tired – ours had chipped tiles in the foyer, and a bathroom straight from 1982… (And, oh yeah – most of the rooms are in cabins scattered throughout the property, often FAR from the lodge!, but with very few trees, which kind of negates the whole ‘cabin in the woods’ feel that other local cabin resorts have.)

The beds and towels are great, but the rooms themselves are no better than those at several of the local cabin resorts (we checked!), and of course, you are paying up to 3-4x as much for those nice towels!

Every other ‘pro’ comes with a similar negative. The breakfast buffet (at the downstairs restaurant) is very good, but cost-prohibitive unless included in your rate. We tried the two ‘fine dining’ establishments, which were good, but again, at least 50% more expensive that even better ‘local favorites’ that we found.

Also, while the service was great – friendly and smiling always – the spread out layout requires a TON of employees to try to pull off the 4-star services. That leads to everyone rushing about in various carts and trucks and vans, with laundry and food, to the point that we did not feel safe allowing our kids (ages 9-13) to wander for fear of them getting run over! They really do need to do a better job of enforcing their internal 15 kph speed limit – their own employees are the worst offenders! It all makes for a busy feel that is at odds with the whole cabin vibe.

To summarize: If you are on a conference and someone else is paying, or if you are using (or have to earn) Fairmont ‘miles’ – stay here – if NOT, do yourself a favor and pick one of the smaller cabin resorts in town. Save the extra money for some of the great restaurants in and around town, or for the Fairmont Banff, where it all seems a better value, even if the town is far more ‘touristy’…

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Stayed here 2 nights during our wedding trip. We booked a standard Fairmont room (the cheapest available), which still was CAD 510/night. And that for a small room without a view, and without A/C! The room was quite smelly (not often used?), but we got rid of that by opening the windows. The bathroom was small, with limited warm water supply.
We had the buffet in the evening, and the standard bottle of wine arrived at CAD 34 (later, at the Helmcken Falls Lodge, we had the same wine for CAD 21). One _really_ negative experience is our afternoon wine in the main lodge. The waitress suggested two promotions, one for a martini and one for a local white wine. Naive as we were, we ordered the wine promotion...only to find out it was CAD 19.5 a glass (before taxes etc.!). And a "glass" it turns out in Canada means a half glass at best.
A real rip-off in short.
On the plus side: the Lodge is very private, the main Lodge is very cozy, there is an outdoor pool and a private lake. Also, the golfing is said to be one of the best in Canada.
For the money you pay, there is no doubt better options in Jasper. That is, untill the Jasper Lodge undergoes a major take-over that brings it to today's standars of upscale accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights as part of our Rocky Mountaineer tour. We had paid extra for Gold Leaf and superior rooms because it was to be probably the only chance we would ever have of doing such a trip.

The rooms we (two couples in two rooms) had were, quite frankly, substandard. They were old, tired and very well worn. The rooms were hot and smelled musty, but since they had no airconditioning (!), we were forced to open the front and rear doors and turn on the overhead fan. Our travelling companions found the central heating in their room was ON and couldn't be turned off! After complaining to the desk, a maintenance man eventually arrived to turn the heat off for the whole block.

The lodge is well beyond walking distance from town, but there is no hotel shuttle, which to me is quite outrageous. I guess they like "captive audiences"! Fortunately, there are plenty of taxis in town and a phone call has one arriving quick-smart. But it shouldn't be necessary.

We arrived late-ish on the first day, so opted to eat in the hotel rather than going out. We had the buffet, which was adequate but not in any way remarkable. Our companions ordered a glass of white wine, which, when poured, filled less than a third of the glass. Upon complaining, the waiter responded with "That's an international standard". Our companions, who are partners in a vineyard/winery in Australia, responded with incredulity and persisted until, eventually, they were given a begrudging "top up".

The grounds, by way of contrast, are superb. The views across the lake and up to the mountains is simply beautiful.

However, based on our experiences (and those of others on the same RM tour), I would strongly suggest people consider alternative accommodation, especially since the placard on the back of our door indicated the room rate as $629CAN a night!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank BIWOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2005

For a Fairmont Hotel, this one is definitely lacking....lacking sound insulation and cleanliness you would expect from this hotel chain. There are definitely better hotels in the Jasper area...such as the Park Place Inn. The Park Place Inn is a boutique hotel and the hotel rooms are much nicer. Plus, the Park Place Inn is a lot cheaper.

Just go for dinner or some afternoon tea at the Jasper Park Lodge. I would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank KittyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing