We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good getaway, good food but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, good getaway, good food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I went away for a weekend getaway, we had a great time. The scenery can't be beat, our room was spacious and very comfortable bed. We had a fireplace and called in to get more firewood and kindling. The gentleman asked to "set up" our fire, I said sure, it didn't light... Not enough kindling. We ate in the Emerald Lounge as it was included in our package, the food was great, and a good atmosphere, service was wanting at some points. But the food was great and portions were ample. Brunch in the dining room the next day was very good as well. Only drawback was it was very expensive, we used points for the package but had to pay for booze. $38/jug of draft...Ouch

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wino4hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    860
    669
    461
    259
See reviews for
922
1,733
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful resort to drive into at night...beautiful lit path, colourful chairs placed around a large fire pit just waiting for marshmallows to be roasted. Our first night we ate dinner in the large open area in the lodge, food was expensive but fairly tasty. TV placement was terrible to catch the hockey game so we dined and dashed but the lobby is quite impressive.

Our room was quite disappointing. Bathroom door was in rough shape and wouldn't close without putting our shoulder to it. No wifi in the rooms and two double beds as they have limited Kings. Some improvements have been made to this resort but it appeared to be quite some time ago.

Pool area was fantastic, heated outdoor pool (93 degrees!) with both wet & dry saunas. Plenty of towels and my kids loved the option to borrow goggles. Skating rink and games room were also impressive.

Definitely would recommend this resort but not for longer stays, hopefully a Reno is in the works!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
CurlCouple - thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a lovely time with us and were able to take advantage of some of our activities & amenities - the outdoor heated pool and skating rink on Lake Mildred are perfect for families. We regret to hear that you room wasn't up to your expectations and do encourage you to contact us directly with your name and room # so we can fix the issue with the door. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the JPL just after the new year for three days of skiing and fun in the mountains. It is still an excellent lodge in my opinion. We were greeted by a quick check in and upgrade to a lakefront suite. (benefits of being a President's Club Platinum Member) Room was excellent, parking is a bit of a hassle but you can use the free valet service if you wish. Due to the snow covered and frozen grounds people just seemed to park anywhere they wanted.

Visited the lounge and restaurant the first night. Service was a little slow in the lounge but excellent in the restaurant.

Kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool as it was well used and cool swimming under the stars in the middle of winter. Be careful if you are venturing outside to watch the kids as it is very slippery on the deck, for obvious reasons.

Went skiing at Marmot basin while we were there, very nice ski hill about 20 minutes away from the lodge.

They have a great skating track and hockey rinks located near the entrance to the lodge with a large skating track and two hockey rinks. We were able to get a nice game of shinny with some Jasper locals who come out during the weekends to play. I overhead that they are awaiting delivery of a zamboni they recently purchased uses to take the place of the tractor that floods the track and rinks.

There is also a fire pit located by the skating track hut where families were roasting marshmallows and cooking hot dogs and sausage for lunch. (Would be a more reasonably lunch option for those wanted to save some $$)

Lakefront suite was nice, we have a wood fire every night as you are provided with dry wood, newspaper and matches. Room was big with two double beds, separate bedroom and living room. Bathroom could have been bigger but you are in a cabin in the mountains.

Overall a great trip, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you are an Amex platinum member, book the FHR rate as it includes breakfast daily and a dinner at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Stinger55 - What a great time of year to take advantage of all the winter activities. Our skating loop is just over 1km long and is a great way to spend an afternoon. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a great New Year's Eve here five years ago. Went back for 2012 and found a less enjoyable occasion at higher prices. Less choice in the buffet although the beef and lamb were very good. Less enjoyable time in the dining room because the band was playing in the room rather than outside this time, making conversation very difficult. Seemed like a less festive air in the main lodge building, too. Was disappointed with a summer trip here a while back. Now with the New Year's Eve party. Overall, a number of things to enjoy, a few to enjoy very much, very good staff, but a feeling of more profit being squeezed out of declining quality. Rooms cleaned very late in the afternoon, too. Maybe a non-holiday date would still have some appeal. Maybe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived at JPL after spending 20 hours on the train from Vancouver. I'd heard a few negative comments about this hotel, mainly when compared to it's bigger sister hotels in Lake Louise and Banff. Still, had an open mind and we eagerly awaited our arrival just prior to Christmas.
Every, and I mean every tree on the long, winding driveway into the property was decorated, the kids were "open mouthed" in awe. Greeted at the door by friendly staff, who ushered us inside to the comforting aromas of ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg. It's gorgeous. 6000 bricks of gingerbread ad been fashioned int a huge gingerbread house to walk through, post Santa letters inside and to simply marvel at. The huge fireplace here is incredible. Rooms here are a little on the older, smaller side, but still tastefully furnished and complete. Once shown a shortcut by staff, we were only 30 paces from hte back entrance of the main building, and oh so lucky to be spending pre Christmas there. Great food, excellent cocktail list, but the real gem here is the staff. They are not apologetic for working in an "older" establishment as alluded to by an earlier negative poster, they are simply well mannered, professional, accommodating and superb. One even ran to fetch ski pants for my son (who couldn't find his one morning at 8 am) so he was warm enough on the Maligne Ice Canyon Walk, another gem! Bravo JPL, cannot wait to return and sit by that fire again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0nieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my second and last stay at the Jasper Park Lodge. This property just isn't getting any upgrades. The service is slow in the restaurants, the lounge or the rooms. The staff is hit and miss some are good some are not. The food is ok but nothing special. The parking is horrible in the winter. The views are amazing but they are anywhere in the Rockies so stay somewhere else. I hate writing negative reviews but they deserve it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you 4travelers99 for your review. We're disappointed to hear that you weren't happy with your stay, and we hope we are able to welcome you back again and give you the high standard of service we strive for. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The facilities at this resort, after having stayed at Fairmont Banff Springs and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise are quite different from their 5 Star cousins. The lodges are all set apart from the main buildings which house all the services (restaurants, bars, reception, shops, etc). This involves having to walk to the main buildings over icy paths and in the bitter cold. The lodges themselves are less than 5 stars, very rustic and quite plain and reminded me of 1960s motels. The views over the lake are quite lovely and the service and food at the hotel are very, very good. It's a great resort, just don't expect the slick quality of 5 star resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello DandJS, thanks for your comments. The Mountain properites are all vastly different - from Banff's castle and Lake Louise's grand hotel to our 650+ acre resort lodge, each location has its own feel. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining and received the high level of service we strive to offer our guests. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing