We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location and experience; 3 star room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“5 star location and experience; 3 star room.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The place was packed so maybe we were unlucky with the room or maybe APT weren't careful enough with arrangements. It was a small corner room of a chalet right by the lake. Comfy enough in a cosy way but too dark and cramped and tired with an outdated decor and bathroom.

That aside the location, setting, gardens, lake and general facilities were great. Pool and spa were good, as were the bars, restaurants and patios overlooking the lake and gardens.

Staff were friendly and the option of a stroll through beautiful gardens by the lake or pickup by 'golf cart' to get from our room to the main building was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    929
    710
    487
    271
See reviews for
986
1,850
74
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family (Mom, Dad and 2 kids) have stayed at Jasper Park Lodge many times over the past ten years and have always been very happy with everything that is JPL. The hotel is unique and, I believe, is an excellent marriage between class, luxury and rustic Canadian charm. The food is great, the scenery amazing... on and on. What really makes JPL so special are the people who work at hotel. My family has many amazing experiences but the one that always stands out and exemplifies the service is when my daughter (then 8 years old) left her bunny (her absolute prize possession) in the bedding and when we returned from the day’s activities we realized the cleaning staff inadvertently removed it with the bed linens. Our daughter didn’t realize this had happened (luckily because it would have been horrible). We quickly contacted the front desk and explained the situation. Later that evening at dinner a hotel rep very discretely presented me with a gift bag that had the lost bunny in it. When we went to thank the hotel staff we learned that the entire cleaning staff, and off duty personnel combed the laundry to find the bunny, which caused the cleaning folks to work a bit longer to catch up on the day – all to ensure that one little girl had her bunny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxTravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi MaxTravelCanada - thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're so thankful for your families kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future. Next time, let us know you're coming on Facebook: /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter: @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel s situated on the banks of a lake a few miles outside Jasper. The rooms are in blocks all looking toward the lake. The bedrooms are a little dated but still reasonable. The bathroom was small. The bed is pretty high and it was like climbing a mountain when you retired.
We walked around the lake which took about 45 minutes and you built up a good appetite. The lake is very clear but cold. We walked to the main block for dinner and there were three elks grazing amongst the blocks. A god photo opportunity.
Dinner was good and service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, OH
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is in an excellent location by a small lake. The rooms could be updated. They have their own beehives and use it in their own honey lager and other menu items. Service was excellent. There are many hiking and other outdoor activities nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpacfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello wpatfritz - we are glad to hear you had a pleasant visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge following the Rocky Mountaineer. We took the lakefront suite with fireplace which is nice as you don't see other rooms in front of you, though overpriced. The other small chalets seem on top of each other in places so this is what you pay for though not really worth it. The fireplace is a nice addition in the evenings. The lakefront suit is very spacious with nice views of Lac Beauvert, you can also hire a canoe which is quite enjoyable. The Fairmont is very civilised though not too personal. The hotel has great views in a truly beautiful setting and its definitely a nice way to spend your time when visiting Jasper though you don't leave with that "I'll definitely be back feeling"

Room Tip: Lakefront Suite with fireplace is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHolidays4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Extremely Disappointed

We stayed at Jasper Park Lodge for 1 night on July 4th. We paid $498 (including tax) for the 1 night. Since we were travelling with our dog we also paid an additional $52.50 – pet charge. We were promised a 425 sq. ft Junior Suite Wood Stove King ,(confirmation # 83357294). In summary, we paid over $550 for a room for 1 night
We were assigned to Room 0165 – basically a section of an old ‘motel style’ cottage. There was no wood stove and the room was DEFINITELY not 425 sq. ft. The room décor was VERY dated and frankly did not appear very clean (e.g. a dirty Kleenex in one of the waste baskets AND very musky smelling). One of the nice features of our cottage was the deck (facing the lake) on the front of the cottage. We wanted to sit on the deck with our glass of wine but decided against it because it was FULL of debris (leaves, branches etc..).
We ate in the Lodge dining room which proved to be good.
The morning of July 5th, we were woken up early by a hotel staffer who had entered our room and was standing some 3 feet away from our bed!! He wanted to know where our luggage was because he had been sent to pick up our suitcases. We told him that we had not requested this service so he left.
When we checked out, we were asked how our stay was. When she heard what we had to say, the desk clerk said that she would ask the manager to step out to listen to our story. When she came back (minus a manager), we were told the manager said they would deal with the ‘issue’ (what?!) – Apparently the manager really did not care about our bad experiences. So, we left.
I am a President Club Farmont member and have stayed in several of their beautiful hotels. I am shocked that they would included such a hotel (with poor service) in their portfolio

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LotsOfTravel5835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
LotsOfTravel5835 - we are extremely sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced while you were here. Thank you for providing your confirmation number - we have your email address and will contact you directly to discuss further. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A beautiful mountain lake-side setting is wasted on this outdated and poorly maintained resort , whose prices imply luxury accommodations - luxury that is not delivered. If you desire good value for the money you spend on travel, do not stay here!

We just completed a seven-night stay in Jasper: four at a different accommodation in the area and then three nights at Jasper Park Lodge. We had reserved a Fairmont Standard King Room, seeking just a basic accommodation from which to enjoy the resort and continue our exploration of the breath-taking National Park scenery and its outdoor activities. When we arrived, after the posted check-in time, our room was not ready. The desk receptionist told us that they would call us...they did not. When we finally got access to our room, we found a tiny 50-60's style space in a run-down cabin in which the king-size bed literally almost filled the room. Moreover, the room was dirty!...dusty globs of dirt hanging from the "popcorn" ceiling above the fan, cobwebs in the corners, hair in the bathroom, and mold on the bathroom tile grout. We expressed dissatisfaction and were assigned an upgraded room (at significantly increased cost, of course), but unavailable until our second night. The second room was indeed larger and a bit cleaner, but nevertheless a disappointment...worn furniture, curtains partially unhooked from their rods, torn screens, peeling paint. On the afternoon preceding the final night of our stay, we returned to our room at 4:30pm after day-long hiking in the park, ready for hot showers to clean up for dinner...only to find that our room had not been cleaned for the day. A call to the desk got quick response, but we had been completely overlooked by the cleaning staff!

We had dinner in the Cavell dining room one night. The food and service were both good, but no better than at least three restaurants in town at which we had already eaten, and whose prices for equivalent entrees were about 25% less expensive. Further, lack of variety in the menus across the Fairmont's dining rooms prompted us to cancel our remaining reservations in favor of in-town restaurants. As for more informal food service...it is available, but an anecdote: I had the best burger that I have had in years in town (at Lou Lou's) for less than $9CAD; a burger at the Fairmont is listed for $25CAD.

This resort is neither quaint nor rustic; it is shabby, greatly over-rated, and absurdly over-priced for quality delivered. As of the date of this writing, it is rated 6th in TripAdvisor's ranking of Jasper hotels. There is not a large number of hotels in Jasper, folks! Believe that rating, and seek an accommodation that is rated more highly. I mentioned that we had stayed at another Jasper accommodation for fours nights prior to moving to the Fairmont. That was Alpine Village, currently rated first in TripAdvisor's ranking. It was a delight (see separate comments), and much less expensive than the Fairmont! We are extremely sorry that we didn't finish out our week-long stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear travelot13 - thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to detail your experiences with us and sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced while you were here. The state of your guest room is extremely disappointing, and we have shared your comments with our Management Team. We do hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to enjoy the true Canadian Lodge experience that we strive to offer all of our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing