We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Bungalows is an old property”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
GreenLeadersGold level
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pine Bungalows is an old property”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a mature American couple without kids that travels widely and stays in above average accomodations. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Pine Bungalows gets an average rating from me because the actual accomodations really need to be refurbished (if you pay that kind of money) but the customer service was terrific. Bed is important to me and this was a cheap feeling mattress, with pilled old blankets and a polyester bedspread that you might find in Motel 6. The radiator heating worked but was hard to control so we were up and down all night trying to get it right. When I pulled the curtains closed, the curtain rod came wildly loose. The curtain didn't keep out the light from outside the cabin and was a one sheet curtain. I used Booking.com and paid quite a bit for a 2 bedroom I didn't need (my fault). I advise to call the hotel directly. Very nice that it is a stand alone cabin away from town. Lots of hot water! And privacy. You definately hear the train coming through.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask about hotel style rooms vs. cablins (by the river are best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headachedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    148
    48
    26
    25
See reviews for
103
179
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are travelling across the western side of Canada and this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

We had been staying in the 'hotel' section of the resort, which was lovely. Free wifi, air con, fridge, balcony. Everything you could ask for. We had excellent views of the Elk that were milling about the resort too. All was going well until my partner took ill one evening, we therefore made our way down to reception to ask for some help in getting to the hospital.

The compassion the gentleman showed to us has restored my faith in humanity. He not only organised a taxi for transport (and he pushed hard to get one as quick as possible), but also paid for the fare as a gesture of his good will. We were planned to depart the next day and he even made arrangements just in case I had to stay on in Jasper.

What a great guy. The best service you could ever ask for.

We're from the UK and there's nothing worse than taking ill in an unfamiliar place, but its reassuring to know that when the chips are down, people like the team at Pine Bungalows are there to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is beautiful and quiet. Cabins are rustic as expected, kitchen minimally but adequately equipped. In cabin 33, orange armchairs must have been purchased in the 70's as you sank into them - very uncomfortable. Fireplace mantel, "phone" table, shelf in bedroom and all windowsills were covered with a thick dust. Linens and towels were clean.

We were there to celebrate my parter's parents 50th anniversary. We had professional photos taken the first day and the photographer texted us to say she dropped them at the office. When my partner went to pick the USB drive up, the woman in the office was very rude, said no one had dropped off anything and did nothing to solve the problem. It turns out the owner had dropped them off in her parents' cabin. It was the rudeness and lack of concern by the office staff that was most troubling. Other problems (missing cast iron fry pan that turned out to be IN the oven), were dealt with pleasantly and promptly. But after the rude and dusmissive dealing with the woman in the office (late afternoon/early evening on August 31), we chose to avoid her and any further unpleasantness.

I have the impression the cabins are of variable quality and cleanliness so if I stayed here again it would only be after making sure to get one with newer furniture and ask them to dust thoroughly before I put anything down. Overall, the grounds are a 5, the cabins a 2.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here one night in a superior bungalow. We found the experience enjoyable. Staff were friendly though busy! Cabin was more than adequate and a good size for us as a couple with 1 yo son. It was a beautiful location only a short walk from the gorgeous river. We enjoyed the wilderness talk re local fauna given next to the river on Thursday nights. We didn't have a kitchenette in our style of cabin - It would have been nice to have a kettle and 2 plates/bowls/cutlery to make the stay more comfortable. Bed was comfortable and large. We would recommend this place to those wishing for a quiet retreat from the tourists in Jasper central.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is amazing. Quiet, serene and completely natural. Surrounded by trees and natural plants and bushes so you really feel the true outdoors. Cabins are large. No TVs or telephones but they do have free wifi in the main common room if you need it. We had a 2 bedroom with a complete kitchen, dining table and extra large window to view the lovely mountains. The Athabasca river runs along the property. Units are well kept and comfortable. Owners are very friendly and housekeeping was friendly and prompt. The light on our stove was burned out when we arrived and when we told them they were back in changing it out within 10 minutes.
Each cabin has a private picnic table outside, a deck with some chairs and a small table as well. Also a private fire pit which we enjoyed each night. You can buy wood for cheap at the office.
We will be back!!! LOVE THIS PLACE!
It's just outside the Jasper entrance so you could bike, drive or even walk into the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debora B, Front Office Manager at Pine Bungalows, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments - that is what keeps us going for the next customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything Peter D has said about this place is true. The owner was very rude, I am the bus driver who was mentioned in this review, and after reading the management response, I can say that we did check in at the office before attempting to park in the designated area. I took a tour group to the Pine Bungalows in 2012, and the owner was rude to me then. This man is not fit to run a holiday complex, or any establishment that serves the paying public.
The bungalows are very nice, but I would advise people to avoid this place, simply because of this idiot bad tempered owner who does not have a clue how to treat his paying guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debora B, Front Office Manager at Pine Bungalows, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
From the owner/manager, Michal Wasuita, of Pine Bungalows:
It is unfortunate that this situation has led to petty comments such as " I would advise people to avoid this place, simply because of this idiot bad tempered owner who does not have a clue how to treat his paying guests ". The main issue is that Pine Bungalows has limited parking and turn around space for large buses. In this situation the driver did not check in with the front desk regarding parking space and he drove into a small area where 40 people were sitting outside and they experienced the bus noise and fumes. SO concern for paying guests was paramount.
To make personal comments on Trip Advisor of this nature is of no value to future customers.
Pine Bungalows is a family based business focusing on historical integrity, family memories and a quiet getaway in a natural environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After seeing the bad reviews, I felt that I had to write about this. The place is so beautiful, quiet and peaceful! Our cabin was terrific... spotlessly clean, with a fireplace in one of the bedrooms. Bathroom was immaculate too... the towels so white and clean and with complimentary shower gel and shampoo in the bath. Don't expect 5 star services in such a place. Those who want that should stay at the Fairmont. However those who want some peace and quiet, still with all comforts, don't hesitate to choose Pine Bungalows. A BBQ in the evening will feel like dining at the best restaurant ever! Our photos should help you decide! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
119.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
119.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
120.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
119.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
119.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing