We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Splendid views”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel lobby filled with stuffed animals on the walls - just gave you the feel that you were in a national park. As part of this holiday we stayed in 3 other fairmont hotels in Canada (Vancouver, Banff and Lake Louise) this one was definetly more informal. Rooms are in blocks scattered over the complex and depending on your room number can be a long walk to the restaurant (there is a buggy for the less able) but if raining you need to take advantage of the umbrellas. Had breakfast and dinner in the Mose's Noose, the dinner was delicious - had buffalo for the starter sitting near the stuffed moose head. A pianist who took requests played in the background. Breakfast was buffet style and the choice was impressive and good quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello jackie b, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the views and the wildlife around us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    881
    677
    462
    259
See reviews for
934
1,759
72
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at JPL for Malanka, Ukrainian New Years. The setting is always breathtaking. We were in room 523 which was a suite. It was renovated and had a large sitting room with couch/chair, fireplace, kitchen table, The room had wood shutter sliders to block the bedroom from the living room. This was a perfect room for a family as we could put our kids to bed close the shutters and stay up in the living room to watch tv. The bathroom was wonderful as well with a large stand alone shower and bathtub. The food in the main dining room was good but the breakfast buffet could use more kid friendly dishes. We loved the pool and my girls enjoyed the locker rooms best though as there were makeup vanities and they could get beautiful after swimming. Will return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments bellek18 - we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - and during such a wonderful time, Malanka! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have been visiting JPL for over 40 years, still love it, like the location, the grounds, the lodge, and some of the suites/room. The food is always well prpeared, presented and innovative...however most of the rooms, and some of the public spaces like sidewalks, roads etc do mneed some attention, potholes, manhole covers nearly off.
Do stay here it is still very nice, but do also be casreful about rooms, and ask to be moved if initially unhappy.
we will continue to stay here in all seasons it has a charm that outweighs the small deficiences...

Room Tip: Beauvert suites among newest rooms, larger, lakefront, fireplaces we also like the one bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello DavidatV, first of all, thank you for choosing to vacation with us for over 40 years! We feel honoured knowing we have long term guests that keep coming back for the love of the property. Thank you for your comments about the area, we will definitely pass on your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was concerned prior to booking, as there are a lot of negative reviews on this site. I was VERY pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located on a huge acreage, overlooking Lac Beauvert. Most of the rooms are located in 3 or 4-plex cabins, scattered throughout the property. They have a top rated golf course, and a newly refurbished spa. It's about 7 min drive from the main town of Jasper, but very quiet due to it's location. I was there during the Spring, but noticed horse riding opportunities onsite during the summer, as well as skating during the Winter. The hotel is decorated in a kind of rustic decor, which was very homey and nice. The main lobby area opens onto a huge lounge in front of a grande stone fireplace. I found it very laid back and comfortable compared to the "snootiness" of the other Fairmonts in Alberta. It felt like staying at a very high end summer camp. Could the rooms use some updating? Yes. That being said, I found them charming and comfortable, and if you aren't nit-picky, excellent accommodations. I stayed in the lakeview junior suite, which has a really nice little seating area overlooking the lake and mountain range. There is wildlife EVERYWHERE!! It was amazing to wake up in the morning and see elk grazing outside my front window. There is an outdoor pool, which is open all Winter long as it is heated, and several restaurants on site. We mostly relaxed in our room and enjoyed in-room dining, which was excellent. There is a trail that leads all the way around the lake, which I would recommend if you have time. it is a very beautiful walk, and only takes around 45 mins. I plan to return again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi mpjotraveler - Thank you for your comments! We're happy to hear about your pleasant stay and we're really looking forward to seeing you again soon. Glad you got the chance to see the wildlife and visit town as well. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed at the JPL on one occasion for last Thanksgiving. We enjoyed it so much that we just booked another stay for February. We love everything about it and would tell anyone to stay at the JPL without hesitation. We have a young family and the JPL provided a babysitting service so my wife and I could enjoy a couple of nights out. Our little ones loved spending time with Jessica who made our stay a huge success.

Upon check in we were upgraded from a Fairmont room to a room with a parlour and there is a huge treasure chest in the main lodge for kids to choose toys from.

It was a first class experience all the way.

Room Tip: Just ask the reservations desk what your options are. They are extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian-Keona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello Sian-Keona, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in February! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I will begin by saying that the service at JPL was great and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. We stayed at the JPL recently and would have considered going back this summer because we would love to see the grounds in the summer time and golf the course but due to our disappointment with the room, we will not bother returning to the JPL.

Due to the Fairmont name, we were expecting above average rooms, but this was not the case. We didn't mind so much though until it came to sleeping (or lack there of) our first night there. The walls are so thin that we were woken by our neighbours who came back to their hotel room at 2 in the morning and stayed up until 5:00am. We could hear every single word of their conversations whether they were yelling or talking quietly. I am all for having a good time but with the thin walls, we did not fall back asleep until after our neighbours finally passed out. The next night was no different, again the people in the room next to us decided to stay up until about 4am. Throughout the whole weekend, I got a solid five hours of sleep which was extremely disappointing considering my boyfriend and I were taking this trip to have a relaxing weekend away. Another disappointment was the mattress. Once our neighbours had finally gone to bed, it was hard for us to fall back asleep because the mattress was not comfortable. We originally thought we would come home from this vacation being well rested and ready to take on another work week but instead the first thing we did when we got home was take a nap because we were so tired from our lack of sleep throughout the weekend.

We also did not get to experience many of the things we would have liked to during our stay at JPL, like going swimming in their beautiful pool and skating, because we spent the one afternoon napping since we were too tired to do anything else and felt we better take advantage of getting some sleep while our neighbours were out of their rooms.

Next time we return to Jasper we will be staying somewhere else because we believe if you are paying the price for a Fairmont hotel then you should be getting the Fairmont experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Carjean203 - thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that that you experienced great service while you were here and that you were able to take in the beautiful scenery. We do, however, sincerely apologize about the sounds issues you dealt with in your room. It's very unfortunate when guests don't take their neighbours into consideration and for this we are so sorry. This is unacceptable behavior and we encourage you to please call Royal Service if you ever come across this again, at our resort or any other Fairmont. Our teams will work to fix the problem immediately. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you will reconsider visiting us in the summer. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I waited a week before making this comment regarding my families recent stay at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Resort Dec 27 and 28 to allow some tension to subside. I booked two rooms for my family of 9 (kids/grandkids) to provide them with what I anticipated to be one of the premier Canadian winter experiences, however this is not what occurred.

The pullout sofa bed in my room which I was counting on for one of the beds (after talking directly to the booking agent at Jasper Fairmont and recommended this approach for accommodation) was damaged beyond repair by a previous occupant. A replacement request was refused and a full sized cot was subsequently placed in the room taking up considerable floor space for the entire stay. Also, the door leading out to the balcony could barely be opened due to some type of restriction with the door slider. This limited/discouraged use of the balcony which was also a request during booking. At $700 a night for the room this was unconscionable.

The next issue was the evening of Dec 29 waiting for 2 hours for our dinner only to receive one bowl of soup for our party of nine which included children ages 3/5/9. Our food never did arrive and we left after a final complaint to the waiter and a direct complaint to the on call desk manager. We sat down at 6 pm only to watch the 3 tables around us come/eat and leave and finally we had to leave and return to our room at 8:15 pm to order room service (and have snacks we had thankfully brought for the kids) only to eat at 9:50. This completely destroyed our evening including plans to swim in the outdoor pool as well as enjoy some of the games and other amenities of the facility.

I have lived in travelled in many parts of the world with my family enjoying several excellent quality accommodations as well as several low end accommodations and have never experienced anything like we did at the Jasper Park Lodge for the 2 day cost of $4500.00 for 2 rooms and food (no alcohol was consumed).

This experience was personally embarrassing for me considering this was intended to be a surprise for my family and gives me grave concern for the tourist industry in Alberta considering tourism has been in decline over the last several years. We chose to stay in Alberta and could have easily gone elsewhere.

This is most unfortunate and until the Fairmont Jasper Resort respects the fact that their customers expect reasonable accommodations for the world class prices they charge, I would not recommend staying at this facility.

Room Tip: I would recommend leaving enough time to check your room so you can drive into Jasper to another acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Steve Q - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We would like to apologize once again for our shortcomings during your recent stay in Jasper. We appreciate your patience when we provided a cot to replace the uncomfortable sofa bed; again we regret that we did not have an alternative room for your family. Our restaurant team also reviewed your experience that evening following the receipt of your letter. While we cannot change the past we are committed to learning from our shortcomings and for continuous improvements. We apologize that our lack of timely service had such a profound impact on your family. We hope to have the privilege to welcome your family back to Jasper, where we can provide everyone with a comfortable visit. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing