We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Trip Of A Life Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
“The Trip Of A Life Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

From lunch in the emerald lounge to dinner at the Moose's nook the service was amazing! Our room was charming with a beautiful view. The staff at the lodge are incredible! It is the perfect place for a family vacation. Lots of outdoor adventure. We are planning to return in the fall!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    734
    608
    419
    239
See reviews for
808
1,460
63
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We expected a Fairmont owned hotel to exude quality, with high standards of housekeeping - but nothing of the sort. This is a tour bus hotel that does not need to concern itself with standards for the more discerning traveller - as soon as one coach leaves another arrives. Lodge bedrooms are in desperate need of renovation (ours had an orange box as a step onto an outdoor "patio") and air conditioning. Public rooms are dark and uninviting. None more so than a cramped breakfast room which serves very poor fare. The only saving grace is the location - situated on a lake with much to see round about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Can't beat the location. What a beautiful view. We stayed here as part our tour. Had a cabin. it was lovely being able to open the windows for fresh air as we found a lot of the hotels were so hot and you are unable to open any windows. The bathroom was very small, you couldn't swing a cat. The staff were very friendly. I think you pay for the name and the location as with all the Fairmont hotels, so not necessarily the best value or quality.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This was our first stay at the JPL. We have heard great things and thought it would be a nice, romantic getaway for the weekend. We were sadly mistaken. The fist disappointment of many was finding out we were not in an actual hotel, we would be staying in a cabin after requesting one of the rooms in the hotel. When we first arrived in our room it was dirty, had been smoked in, bathrooms were disgusting. I went up to the front desk and asked for a refund or upgrade. Not willing to do either they cleaned a new room for us, offered us drinks in the lobby while we waited and a free breakfast. While in the lounge, the waitress dropped my knife on my foot...what a great stay. The second room was not much better, but at least the smoke smell was gone. Dirty bathrooms, old furniture...not at all what we had expected. The only nice thing about our getaway was the dinner, our waitress was fantastic and the food was great. Our complimentary breakfast the next morning was very nice as well and the service was good.
Unfortunately Jasper does not have any other decent hotels to offer, so this is an okay choice but I would not recommend it as a first choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetheartt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We traveled with a 18 month old toddler to the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge at the end of April 2009. We received a fantastic rate of CAD199 for a "Deluxe King Non Smoking with Sitting Area". Normally, this room would have cost CAD329 but, if you join the "President's Club" and sign up for the email letter, you will receive advanced notice on sales first week of each month. So, I signed up in February and got my sales email and booked that rate in March. I didn't see that deal again in April. So, President's Club members receive good deals. Moreover, you will get free valet parking if you are a PC member. So, if you are going to any Fairmont properties, I would suggest signup for the free membership.

For people travelling with young children less than 5 years old, you will be pleased to know that the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge has kids' meal and they eat for free. So, we were pleasantly surpised at that.

We received great services, as soon as drove up to the front of the hotel, the valet guy came up and asked if we were PC members. He said that if we were, then he would probably have the key already. Unfortunately, our key wasn't there, so I had to go into the front lobby to get it. He offered to carry all of the luggages upto our room as soon as we found out which room we were in. We were very impressed with their level of customer service. It certainly beats Westin Edmonton & Regency Hyatt Calgary where we subsequently stayed in the same trip. I guess customer service is priority at Fairmont.

The room we stayed at was located on the 2nd floor of the main building. It has a balcony that overlooks the Lake Beauvert. It was very lovely to have some patio furniture and relax outside of our room. The furniture of our room was both rustic and somewhat outdated. The TV was CRT type, not the flat screen that most newer hotels have. I guess when you are here in Jasper, they don't expect you to watch much TV.

The toilet overflowed during our one night stay. We called the front desk and was informed that maintenance does not come in until 8am. So, we wouldn't able to have it fixed until then. Unfortunately, we had to drive to Edmonton early in the morning. So, we left just around 8:05am, I did see some guy with a plunger going towards my room as I was leaving. This was the only issue in our room. So, I had to rate the "cleaniness" a little lower as a result.

We tried the Emerald Lounge on the day that we arrived. The other restuarants does not open until 6pm. The foods were okay, not extraordinary.

The property is located slightly away from the town of Jasper but, being next to lake was beautiful. We saw some of the other hotels in the town and we weren't impressed. And, the next closest town of Hinton was about 45 minutes away. So, I think Fairmont has somewhat of a monopoly in Jasper.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTruth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Jasper may just be one of the most beautiful places in the world; JPL has a particularly wonderful location and it is the best hotel in town, by far. Fairmont does a nice job of managing a physical facility you would expect under the Best Western banner. While the main level of the main lodge is attractive (though not stupendous), the rest of the property quite literally needs work- badly.

Our junior suite (a gracious upgrade) had lots of peeling paint on the outside (rooms are in many buildings), radiator covers that could no longer hang from the wall so were leaned against the radiators, a battle scarred hodge podge of furniture, 100 year old carpet, paper thin walls and a toilet that had to be flushed 3 to 4 times before the job was done. The good news was a Fairmont wonder bed, 200 sq ft of glass with a dead-on view of nature's majesty at its best and top-notch Fairmont service.

We ate in three restaurants on premises. The food was OK/mediocre with good and/or grand service.

Do go to Jasper- it is gorgeous to the Nth power. Do stay at JPL- everything else in town is a tacky motel. Just be warned- JPL is a let down after many a stay at other Fairmont hotels. Mind you, if they invest $20 to $30 million (and no less because it's clear there have been many half measures to date) Fairmont will have a world class property. Right now they are operating a '5*' hotel in a '3*, but needs work' physical facility.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Booked as part of our honeymoon and also for my 30th birthday and unfortunately not quite the place we were expecting from the brochure. We stayed 3 nights and had booked the standard room, but unfortunately had only been in there 2 minutes when I asked my husband to ring and find out if we could upgrade. We paid £150 per night and it was a very dark and dingey room with a bathroom the size of most downstairs cloakrooms at home!!

Having said that, when my husband rang to ask whether we could move, they were very quick to show us a different room, of better class and we moved there without having to pay. The room we moved to hadn't been cleaned very well, so i cleaned it!! But after that we didn't come across any problems. All the staff were brilliant, it wasn't their fault the place was a bit tired and I am sure it was probably only the basic rooms that were disappointing.

I used the spa and had a fantastic facial and the outdoor pool was a real novelty in the chilly evenings! My husband arranged a surprise meal in the Loose Moose restaurant, we had a table by the fire, champagne and a birthday cake. It was magical!!

The accommodation is situated next to a lake which makes for a lovely walk and the town of Jasper is a short drive away. It's a charming place and in easy reach of the National park and other local hideaways. Well worth the visit, just make sure you get a nice room and the rest will be perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportychick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 15 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#3 of 15 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 15 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#4 of 15 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E1E0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing