We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of B&B on Balsam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B on Balsam
Ranked #12 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this B&B back in September and we both have mixed feelings about the place. It was a nice, clean room in a very convenient location, but we felt somewhat unwelcome. We did not see the owners once during our stay, and when on the last evening we knocked on the door a few times to say 'Hello' and pay for our stay, no one answered, even though there were voices clearly heard on the other side of the door (we put the money through the door in one of the envelopes provided). Another thing was the no-more-than-10-minutes-shower 'rule'. We can understand that some people might take long in the showers and waste a lot of water, but it was the first hotel/ b&b where we actually had to go to the bathroom with a timer making sure we do not spend longer than 10 minutes washing ourselves. Not sure if anyone ever checks it, but we tend to adhere to all terms & conditions so did not want to risk it.

To sum up, we would recommend the place to someone on the budget, as the place is definitely worth the money, but if you are looking for a bit of 'attention' and helpful tips from the hosts, you might want to look elsewhere as there is no guarantee you will get a chance to meet them.

We only give rooms and sleep quality 3 stars because of the fact that we could not help feeling unwelcome, which affected the enjoyment of our stay here. Taking that aside, it would have been a 4 star rating for both as it provided all a busy and active traveller needs - clean room and comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anazeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I cannot recommend this place highly enough for a couple backpacking on a budget. What a beautiful family - not only was Lori so welcoming and friendly but her two boys too. I injured my knee on a hike whilst in Jasper and Dan & Lori's son was kind enough to lend me his flexi-grip and hiking pole. Such a nice gesture!

Added to that, the bed was super comfortable, it is in an IDEAL location and out of all the rested accommodations/B & B's in the area was the cheapest we found. There is such a community feel here and if you find you want to extend your stay but they can't find room for you, Lori will be on hand to help you find a friend that does. As others have said, 2 rooms here, only 1 of which is a double bed - so if you are a couple try to book the Queen room early enough. Don't hesitate, great stay!

Thanks Lori & family and if we are ever lucky enough to visit Jasper again we will be sure to look you up! Mark & Hayley

Room Tip: Double and twin - book early for double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_SID_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mother doesn't have Internet. This is her review in her own words:

Lori was a very pleasant host overall. She picked us up from the train station and was very informative about things to see in the area. The main disappointment was breakfast - you either had to eat outside in the garden or in your room. It was pretty cool the mornings we were there and we didn't fancy eating in our room. Therefore, we ended up eating elsewhere. Lori recommended the Best Western as an alternative, and that was a fantastic suggestion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writeonOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have spent two nights in this B&B recently during our visit to the Jasper National Park, loved it. It is located in a very quite street. Jasper is really small town, so it is very convenient to walk to everywhere. The host Lori is very nice and thoughtful. The bed is comfortable. Best of all, you can't beat the price, it is probably the cheapest you can find in a touristy town like Jasper. Highly recommend. There are two rooms, one with a queen bed, and the other with two twin beds. So if you are a couple, try to book early the queen bed one.

Breakfast is good, with fruits, cake and cheerios. It is not bad, but if you want to have a hot breakfast, there are plenty of choices of $6.95 breakfast special choices on the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikkuOrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at on our travels and after this stayed at another 2 because the experience was that good. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs that share a bathroom but as we were the only ones there at the time we didn't need to share. We received breakfast in bed every morning how often can you say that? Lori was fantastic and helped with any travelling advice she could in regards to what is nice and where to look for potential bears (unfortunately a little out of season for us). The location is perfect you don't have to drive to town at all as its only 3 blocks away, which was great when going for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
246 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days in this very comfortable B & B. There are two rooms available, one with a queen bed and one with two twins. The rooms share a bathroom, but there was nobody in the other room when we checked in, so we had the whole place to ourselves. As others have said here the rooms are quite clean and comfortable and we slept like babies on the bed. It was rainy one afternoon and we spent the afternoon lazing around, reading, watching TV and taking naps. Very mellow. Lori and her husband, Dan, are really nice and they will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's definitely a very nice place for travelers to rest. I really appreciate the room offered very much. It is very neat and I can see how considerate the host is as there are a lot of things in the room for travelers to use. It is also very convenient as well. There is a grocery store nearby and it is very close to the shops as well. The host is very friendly as well. When I encounter different questions, the host is more than happy to offer her help. I hope I can visit this place again in near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B on Balsam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B on Balsam

Property: B&B on Balsam
Address: 311 Balsam Ave, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 2nd storey renovated rooms with private entrance, private outside patio and gorgeous mountain views! Located on a very quiet street only 2 blocks to downtown. Park the car in front of our house and its 5 minute walk to everything Jasper has to offer! Queen bed in one room and 1 Double pullout sofa bed in the sitting room. The sitting room has a table with chairs, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishes & utensils, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Large private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing