We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location. Great Choice.”
Review of B&B on Balsam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B on Balsam
Ranked #12 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Swindon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Location. Great Choice.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This B&B is ideally located in the heart of Jasper; it’s just a few minutes (easy) walk from the Greyhound Station and VIA Rail train station. Far enough away to be away from any noise, but close enough to be accessible. There are many easy, beautiful hiking trails which are easily accessible from this B&B.

Personally, I found the B&B to be a home from home – modern, clean and kept warm. The room provided wasn’t very large – but it was more than spacious enough I found – personally I use rooms as a base camp and a place to sleep more than anything else.

The mattress and bedding was very comfortable, the shower a dream.
The owners were friendly.

Don’t get me wrong – this isn’t the Ritz, but it is an excellent choice of B&B at an affordable price

Room Tip: They have a "double" and "twin" room - request what you'd prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyOffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September as a great base to do some walking in Jasper National Park.

Lori and family were lovely hosts providing a great room and tasty breakfast.

The room was clean and was big enough for us to spend some time in relaxing after a day walking before going for dinner - contrary to some rather cramped rooms we experienced.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_UK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and got to Jasper pretty lake due to amazing scenes is on the way from Edmonton.

Lori was our host and she was really friendly and helped us with our luggage up the set of stairs and lent us cutleries for our stay.

The room was spotless and so very homely with cute and charming designs. The bathroom was shared but it was very clean and the power shower was great. They have a great little front patio which you can sit and enjoy, but we had so many things to do in 2 days that we didn't get to use it.

The location is amazing and so close to everything, Lori provides the option with or without breakfast, we chose the latter and she recommended a bakery just 5 minutes walk away off the main street, the bakery-Bears Paw has great sandwiches and cakes, we went there both days and loved all the different bakery products they had. Chocolate and Raspberyy scone and red velvet cake was top Of our list.

Jasper itself is so beautiful with so many things and activities to do, it's quieter than Banff, which we like as we prefer less touristy areas. We went to Maligne lake near sunset and it was almost deserted and had a picnic watching the sunset!

Overall we loved our stay with Lori who was a superb and kind host, we would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend it to others who want to stay.

Oh and the price is very very good in the Jasper and Banff area!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kungfusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Amazingly cheap, superb breakfast, comfortable beds and great location, 5 stars no problems!!! Not much else to say but i've been told i need to do more that 200 characters, how many is that now? not enough apparantly so i'll say it again, stay here if there is free room to do so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotpants1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here in the twin room for a week in June 2012 and I was in two minds as to how to describe this B&B.
On the one hand, Lori is an excellent hostess, very helpful and accomodating (as long as you remember to take off your shoes at the entrance). As we stayed a whole week, she even did our laundry for us at the end of the week with no charge! She brought us breakfast to our room or to the garden every morning (depending on the weather) and generally looked after us well.
However, the place has certain objective limitations. For example, there was very little closet space in the room, which was a problem when staying for a full week. One of the reasons we decided to stay a week was to use the place as a base from which we would go on various trips every day instead of constantly moving town and living out of a suitcase, but not being able to find enough room for clothes in the room was a bit disappointing.
The microwave in the room did not work very well. Some of the buttons worked and some didn't and we had difficulty using it. On one occasion when we decided to warm up a frozen meal, the microwave just overheated and turned off in the middle.
On the days we had breakfast in the garden, that was fine, and breakfast was quite good, but on the days we had in our room, there was just nowhere to eat. There is one small table that is not big enough for 2 people to eat at comfortably. Lori would set up a folding tray on a stand next to the table for the food, but even so, it was not a good arrangement.
As there was a coffe maker and microwave in the room we used cups and dishes in our own time but had nowhere to wash them as we were requested to leave them for Lori who would wash them the next day, and not to wash them ourselves in the bathroom. That meant that dirty dishes with food remains from meals we prepared ourselves stayed in our room for a whole day, although we would happily have washed them ourselves.
Now you understand my dilemma.
I will give Lori good marks for effort but unfortunately cannot give a 5 star rating, It is still a reasonable place in a good area,close to hiking trails and also to the centre of town, and I am sure it will provide an ample solution for some people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric_B_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, rented both rooms (queen in one and 2 singles in the other) Both have tv's and mini fridges along with a microwave.. Place is super clean, and very convient location, minutes from the main street. Lori and Dan were great hosts, and we would go there again without hesitation, great alternative to a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheikyerbooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

B & B on Balsam was a blessing a great place to stay friendly and warm. I stayed there twice and would gladly stay there again. Lori and family are most accomadating and helpful. Great location in town and trails basically at the door. I could not have been happier and it was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Filia Inn
Filia Inn
#12 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B on Balsam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B on Balsam

Property: B&B on Balsam
Address: 311 Balsam Ave, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 2nd storey renovated rooms with private entrance, private outside patio and gorgeous mountain views! Located on a very quiet street only 2 blocks to downtown. Park the car in front of our house and its 5 minute walk to everything Jasper has to offer! Queen bed in one room and 1 Double pullout sofa bed in the sitting room. The sitting room has a table with chairs, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishes & utensils, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Large private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing