We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Pine Bungalows and hopefully won't be our last.

Once again it was peaceful and quiet. The views were as beautiful as we remembered. It's only a few minutes drive away from Jasper, but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere. The cabins are arranged at angles to each other so it doesn't look or feel like a holiday park and you all have some privacy. The beds were comfy. It is basic, but everything you actually need is provided (kettle, fridge, cooker etc.), it's just the non-essential things like TVs and wi-fi that aren't in the cabins. Even as a couple of dedicated gadget-freaks, it was nice to have a break from technology and de-stress. We didn't have the need to use the fire as we were lucky enough to experience record high temperatures whilst we were there, but I'm sure it would have been lovely and cozy if needed.

As we were in a cabin at the end (no. 1), It was great to sit at the picnic table with our backs to the rest of the site and imagine that we were entirely on our own.

The wildlife was amazing. As well as the squirrel who entertained us spending his days gathering his nuts from all his hiding places into his winter hibernation spot, (which seemed to be under the back of the cabin), and even came onto the picnic table, we had quite a few elk wandering by. The first time was a mother and calf who ambled past as I was sat reading a book at the picnic table. The second time was our last morning when I opened the door to a few females and calves walking past either side of our cabin and a bull elk swimming across the river towards us. He then proceeded to walk right past our cabin too - unforgettable!

The only slight disappointment was that we'd specifically asked for Cabin 1 as we knew from our previous visit that it looked out over both the river and the wooded area at the side of the cabin, but unfortunately, since our last visit, the big window looking out over the wooded area had been blocked out with pine boarding, as had the small window at the kitchen area.This only seems to have been done to a few of the other cabins, but it's a shame as it stops you seeing the wonderful views from inside and made the cabin a bit dark so we sometimes had to put a light on during the day.

All in all, it was a wonderful few days and we would definitely want to stay here again if we're ever back in the area. Our plans changed after our initial booking and we wanted to stay an extra night, but they were booked up, which speaks for itself! Apparently it is up for sale but hopefully the new owners won't change too much.

Room Tip: Personally I'd choose one of the riverside cabins every time. Cabin 1 was great, even with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bletherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    148
    48
    26
    25
See reviews for
103
179
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pine bungalows has nice, well built cabins. Our family of 4 stayed in a cozy cabin with 2 rooms. It is amazing how many little things are taken care of in the small cabin. The river was 1 minute walk from our cabin.

They need to add more washer and dryers to their laundry facility. It seemed like there were many people waiting for it when we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 349er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Quaint vintage cabins with stone work chimneys situated along the river is the perfect back to basic experience of Jasper's National Park. Cabins are tidy, nice laid back atmosphere with friendly helpful staff. A beautiful start to your mountain morning is a coffee on one of the many benches scattered along the riverside. A beautiful afternoon spent exploring the parks matched with an evening campfire under a blanket stars. We are definitely coming back and would obviously highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megs9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in a cozy cabin with a small living room, a bedroom and a bathroom. It had two queen beds: one at the living room and another at the bedroom. The bathroom was modern and clean, and it even had a heated floor, which may be good in the fall/winter time.

My kids loved the placed and we went for a walk in the dusk to see animals from the other side of the river that surrounds the bungalow area. This river by itself is worth to see. They give us a brochure with information about the bungalow complex, trails and tips what to do, even on rainy days. Very thoughtful.

During the night, you can enjoy the complete darkness of the region or build a fire in a barbecue area (Wood provided by the front desk). I wouldn’t recommend do any barbecue there though.

I would definitely come back to this complex if I can afford to do it again 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pine Bungalows is located on the edge of the Athabasca River. It's just across the river from Jasper Park Lodge from the shore and shares the $1million view of Mt Edith Cavell.

There are both cabins for rent and motel type rooms. Most recently we stayed in a motel room as all the cabins were booked. The room is basic (bed, night stands, mini fridge, coffee pot, sink, toilet, bath/shower, small closet, fold-down table and 2 chairs) and very clean. The bed was comfortable and we had a solid night's sleep (PRO TIP: if you keep your windows open in September, you might be able to hear the elk bugling because they are rutting). The small patio is a great place to sit and enjoy morning coffee or evening wine and just watch the elk wander the grounds and listen to the near by river.

Pine Bungalows is a great place to stay if you want a low-tech place to get away from things. There is no TV and the clock radios are totally optional. You're better off going for a walk along the river or through the forest, or even across the highway into Jasper townsite to get an ice cream cone (be prepared to be gone for a while). There is wifi but it can be temperamental.

The family that runs Pine Bungalows are known for their ability to remember guests who come back year after year and they do everything they can to get you the cabin you want when you book. They provided us with a few extra things in our room this year when we asked for it at the front desk: in particular, a kettle so we could use our french press coffee maker.

Pine Bungalows is a great place to stay if you want a step up from a tent but to still get an experience that is uniquely outdoorsy and clearly the Canadian Rockies. The owner is passionate about preserving the land and the wildlife and is really helpful if you have questions. The family has owned the property for about 50 years (it's a 99 year lease from the federal government) so the know every square inch of the property and are very knowledgable about Jasper's history and about the best places to hike in Jasper National Park.

I recommend asking for one of the old cabins along the river (we stayed in Cabin 11 for our wedding night in 2006). There's even a wood fire place in it!

Room Tip: Cabins 1-15 are the original cabins along the river and give you the most historic experience. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndiP893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a mature American couple without kids that travels widely and stays in above average accomodations. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Pine Bungalows gets an average rating from me because the actual accomodations really need to be refurbished (if you pay that kind of money) but the customer service was terrific. Bed is important to me and this was a cheap feeling mattress, with pilled old blankets and a polyester bedspread that you might find in Motel 6. The radiator heating worked but was hard to control so we were up and down all night trying to get it right. When I pulled the curtains closed, the curtain rod came wildly loose. The curtain didn't keep out the light from outside the cabin and was a one sheet curtain. I used Booking.com and paid quite a bit for a 2 bedroom I didn't need (my fault). I advise to call the hotel directly. Very nice that it is a stand alone cabin away from town. Lots of hot water! And privacy. You definately hear the train coming through.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask about hotel style rooms vs. cablins (by the river are best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headachedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are travelling across the western side of Canada and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

We had been staying in the 'hotel' section of the resort, which was lovely. Free wifi, air con, fridge, balcony. Everything you could ask for. We had excellent views of the Elk that were milling about the resort too. All was going well until my partner took ill one evening, we therefore made our way down to reception to ask for some help in getting to the hospital.

The compassion the gentleman showed to us has restored my faith in humanity. He not only organised a taxi for transport (and he pushed hard to get one as quick as possible), but also paid for the fare as a gesture of his good will. We were planned to depart the next day and he even made arrangements just in case I had to stay on in Jasper.

What a great guy. The best service you could ever ask for.

We're from the UK and there's nothing worse than taking ill in an unfamiliar place, but its reassuring to know that when the chips are down, people like the team at Pine Bungalows are there to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
119.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
119.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
120.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
119.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
119.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing