We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Jasper people are cranky”
Review of Wapiti Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wapiti Campground
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

For being such a huge camping destination you would think the campsites would at least have SOME power. Got really tiring trying to find sites. Easy to get into the first come first served PARKING LOT - but it is really truly just that, an expensive cement parking lot. Bathrooms are kept nice and clean but I never had hot water personally. Ultimately would go back just to be in jasper, but not because Wapiti is anything special

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zubegarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just spent a month camping from Alaska to Alberta. BC has got tthe nicest provincial campgrounds bar none. Then theYukon is next, then Alberta. Alaska well...... class to it's own. But al in all I'm dissapointed in this campground.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank retiredguy1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great campground close to Downtown Jasper. We stayed here with family for a few days and loved it. Lots of wildlife on campground and close to the river. Unlimited firewood but permit required. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just stayed here on labor day weekend. No complaints. A solidly good campsite. Facilities are great but at same time you still feel like you're in the woods. Park rangers friendly. I guess only feedback is you're not 'up close' to the mountains or water.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We love this campground compared to Whistlers across the road. This one is private and has more trees. We always book online and even though you can't pick sites we end up with nice sites each time. I have stayed in the W loop each time we come and twice now I've received river side without asking. The sites along the outer edge are more private than the sites in the middle. We have a 30 foot trailer so we don't fit in the middle. Once we had a problem getting our trailer into our site so we went to the desk and they just swapped us to another site. And I never show up earlier than 4 pm. The showers are clean and well kept and I love that they are free compared to coin operated ones in provincial parks. Also the free fire wood is a huge bonus. You have to buy a fire permit each day ($8) BUT it is much much cheaper than the campgrounds that charge for firewood. You could spend $30 and up a day buying firewood at other campgrounds. Powered sites you must book well in advance but otherside you can usually get in short notice. I will continue to visit this campground many more times. Also, they only enforce the 11pm rule if your noisy. We had a fire until 1 am every night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Wapiti campground August 9th and10th. We are used to US national park campgrounds which don't have hot water or showers so were pleasantly surprised at clean hot showers The pre assigned site was very nice. The sites were private and wooded. The gal at check in was very friendly. The campground was very quiet. We also liked the close proximity to Jasper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnp4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We camp at Wapiti every summer, and it is always great. The staff are friendly and helpful. The campground is quiet and each site is separated by trees. The washrooms and showers are cleaned daily. Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
8.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
32.9 mi away
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bear Hill Lodge
Bear Hill Lodge
#1 of 21 in Jasper
476 reviews
8 mi away
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wapiti Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Campground

Address: 3.8 Km From Jasper on Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shore of the Athabasca River, Wapiti campground has nice private sites for tenting and electrical hook up spots for RVs. However, what makes Wapiti unique is that it operates year-round, offering 362 sites in the summer, and 93 winter camping spots with amenities like hot showers, electricity and fire rings. Wapiti is a great campsite for family outings at any time of year. It’s close to town for supply runs or rainy day movies, and in the winter campers often get first crack at the slopes and cross country trails (because to really appreciate a campfire, you have to use it to thaw your ski boots!) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wapiti Campground Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing