We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the bus driver, see Peter D's review.”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything Peter D has said about this place is true. The owner was very rude, I am the bus driver who was mentioned in this review, and after reading the management response, I can say that we did check in at the office before attempting to park in the designated area. I took a tour group to the Pine Bungalows in 2012, and the owner was rude to me then. This man is not fit to run a holiday complex, or any establishment that serves the paying public.
The bungalows are very nice, but I would advise people to avoid this place, simply because of this idiot bad tempered owner who does not have a clue how to treat his paying guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debora B, Front Office Manager at Pine Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

From the owner/manager, Michal Wasuita, of Pine Bungalows:
It is unfortunate that this situation has led to petty comments such as " I would advise people to avoid this place, simply because of this idiot bad tempered owner who does not have a clue how to treat his paying guests ". The main issue is that Pine Bungalows has limited parking and turn around space for large buses. In this situation the driver did not check in with the front desk regarding parking space and he drove into a small area where 40 people were sitting outside and they experienced the bus noise and fumes. SO concern for paying guests was paramount.
To make personal comments on Trip Advisor of this nature is of no value to future customers.
Pine Bungalows is a family based business focusing on historical integrity, family memories and a quiet getaway in a natural environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

After seeing the bad reviews, I felt that I had to write about this. The place is so beautiful, quiet and peaceful! Our cabin was terrific... spotlessly clean, with a fireplace in one of the bedrooms. Bathroom was immaculate too... the towels so white and clean and with complimentary shower gel and shampoo in the bath. Don't expect 5 star services in such a place. Those who want that should stay at the Fairmont. However those who want some peace and quiet, still with all comforts, don't hesitate to choose Pine Bungalows. A BBQ in the evening will feel like dining at the best restaurant ever! Our photos should help you decide! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When you start with nature mere steps from your door and vistas that rival anything you could see anywhere, your vacation is meant to be great .

Knowing that holidays are meant to be relaxing there really was no better place to unwind from the realities of life than a cabin on the Athabasca River. With the advantages of no television, no phone, and of course no work, Pine Bungalows is the perfect spot to unwind.

The riverfront cabins are perfect for two. You never have to leave the site if you are prepared to look after your own meals and activities. A short walk connects you to local trails and the town should you feel the need to shop or have a great meal

Unobtrusive and polite staff and fellow travelers who appreciate the quieter side of the parks make Pine Bungalows a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nuckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for the definitive Canadian National Park "Cabin in the woods" experience, Pine Bungalows is perfect for you. I stayed in Cabin 23 along the Athabasca River. Very peaceful, you can take a stroll along the river. Another great bonus is a complimentary live-talk by a professional interpreter at 8pm on the shores of the river. During my stay she talked about bears and other wildlife 9very well done). There is a good chance you will see wildlife nearby.

The owners are imbued with a passionate commitment to the environment and have won several awards for their efforts (this includes low-flow toilets, natural areas around the cabins, and no use of chemicals).

I would absolutely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the Athabasca River - ask for one of the cabins -1 through 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripcanuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and enjoyed the peace and quite, no tv, no electronics, not even an alarm clock. I did miss having an iron in the room as I usually throw everything in my bag and then iron it when I get to the hotel, lesson learned should I stay here again. A great place to bring your families to see what they would do with no tv, only online in in the cabin, but the you're to to have any loud music playing anyway...they even tell you to manually lock your doors in your vehicle rather than using your key fob which will honk the horn to let you know that your doors are locked.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Bcnllb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Pine Bungalows for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our cabin had views of the river and we found it offered a nice relaxing setting. Cabin was older, but it had everything we needed to prepare meals so that was very handy. Location was reasonable as it is only a 20-25 min walk to town. Overall we were happy with our cabin and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some river front cabins are in better ( more private) locations including cabins 1-3. We were in cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had trouble getting to jasper due to a highway delay. We called around 10pm, and they told us they would hold the reservation or give us a refund, whatever was easiest for us. We opted to try and get thru on the highway, and arrived just before 1am, they just gave us the key and we'd sort the details out later. It wasn't til checkout that we found out our late arrival had been discounted, which was a nice surprise. The cabins are a little rustic, but that's what we were going for. Bed was very comfy. Everything worked good, loved being near the river, and fairly private and secluded considering how many cabins are in there. There is a path with benches all along the river, never saw anyone down there, so we thought it was awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing