We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unfortunately we arrive late at night and were very tired. We checked into our room (type of log cabin) it was along way from reception, but they had free shuttles back and forth. Our room was OK, the blinds were broken and the street light shone in our room all night. The room was also in a good need of a dust. We didn't complain as we were only spending 2 nights here and were going to be out and about most of the time. We also organised a wake up call and didn't get it! There seemed to be a lot of staff training going on. Breakfast was nearly a disaster so many server's and empty tables, but a line up for 15 minutes to get one. I don't mind people learning, but when you pay big dollars to stay somewhere I expect better service.
The Hotel is quite a long way from town, you have can get the shuttle bus from the hotel, but it doesn't come regular enough, so a taxi could be a better option.
On the other hand the grounds and lake of the hotel are spectacular! Sitting out having a wine on the balcony over looking the lake at the restaurant was so beautiful. Elks were also roaming around on the grounds. If the room and service were better this place could be so much better.

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigeelinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi craigeelinks, thanks for your comments. We're happy you had the chance to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery - there's nothing like having a glass of wine overlooking beautiful Lac Beauvert. However, we would like to apologize for the lack of service you encountered while you were here. You're correct - May is the start of our summer season meaning we have many new colleagues starting and learning their roles. That said, it is no excuse for poor service and for that we are very sorry. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and that we have a chance to wow you with our service. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    869
    673
    462
    259
See reviews for
927
1,746
70
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Right on the heels of a three day stay at Chateau Lake Louise, my wife and I stayed at Jasper Park Lodge. I thought things were going to improve when I got a text from a customer service rep a few days prior wishing to make my stay enjoyable, we spoke and he blocked a room that he saidi was his personal favourite. What he failed to mention was that there was major excavation going on literally right outside our front door all three days with a front end loader going back and forth on metal slats that has never been lubricated, making it impossible for us to either work or sleep. The pillows were woefully lacking and when I requested replacements, there was a big issue. Our friends staying in the lodge went without hot water twice. While the grounds are beautiful, overall, a big disappointment meaning the end of our stay at Fairmont hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi GeoffL, thank you for your comments. We're disappointed that despite all of our efforts and communication you were unhappy with your stay and that our onsite Guest Relations Manager was unable to resolve your room issues while you were here. We do strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible and apologize that we were unable to do this during your stay. Hopefully you will give us and Fairmont Hotels & Resorts another chance to impress you and give you the experience you deserve. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We began our recent trip to the Canadian Rockies at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge and it couldn't have started any better. The property is meticulously manicured and the colorful Adirondack chairs are the perfect spot to sit and enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery.
The staff was top-notch, especially the front desk and the concierge. Dinner at Cavell's was wonderful, but a bit too expensive. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Book a room in the lodge, on the 2nd floor facing the lake. They have private balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi 60763Lovetotravel, We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the start to your trip through the Canadian Rockies! Summertime in Jasper is truly unbeatable and we’re glad you got to experience it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of those unique properties with a magnificent, rustic setting. The staff were all exceptional but the real star here is the lakeside setting, comfortable log cabin rooms offering terraces or decks. Though not lakeside, we had a nice view of Lake Beaufort from our deck. The only negative was the extremely small and tight bathroom. Despite this, we loved our two night stay at this truly special hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments JSeils. We couldn’t agree more that Lac Beauvert is truly a stunning setting. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I decided to check out the spa at the Jasper Park Lodge since it was my first visit to the property since the spa had opened. I have experienced quite few of the Fairmont spas, the Willow Stream spa and the regular hotel spas, from all over North America do I was curious how this one would rate.

The entrance didn't really blow me away. Small, sterile and only two chairs. I checked in and was given the typical medical release form to sign. But the next form I was shown kind of surprised me...the receptionist presented me with my bill! I hadn't even had my massage yet! She said 'your massage is this amount, 10% off for being a president's club member, plus a 15% service fee which is added on by the provider and here is the spot to write the tip amount in, so sign this and we will bill it to your room'.
Ummmm, shouldn't I be able to decide on how much I want to tip my massage therapist based on how good of a job she did!?!?!
Knowing that the therapist would see how much of a tip I have before she even met me, I felt obligated, no maybe even bullied a bit, to give a very generous tip just so I got a half decent massage. Never, ever was put in this awkward position before.

Next I was shown the spa area. The tour was very robotic. 'Turn left, turn right. Make sure you only go down the pink hallway...how is your day?'. As I was sitting in the lounge, I could here the girl use the exact tour speech on ever guest she showed around, same timing and everything.
My massage therapist came and got me and took me into the 'spirit' room. I have to say that she was a really amazing therapist! She had amazing techniques and skill. The only bad point of the massage was the distracting noise coming from the ceiling. You could hear people walking around and the ceiling kept creaking the whole time. Not that relaxing when you are trying enjoy your massage.
At the end of the massage she recommended a couple products and even a different modality to try. As she escorted me to the change room, I asked if their Kerstin Florian line still had the shampoo and condition which I fell in love with at the spa at the Empress Hotel. She said that they did and she would have them ready for me at the front.
After getting dressed in the change room which is shared by the guests using the pool as well...and their screaming children (I have young children myself and they know how to act in public) I went back to reception. The small reception area was full of people...there was only nine guests waiting to be checked in/out but it was tight. I had time so I was prepared to wait to be looked after. After about five minutes, the receptionist came over and gave me my bill, 'Okay here is your receipt and you are good to go, okay bye'. Yep pretty much just got shooed out of there to make more room!
I was fully prepared to spend $200 on products but I guess they had no time for me...or my money.
All in all, the massage therapist was amazing but the other service and atmosphere definitely was lacking. Not the Royal Service that Fairmont prides itself on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Bastion123 - thank you for sharing your comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your massage but are terribly disappointed to hear that the rest of your spa experience wasn't as wonderful. The idea behind presenting the bill after the treatment is so that our guests are able to enjoy their treatment, relax in the lounge or pool, and leave without having to worry about payment. This is a standard practice for Fairmont and Willow Stream Spas and we apologize that this wasn't communicated to you when you arrived. We also apologize for not taking the time to get you your purchases and that you felt rushed out of the spa - this is certainly never our intention. Your comments are very valuable to us and we have shared them with our Spa Team. Again, thank you for your review. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a very nice hotel and we had a really nice cabin style room which was first rate. The grounds of the hotel are fabulous overlooking the lake, a wonderful golf course that i longed to play sadly not enough time. However the experience of this hotel was tarnished when we went for evening meal overlooking the swimming pool and lake. We ordered wine a the pleasant young man who was serving us dribbled some of the wine onto a iron style table, I did not really bother about that until the wine dripped through the holes of the iron work onto my white trousers red wine white trousers I think you get the picture, I pointed this out and was given some club soda to clean my trousers this just made them wet through. The waiter was very apologetic, however when my meal finally arrive it was cold from the get go I ate because it was getting late and I was hungry I pointed out the failing to the waiter he said he would tell the kitchen, but not allowance was reflected in our bill when asked to pay for all of this poor response to our problems felt let down by what is a quality hotel chain. We are booked into three more Fairmont hotels I trust things will improve, shame about the rant cos the hotel is great

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear bentwhit - please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your meal. We hope that the rest of your journey through our Rocky Mountain properties is outstanding, and that we have a chance to welcome you back. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
244 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

For a Fairmont property, this should not be considered 5 star, but is still a very beautiful place to stay. These are "cabin" rooms, very roomy, with fireplace and additional sitting room, but probably not what most 5 star travelers are expecting. The cabins surround the lake and you are truly in touch with nature. We ate at the Emerald Lake dining room, al fresco and it was very nice. Driving around and parking here is rather tricky as the roads are all one-way. Service was great though, but for the cost, I'm not sure it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Murphy5708, Thank you for your comments. We’re glad you enjoyed your experience with us and then beauty that surrounds our property. We do offer complimentary Valet parking to help with the tricky parking the next time that you’re here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing