We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very helpfull”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So very helpfull”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We won a trip up to Jasper for two nights and stayed here for both night. The hotel is a little old but everything was clean and had all that we required.
The staff were friendly and willing to offer their opinions on places of interests in and around town.
Conveniently located in the middle of town next to food and drink spots.

While riding at Mammut Basin I suffered a concussion and was hospitalised. As part of this we had to re-arrange our pre booked bus and delay it for a day. This was no problem during the day however I was finally released from hospital late that night and we decided to go back to our original bus times. Unfortunately the bus company Sundog was already closed. My fiancée left phone messages and e-mails in the hopes that we would be back on the 7:00am bus. Once we returned to the hotel we talked to the manager. He was very friendly and helpful. He happened to be friends with the owner of Sundog and phoned his personal mobile as well as leaving him a Facebook message. In the end when we called Sundog at 6:00am in the morning they answered straight away by asking if it was my partner calling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salatious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    80
    57
    103
See reviews for
52
146
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room was crowded for two people. I guess we were a bit spoiled from our previous hotel in Harvie Heights - Banff Boundary Lodge is so much bigger and cheaper than this place. On a positive note, the staff were frienldy. It is close to restaurants and other attractions in Jasper.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed one night at this tiny hotel in Jasper National Park just a few days ago and were very happy with it! Jasper is a tightly packed town and this hotel fits neatly into one of the main streets. My traveling daughter says that European charm means "small rooms"; indeed, the room was small but clean and the beds very comfortable. We had two twin beds, all that was left when we called, and it was just fine. The shower was adequate and there was a coffee maker in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant right next door that we tried and many more within walking distance. This little place will make you feel like a local right away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walter1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found our room to be comfortable and clean with all the necessities. It was compact but for the two of us, that was fine! It was conveniently located right in the town centre with a nice pub and restaurant right next door. This hotel was cheaper than others in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think this was one of my worst hotel experiences. Room was small and cramped, double bed was 2 singles pushed together, fridge rumbled in the middle of the night had to wrestle it out of the unit to unplug it. Could not open curtains as the window looks directly into another room, no nets. Rips in carpet held together with duct tape. Sink in the bedroom and toilet to small to move in, bathroom dirty, lobby smelt of meat. noise from corridor and neighbouring rooms. Light bulb in room not working. Truly dreadful hotel that smacks of a hotel that gets busy as it is in a popular destination so doesn't need to make any effort. Complained in the morning, staff member told me 'he thought the hotel was OK and didn't see the problem" - didn't care less, couldn't even manage an apology. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbynuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTORIAJASPER, Owner at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The bathrooms are small because they were built into a room that originally did not have a bathroom. The sink is outside the toilet/shower unit to make efficient use of space and so a guest can use the sink while another is in the toilet or shower.
The two single beds connected is a common European concept and they are joined by a zipper under the pillow-top, they cost $3800 each and are high quality beds. They are configured like this so we can offer two single beds or a king in the same room.
The rooms have small guest fridges that shudder briefly when the compressor cuts off. The hall carpet is scheduled for replacement and the worn seams are taped for safety.
The lobby definitely does not smell like meat! May have been something from the restaurant but momentary and should not have been a permanent accusation.
It is an old historical hotel and it is not unusual to have some noise from the halls but the rooms are reasonably well insulated.
The Astoria is one of the least expensive hotels in Jasper and priced appropriately in respect to the standard of accommodation of other hotels in the area. We are proud of the quality of our housekeeping and the rooms are not dirty!
George Andrew - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Almere, Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Jasper, close to shops, bars and restaurant. Parking is opposite the road, but you can park for loading/unloading for about 15 minutes in front of the hotel. The rooms are small and outdates as is the whole hotel. But its location and price compensate for this. Staff is friendly. A restaurant is associated with the hotel which also serves breakfast. Close to all local shops and restaurants. The hotel is noisy and very warm when we stayed here. You have a small airco unit in your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I agree with many others mentioned here... the hotel is old. But I guess we really paid for the location! There are many nice bakeries and restaurants nearby. The tourist centre is right next to the hotel. We had a 2 twin beds room but I hoped they would give me a queen bed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.8 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing