We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

after years of driving through Jasper on route to the okanagan to visit family I finally got the opportunity to spend a weekend there and staying at this beautiful hotel was extremely enjoyable. I was there for the annual Library conference and what a perfect location for this convention. The rustic charm of the buildings and the amazing view from the dining hall make this a fantastic place to stay. Deer walking around and loons on the lake are a photographers dream with the setting of snow topped mountains. The food was good and plentiful. We enjoyed the pool/spa and shops in the bottom level. Staff seemed very good considering the large number they were serving. I look forward to spending time there again so I can explore more of the grounds and area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Corey H - we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we’ve enjoyed having the Library Conference here for over 25 years. There’s definitely no shortage of wildlife here so we’re happy you got to experience it all. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    860
    669
    461
    259
See reviews for
921
1,733
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a location!
It's not your usual glitzy inner city Fairmont, but then that would be out of place here. The rustic style of hotel is just right for the location. I'm glad we were not here in the summer high season. I can just imagine the crowds. Sunday and Monday nights in mid-winter meant almost nobody in the hotel so the staff had time to chat and give excellent service. We had to go into Jasper so a car was provided with a friendly driver who gave us a mini tour of the town. Low occupancy meant that not all facilities were available but that's understandable.

On the first night, our neighbours left their dog in the room while they were in the lodge. The poor thing was distressed and whined and barked. Staff were about to remove it when they returned. Leave your dog at home or in a kennel if it's not well trained.

$15 a day for internet can only be regarded as a ripoff these days. It's not a luxury anymore.

Room Tip: Lower priced rooms are away from the lake so if you want a view from your room you'll have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi GregSelf, We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is a unique property that definitely mimics it’s surrounding beauty and authenticity. If you are a Fairmont President’s Club member, you can receive complimentary internet access at all Fairmonts, signing up is free as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we hope that you will have an equally amazing stay. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern B.C.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited JPL last weekend. We’ve stayed at JPL many times (probably a dozen) before with our family, extended family and or friends. This time it was only my husband and I. We’ve always loved it at the resort as did our children and others we’ve enticed to visit. Our room was one of the lakeside suites with a fireplace. I think this type of room is my room of choice at the resort because of the beautiful bathrooms but my husband prefers the junior suite lakefront with the little fireplace in a small living room, they are just more quaint and fit the cabin motif a little better. It was very clean and well equipped. Because the weather was unseasonably warm we could walk to and from the lodge in comfort. The first thing we did was have a snack and the famous Mountain Caesar in the Emerald Lounge. The food was excellent. I’m not sure I love the changes made to the menu in the last couple years. It seems a little more limited than before and we asked and were unable to get our previous favorite, Westcoast Seafood Chowder. The fig brie and dips plate were very nice though. We had the breakfast buffet at Cavell’s both mornings and found it without flaw. Excellent Eggs Benedict and a huge selection of everything else you could want and with a beautiful view. The setting at the Lodge is so serene and relaxing. We barely left the resort. We’ve visited during all the seasons and although May and October are my favorite times to visit February is great too. It would be great to see the Lodges restaurants have a slightly more competitive and diverse menus. Although we did not visit Tent City it seems to be the only menu that has changed in this way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank North54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi North54, It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the comments. We have been making changes to our menu, so it’s always good feedback when we hear from our guests. We’re so glad you had a pleasant, relaxing time and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Next time, let us know you’re coming on Facebook /FairmontJasperParkLodge or Twitter @FairmontJPL so we can welcome you! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here with friends on the weekend and I was sorely disappointed with the property as it was far below the expectations other Fairmont properties have set. The check in was efficient and courteous and we checked into our rooms. Hubby and I had 410 and our freinds were in 118, a junior suite. The first thing we noticed was how dated the rooms were, and not in a charming, heritage-property sort of way. It really is time for a reno at this property, and it's not just the standard rooms that need attention as the junior suite looked much the same. The heated tile floors were nice, but the rooms were out of date and could have been quieter. Over the course of 2 nights I was woken by partiers returning to their room, a crying baby next door, and a heater that seemed to kick into overdrive around 4am.

For a late dinner on Friday night we popped into Tent City for a bite and a drink. It took 30+ minutes for the server to even bring over water which is simply unacceptable! We were actually perusing the menu from the lobby bar and about to leave when he finally came by to take our order. At a Fairmont property, this is unforgivable.

After a long day of skiing on Saturday, hubby and I decided to enjoy the hot pool. Sadly, it wasn't hot, but warm, and there were dead bugs floating in it. In February! Disgusted, we left and I mentioned the insect issue to the pool attendant who shrugged and advised that it didn't really matter as the pool was being closed 15 minutes later for unscheduled maintenance. Again, the lack of customer service was stunning.

Lastly, when we checked out on Sunday morning, after the buffet breakfast, there was a fraudulent charge on my invoice with a time stamp that coincided with our dinner at Olive in Jasper town. The clerk did remove the charge without a fuss, but the rest of my folio took a follow up call of over 20 minutes to sort out as it was presented so poorly. It was during this call that I again mentioned the issue of the bugs in the pool, and sadly, it still wasn't addressed.

Having stayed at the Banff Springs, Chateau Lake Louise, and the Palliser in the past, I am well aware of the standard that the Fairmont chain is meant to uphold. The Jasper Park Lodge simply misses the mark. For the service, it is not worth the premium the resort charges and I will be exploring alternative options when I return to Jasper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Nielsensmith, thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered - these are certainly not up to the high standards we strive to maintain. Your comments are valuable to us and we will follow up with our Food & Beverage and Recreation teams. We hope that next time you visit Jasper, we are able to welcome you back with attentive service and warm hospitality. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

stayed briefly for a meeting in jasper and this place "took my breath away". it may be rustic and outated but it definitely is a heritage property, a gem, old world charm! i loved the feel of wood and stone combined. expansive views of the mountain and the lake from the main lodge immediately welcome you to a uniquely serene world. staff were very friendly while maintaining professionalism and efficiency. they gave you just the right attention.... ubiquitous - there when needed but not in your face. they were very knowledgeable too of the products and services they offer and the area they are in making great recommendations. the pianist at the lobby was such a talent with 10,000 or so titles he could play. loved how he interacted with the guests and making sure that our requests were played. food indeed may be pricey, but hey quality doesnt come cheap. had here probably my best burger so far in canada. my lodge or suite was elegant....very comfortable bed and with luxurious amenities. loved the coffee maker specially. the only downside to my room was the anticlimactic toilet and bath as it didnt seem to complement the size and feel of the room. the heating kettle was a bit confusing as well. TV reception were intermittently good and bad. but, i wasnt here for Watching TV anyways. theres an awesome view outside my window. loved walking around too - it was easy despite the time of year as they had clean brick walking trails. i am sure that this place is a gem all year round. as such, i cant wait for the opportunity to see it during summer. with some refurb or restoration work, this grand dame can easily reclaim its grandeur.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank islandyuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello islandyuppie, thank you for your kind comments. The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is truly a unique vacation experience, and you’re right – it changes season to season. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again in the summer time! Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

You pay a five star price and don't get me wrong the views and staff are five star but it was just missing something. We arrived at Jasper onboard the Canadian and saw a number of other passengers being collected by a van fromJasper Park Lodge, by the time we collected our bags the van had gone. Not to worry into a taxi for the short ride to the lodge. Upon arrival only one reservations officer was working so we were the last in line to be checked in, only a 10 minute wait so no issues. Found our room, very high bed and comfortable chairs, the bed tended to want to enshroud my husband and I and we woke numerous times to disentangle ourselves..got us giggling at least. But too soft was the bed. Breakfast was very good, how many times have you just wanted toast and had to pay at least 19 dollars for the privilege well the fairmont has a separate menu so you can elect to just have toast or egg or porridge and at a fair price, so thank you. The bar area with the piano player is very comfortable and very relaxing. So why only a three star and not a four star, well mainly because of the room and check in time as well as those subtle extras that you get as a matter of course at all the other fairmont hotels. I will come back in summer I think just to see the difference.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank african_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you african_aussie for your comments. Looks like you came a long way to visit us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer and encourage you to contact us through our social media channels via Facebook/FairmontJasperPark Lodge or Twitter/@FairmontJPL to let us know when you're coming. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arranged a small wedding here in January during January on Jasper and I have to say Regine from the hotel did the most amazing job, nothing missed, everything so perfect without a flaw. The food was amazing and the service at the dinner 2nd to none. I hadn't been for year but the setting is so beautiful and frankly you are apaered in everyway. The people were so friendly. A great place for a family - you can even take your dog!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiekeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Debbiekeat. First off, congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. An anniversary retreat perhaps? Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing