We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds -- close to town but ensconced in nature!”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds -- close to town but ensconced in nature!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed for a week, after being here several years ago and feeling eager to come back. Both stays have been in the small cabins along the river. We love them! They're historic, well maintained, close to town, but feel like you're out in the wilderness. The cabins are close together but well positioned so that you still have privacy.

We both just love the feeling of being here. You open the door, and the river is right there, with benches dotted along the banks so you can sit & watch the sunset or the herd of elk across the way. The cabin is small but completely sufficient with a bed, fireplace, kitchenette, and washroom with tub & shower combo. Outside each of the cabins is a picnic table and a couple of plastic chairs. Staff come by daily to see if you need new towels or additional coffee/tea.

I particularly love spending a day here on the banks of the river, when everybody else has gone off adventuring somewhere. So utterly peaceful and quiet. We didn't notice any sounds from the highway at all -- just the rushing of the river when we sat near it. And the elk! There was a herd in residence... on various occasions we saw them hanging around just outside the cabins, wandering the road out to the highway, wading in the river, or sunbathing on its banks.

I think it's the best of both worlds -- you're only a few minutes drive from town but sleeping in a little nature sanctuary. We also really appreciate the attentiveness to environmental issues. Will definitely be back every time we return to Jasper!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the cabins right along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    158
    55
    26
    28
See reviews for
115
194
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We discovered Pine Bungalows by chance in 2004 and have returned 5 times with our family. As our children are now adults, some married with children of their own, we try to make this our annual family get together. Pine Bungalows is the perfect place for us to gather for a week of hiking and biking. We love the rustic feel of the cabins and the natural environment with the river nearby and wildlife, and enjoy the lack of television, radio, internet and telephones. This year we had 2 Heritage cabins side by side to house 8 adults and 2 small children.

The rates are very reasonable being in a National Park. We did research pricing of other cabin facilities and there is no way our family could enjoy a week together at a better price than Pine Bungalows.

The cabins are fairly clean and the kitchen is fully supplied with the basic cooking amenities, however we bring our own portable barbeque to do most of our cooking outside. There are picnic tables and raised fire-pits to enjoy in the evening which is a bonus as other places we looked into did not have them. My only complaints would be the mattresses are not overly comfortable, especially the pull out hide-a-bed, which needs to be replaced and a more thorough cleaning under furniture and in the corners. We did notice some upgrades from the last time we were there.

The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Light housekeeping is done daily and fresh linen and towels are replaced if needed. If we required extra bedding and/or towels, the staff delivered them to our cabin without hesitation. Although pets are not allowed (understandable with the wildlife), the owner has a dog, Zach, who wanders throughout the cabins. Zach is a very friendly and quiet dog who we always look forward to seeing. Our grandson was able to ride his bike nearby without the worry of racing traffic, although very close supervision is needed when going down to the river.

If you are seeking a place to enjoy the fresh mountain air, a river rushing by, squirrels running up the trees and elk roaming nearby, this place is for you!
With Jasper being across the highway about 1 km, it is an easy bike ride or walk.

We are looking forward to our stay next year!

Room Tip: We enjoy the Heritage cabins although they are older. Have not stayed in the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a great find for us after spending every other night of our vacation in Alberta in hotel rooms. We stayed in a wonderful little cabin perfect for two right on the river and were treated to elk sightings for hours, even saw a few swimming across the river. a beautiful location surrounded by trees, it felt very secluded even though a short drive will get you to town where you can purchase food and beverages. There is no internet or tv. Not to worry, you wont need it.

Room Tip: not all rooms come with kitchens, so ask if that is important. Get a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyesiamtrish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was our first time at Pine Bungalows. We stayed here for three nights in June of 2011. The first night, the heater made alot of noise (kept coming on and off) and at about 4:00 am we heard something making a lot of noise in the walls between the two bedrooms. Hence, we did not get a good sleep. I went to the office in the morning and they gave me some rodent noise makers to plug into the wall in the bedroom. (There are no plug ins in the bedrooms). So, one more trip to the office - they agreed to give us an ungraded newer cabin from the rustic two bedroom at the same rate. The newer cabin was much more comfortable, roomier and the beds very comfortable. The staff is accommodating and friendly. I would recommend Pine Bungalows and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our family of 6 stayed in a cabin at Pine Bungalows for three nights. The location of the property was ideal, less than a mile from "downtown" Jasper, situated on the Athabasca River. It's a very pretty location with lots of trees and elk wandering around. The cabins themselves are quaint and very basic.

To sleep 6, we had a room with a double bed (billed as a queen but it was quite small), a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a pull-out sofa in the main room. The beds in the bedrooms were not the most comfortable but they were adequate. The sofa bed, however, was lumpy, small and slanted. So 4 of us were fairly comfortable. If you have 6 in your party, I would suggest getting 2 cabins instead of squeezing into one.

Although small, the cabins were very clean and outfitted for basic needs: dishes, dish soap, hand soap (in the bathroom), shower soap (with a very good shower), towels and linens. No microwave but there was a fridge, a stove/oven combo, a toaster and a coffee maker.

Management was very responsive when we requested extra pillows. Free internet access is available at the office, and there is a very inexpensive self-serve laundry. Each cabin had its own picnic table and rudimentary grill. It was very rustic but also very picturesque. I would not hesitate to stay here again if only the beds were more comfortable. But this place would be hard to beat at the price we paid: $190/night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The location is great in a park on the riverside. The elks are walking around your lodge in the morning. The old bungalowas are a bit small and need a lot of reservation. In can be cold at night and the bungalows don't have dubble glazing. THe bathroom is not so big. The staff is very freindly and you can do your internet in the office. But nowerdaysI like to Skype out of the bungalow and talk to my children and grandchildren. We don't miss the TV that much.Fot what it offers its quite expensive C$ 150 excl. tax.

Room Tip: On the waterfront, great vieuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariellahdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our extended family booked 3 cabins a couple weeks ago as a 'reunion' of sorts. We usually camp (tents and tent trailer), but this time we thought it would be easier and nicer to stay in a cabin -- shelter for the rain and access to an indoor kitchen. We had cabin 76. It was rustic but clean. The bed felt like you were rolling towards the middle, but that is the only major complaint. The cabins closer to the river with the fireplace inside are more impressive, but by what we were told you could only book them a minimum of three nights, and we only had time for two. There are no fire pits for having a fire outside your cabin, but when we asked the front desk, they guided us to the pits that are shared by all the cabins. There are square metal boxes on legs that are 'BBQs' and we actually did try them out after going into town to buy briquets. Jasper is such a beautiful place, and we had a great time at Pine Bungalows. A bit expensive for what you get in the cabins not on the river, and so next time I would go and spend 3 nights and get the even better cabins - that would definitely be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photobug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing