We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel has lost its lustre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are fortunate to travel the world and in the last three or four years have stayed at the St. Regis Bora Bora, Intercontinental Bali, Intercontinental Tahiti, Park Tower Beunos Aires, Le Meridien Limassol,Cyprus and Hotel Grand Bretagne Athens. As an Albertan I am totally embarrassed by the fact that Fairmont continues to associate itself with this property. Given the fact that chains are contracted by property owners (in this case, the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System) to run specific resorts I am going to break this into two parts. The first dealing with Fairmont staff, the second with the property owners. We stayed at JPL from July 12 to July 15. This was our third visit to JPL in three years (company event). Five star location 2 star resort.

Overall, the staff working at JPL are hit and miss. The front end staff, the staff driving the courtesy carts to the rooms and the housekeeping staff are great. We found the first room assigned to us to be a little too close the golf club house for our liking. Teresa at the front desk did an outstanding job in getting us moved to room 427 without any problems. The guys driving the carts are good-natured and really seem to like their jobs. The ladies cleaning the rooms were fantastic as well. The restaurant staff was hit and miss. Daina served us on the patio the first day and did a great job. On the second day, however, we were served by another lady who totally dropped the ball. Although she made a point of telling people at another table how important it is to drink lots of water in the heat (it was 32 degrees celsius), our water glasses sat empty several times as she walked by with a pitcher of water. We ordered spaghetti and meat balls for our 7 year old son who like any child his age can be a picky eater. When we ordered we asked for the meat balls to be put on a side plate and for no sauce on the spaghetti. They got the side plate request correct, but there was a somewhat spicy sauce on the spaghetti and he didn't eat it. To top it off, we ordered him a small ice cream sundae with chocolate sauce. He specifically said to the server "I don't want any cherries on it, just sauce." When it was brought to the table it not only had a cherry on it, but five raspberries and another fruit on it. For a Fairmont resort there is simply no excuse for this - none whatsover.

Another example of poor service. We had an evening group dinner. Before we left for the dinner we called Royal Service and asked that ice be brought to the room before our return (there are no ice machines handy in the resort). I specifically stated that we would be out for the evening, but there is a cooler right inside the room and leave the ice bag in the cooler please and thank you. When we returned to the room we found a bag of water outside the room by the front door. Really??? How can this type of miscommunication happen????

One other note about the staff. The roads running throughout the resort are used for many purposes - walking, driving vehicles to get to parking areas, carts to drop guests off, and resort service vehicles. While the majority of staff drive with caution and respect. It is appalling to watch the speed with which a few of the staff drive. There is no need for it. Have some respect.

Now, for the part of the review dealing with the property owners. This place is a dump. The Best Western in Canmore far outrates this place. Our room this year, 427, has sliding mirrored closet doors which fall off the tracks everytime you move them. I had the same problem in another room last year. The bathroom door opens on its own unless firmly closed. These are problems that can be fixed.

What can't be fixed is the fact that this is a property which really shows its age. I know that other reviewers call it rustic. I call it an embarrassment to Alberta. The rooms are small, concrete is quite damaged (see picture). The owners can't even be bothered to install keycard systems for locks, instead using a key system. I can't think of another other major hotel that I have seen keys being used for in years.

I am sure this hotel was a gem in the 1940s and 1950s. However, we are in 2012, and this hotel needs some serious work to be called anything close to a 4 star resort.

I do see that management from the hotel reads these reviews on a regular basis. I have give my room number and dates I stayed at the hotel. You can't fix the property issues, but if you would like to discuss the appalling service issues please give me a call at your convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback - it is extremely important to us and we will be sure to contact you ASAP to discuss your challenges. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,270 - 3,276 of 4,141 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beautiful location, but not up to the Fairmont standards. Our room was small, very rustic and the floor was not level (the bed slopped away from the front door. We rearranged the furniture a bit to make it bearable. The wait staff were not trained very well and the tables outside at the Emerald lounge were always dirty and the rarely cleaned the placemats after others had used them. There was also construction going on (a new roof for one of the cabins), which caused noise pollution as you were trying to enjoy the beautiful outdoors. In my opinion, the Fairmont needs to invest so money into this place or remove their name from the property.

On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable and the linens first rate. I also had a very enjoyable massage and my husband and I enjoyed canoeing on the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somewhereintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

As part of our Canada trip to the Rockis and before boarding the Rocky Mountaineer train to Vancouver. We had been on a bus from several days before arriving at this oasis of tranquility in the Rockies. Position across the river from the tiny town of Jasper, you enter 450 acres of peace and quiet. Situated next to a beautiful lake, across from majestic mountais, and with the best golf in Canada, even though black bears were reported on the course!! Reported to be one of the best 10 courses in the world, and I can vouch for that....

Our room was in the main building, but most rooms were in log cabins throuout the property. Golf buggies were at your disposal if you didn't want to walk to the main buildin with its excellent restaurants and lounges to die for!

Service was impeccable as was the housekeeping! Two nights of R&R recharged our batteries for the next stage of our trip, The Rocky Mountaineer.

Room Tip: The star of the Rockies hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just spent three wonderful days at this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are beautiful, but the property is tired. It is also in need of air-conditioning. Yes, a 4-star hotel that does not have a/c, and on three nights when the temps hit 90 degrees and higher, the fans in the room did not provide relief.

We would probably stay there again, but not in mid-July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golferbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thanks for reviewing emmoj, and for recommending the Fairmont experience. We are flattered to be named your "all time favourite location". We'll see you again soon! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Absolutely stunning. Every time I get away, this is my all time favourite location to come to. It is away from the busy city, set out of the town site of Jasper. Perfect place for some R&R set on Lac Beauvert, wildlife surrounds and an award winning golf course. Picturesque is the only way to describe the beauty here; in any climate.
Staff are consistent and I've met many who have returned after leaving for a few years. The suites are comfortable providing lots of space for a longer stay, great tub, large sitting room. For short stays, the Fairmont room provides just enough space; enjoy the outdoors and have a great sleep. Food and beverage is consistent upon my many dining experiences at the property. I highly recommend this property above other Fairmont experiences.

Room Tip: Request away from main lodge for quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is as unique as it is gorgeous. Tucked away in the tiny community of Jasper, you will be lacking none of the ammenities of a big city hotel, spa, and full-service resort. Whether you would prefer playing 18 impressive holes of golf, enjoying a couple's massge, or simply basquing in the sun enjoying a bottle of wine and the view of Lac Beauvert - - this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Make no mistake, this is a stunning property, truly a gem in the portfolio of the Fairmont collection. The setting is wonderful -- as good, scenic, peaceful, and well sited as Lake Louise, Banff, or better. However, as someone else has commented, not all Fairmont properties (or management) are crated equal.

The Bad:

This is a very tired physical property where it would seem the goal is to put the bare minimum in to keep it going and extract as much money as possible from a captive audience -- bus tours, geriatric tours, and large pre arranged groups.

I was with guests who stayed in one of the basic but still quite costly rooms two tiers away from the lake near the laundry facility. The exterior of the building was old and dirty, bird feces were adherent in thick layers to the walls and walkways to the room and had clearly been accumulating uncleaned for a while. The room size, bedding, and amenities are what would be expected of a Fairmont -- very nice. The infrastructure and maintenance thereof horrible -- sinks backed up requiring maintenance, wall electric sockets loose, poorly secured and dangerously neglected.

The Good and Excellent:

The staff although young and of college age for the most part made up for their lack of training with enthusiasm and a genuine willingness to be helpful and this was a big plus.

Food including room service was excellent and prompt and of good fresh quality.

As noted previously the grounds are superlative, with options for hiking, mountain biking, canoing/kyaking, golfing, or just leisurely sitting by the lakeside reading a book or meditating.

I would strongly recommend, at this juncture, staying at one of the smaller, better maintained lodges or cabins in the area at a significant savings and using those savings to spend a day enjoying the grounds of Jasper Park Lodge, rent a canoe or kyak, have a meal, take photos and see the sights and wildlife in the Jasper area. Properties all have good periods and bad -- infrastructure wise based on care about cleanliness (bird feces) and poor condition of rooms (sewage and electric maintenance) this is not such a good time for JPL and significantly detracts from a guests experience especially when being charged so much $$$$$ and having a customer service expectation of a Fairmont experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room key to check the room befor accepting -- there is a very large variability from very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your review docclayton. We appreciate your comments about our dedicated staff, dining experiences and many onsite activities available to our guests. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced and assure you that we are committed to making ongoing investments into the property. This year our investment included the rebuilding of room exterior masonry & resurfacing of patio's, landscaping, exterior painting of guest rooms and new roofing. Improvements will continue throughout 2012 and 2013 and we are excited to share the results with our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: 1 Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $193 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alberta's magnificent Jasper National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the iconic Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge resort invites you to experience our Great Canadian Lodge, surrounded by nature and abundant wildlife. Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is a 700 acre year-round luxury mountain resort which wraps around the shores of pristine Lac Beauvert and Canada's #1 Golf Resort Course. The resort's charming village of cedar chalets and Luxury Signature Cabins, all connected by picturesque paths, offer guests unique access to explore the natural environment surrounding the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing