We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Easter at JPL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter at JPL”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first stay at JPL and it was lovely. Yes, it's very pricey, so it's a splurge for sure. There was my husband and I and 2 teenagers and we had a room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. The room was spacious and well maintained. The bathroom was paradise...2 sinks, a tub and separate shower. The outdoor pool is amazing, and the change rooms were great. The food onsite is also pricey but we found the breakfast buffet to be worth the price, lots of great choices. My only complaint would be that it was quite hot in the room. Although the thermostat was turned off it still got very hot so we opened up the windows at night and that kept the temperature more comfortable. I would definiately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello shoegirl011, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter. Each holiday and season is a different experience in Jasper and we're sure you'd love them all! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    881
    677
    462
    259
See reviews for
933
1,758
72
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Jasper Park Lodge for a week, our room was pleasant enough but like other comments it could do with some updating. The room was cleaned to a good standard and the staff on site could not be more helpful and welcoming (we even got complimentary breakfast pastries one morning when we asked for extra coffee for our coffee machine!). We loved the way the animals roamed around the site and the view over the lake was fantastic. We walked into Jasper a couple of evenings which took about 45 mins and just got a cab back which was easy enough. The swimming pool and facilities were really nice but could do with a hot tub or two. We left just as everyone was arriving for spring break and on the last evening you could hear the people in the room next door, prior to that it was quiet on site so it didn't bother us but I could imagine during busy periods this being a draw back. We ate in the Emerald lounge and in the main restaurant a couple of times, the food was lovely and waiters very attentive, the evening meals were reasonable but was slightly shocked at the price of some of the breakfast options. Missed opportunity here as we went into town for breakfast instead. During the week there are only a couple of options for dinner open, the other bars/restaurants only seem to open at weekends, you can go into town but after a hard days skiing you can sometimes do without that trip and it would have been nice to have more options on places to eat as emerald lounge menu is not very extensive. There is a free bus service from your cabin to the main lodge but its $20 pp to take you to the ski resort (at set times) which again we thought was a bit steep. You also have to pay for WiFi (unless you are a member), we stayed at a less expensive hotel the week before and it was free there so that was slightly disappointing. Overall a lovely stay but do feel JPL can do more for its guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Jules1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi 8Jules1 – Thank you for your comments. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't feel that we offered enough services for you while you were here and hope you have a chance to come back and experience more of what we have to offer. A note on our Wifi - by signing up for the Fairmont Presidents Club (a free membership with many benefits), Wifi becomes complimentary for you at any Fairmont. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Jasper Park Lodge. We paid to get an upgrade on check-in and the room we got was okay, but not great. (Mind you, the first time we stayed at the lodge we got a super-duper upgrade, which we didn't have to pay for, to a lake view cabin with fireplace, living room and huge bathroom, so anything less was bound to be a bit disappointing.) The Jasper Park Lodge is a historic property and would be quite suited to kitschy-cool decor but the one we got was on the dated side. The bed was extremely comfortable with wonderful linens, so no complaint there. The room was also close to the main lodge, so that was handy. (The property is a bit of a maze, with most rooms located in buildings a distance away from the main lodge.)

My son was a bit cold on the sofa bed the first night, but when we asked for an extra blanket and duvet, we got those very quickly.

Overall, the service was good, but the spa was very hard to get a hold of. I phoned before we arrived and got an answering machine. The message said you could email, so I did, requesting an appointment. Never heard back. Tried phoning on the way to the hotel. Answering machine again. Tried when we got to the hotel. Left a message and got a call back. It was spring break, so I'm sure they were busy, but if you offer email as an option, make sure to check the email. It would be best if you could book online; lots of spas have that kind of system now.

We ate quite a few meals at the lodge -- it's quite pricey hotel food, no way around that. Kids under 12 eat half-price off the adult menu, but make sure to tell your server how old your child is. Ours didn't ask and assumed he was over 12 and charged us full price for one meal.

The pool and associated facilities are great -- the pool was as warm as a bathtub, appreciated since it was not very warm out.

The setting of the lodge can't be beat -- big Canadian nature all around! -- so I'm sure we'll be back. There are often elk and deer hanging around the lodge and we saw several on our way in and out. Jasper is always a great bet for spotting wildlife -- I've never been to or through Jasper without seeing some wild creature and this trip was no exception.

Room Tip: Ask how close to the main lodge your room is -- some are quite a distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadwell_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Shadwell_22 - We’re glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay, but apologize for the difficulties you encountered making an appointment with our spa. You are correct, Spring Break is a very busy time of year for us but is certainly no excuse for not responding to you in a timely matter. Our outdoor heated pool is definitely a huge perk to the property so we’re happy to hear you were able to take advantage of it. We look forward to seeing you and your family back again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were stranded in Jasper due to avalanches this past weekend. I am in the travel industry, so I called the Fairmont to see if we could get a room, and we were able to get one. We had our dog with us and they said no problem. We were thoroughly impressed when we pulled up -- great, extremely friendly service, speedy check-in, and they were so accomodating with our dog. After our nightmare of trying to get home, what an oasis this place provided.
We had a gorgeous lake front suite with plenty of trails to walk our dog. They even came in with a pet amenity kit which included a dog bowl, info on dog friendly places in Jasper and some dog treats. I have stayed at 5 Fairmonts in Canada, in terms of staff, this one blows all the others out of the water. In terms of rooms, same. I'll be back and I'll be recommending this to others. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello G M, we’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your unplanned stay with us. We love providing a welcome place for guests and their pets. Even though you were in Jasper for an unfortunate circumstance, we’re glad you chose to stay with us and we’re happy that we were able to turn your visit around for the better. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family arrived at the lodge for the first time, looking forward to spring break rest and relaxation...we were not disappointed! The Fairmont JPL is the perfect vacation for kids...lots to do, EXCEPTIONAL STAFF, great food and incredible amenities. I rarely give 5 starts to a property, but this one deserves it. JPL, you're going to see us soon again. The kids have asked that we make this vacation an annual experience! The pool is perfect for the kids and the activities keep them busy all day. Couples will also like walking trails, nature, calmness and just lying on the deep plush couches in the lounge reading and having a fav drink. Thanks again JPL for the perfect spring break vacation without crowds or lineups!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are a bit older and worn, but they have incredible balconies that are perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmarshiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi TheAmarshiFamily, Thank you for your kind comments. We love to hear that families are having a great experience with us. There is always something for the little ones to do and each season brings different activities. We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our family recently stayed for three nights at the JPL over Spring Break. Check in was outstanding and is was certainly what you would expect at a Fairmont property. Our room was upgraded to a Jr. Suite with a lake view. The setting is truly amazing and of course is one of the main attractions you can experience during your stay. Rustic and beautiful.

Unfortunately, the rooms are very dated. Worn out and tired would be a good description. I know they have plans to refurbish soon but this has not merely snuck up on them and should have been addressed much sooner.

The service was mixed. Housekeeping was wonderful along with the the reception staff. Service in the restaurants was not what we have experienced in the past. Hopefully this gets sorted out for the high season.

The bottom line.....we love the setting and enjoyed our time and the activities. Some would be quick to say the scenery is worth the price of admission alone ! I know they have plans to refurbish the rooms and the service is normally 5 star so I am chalking this one up to an exception to the norm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jdander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi jdander, thanks for your feedback. We're so happy that you and your family were able to take advantage of Spring Break at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge - it's a great time of the year with many fun activities. We do apologize that the service was not what you've experienced in the past and hope that next time you're here we have the chance to "wow" you once again. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent three nights at JPL. Of course the location was great, the pool and spa were awesome and other than waiting 45 minutes for service in the lounge we had no issues with the service-everyone was very helpful! My issue with JPL is the condition of the rooms. We stayed in a junior lake view suite and those, like everything else at JPL, don't come cheap. Our room clearly hadn't been updated in decades. The carpet was worn out, the heavy dusty orange curtains should have been replaced a long, long time ago. The heater was ridiculously loud and came on every 15 minutes, the wireless is expensive if you're not a cub member yet it doesn't really work at all and the walls aren't very soundproof. All that, combined with the spiderweb in the corner, had me questioning how they can justify the high prices. When staying at a nearly 100 year old hotel in the Rockies I expect things to be a little rustic and that adds to the charm. The problem is that the issues I mentioned have nothing to do with the JPL being a old charming rustic hotel, they exist because they seem to have given up on maintaining the condition of the rooms in the 1970's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Sammy19 - thank you for your comments. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pool & spa and that you received great service while you were here. We are of course not happy to hear about the condition of your room. You're right - a heritage property should have a certain rustic charm to it, but the conditions you mention are not up to our standards. We continue to make improvements to our property, both inside and out, and we hope you are able to see some of these improvements the next time you're here. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing