We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover in Jasper”
Review of Fitzhugh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fitzhugh House
Ranked #24 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed there for one night towards the end of June. The basement room was spotless, very comfortable and well equipped with basic kitchen equipment for those wanting a longer stay.
Strictly self catering - with no meals available, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance for evening meals or breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shieldslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Good location, nice looking property, basement room tastefully decorated. But is it a motel room or a family home?
On arrival we were met by a lovely young lady who showed us the room and took our payment. She advised that the owners were away from home for the night but left her phone number should we need anything.
The basement room has a small window which could be opened but there was no air conditioning in the room so it was fortunate the weather outside was cool. Would not like to spend too long in the room as it could become slightly claustrophobic. In the cupboard there is a folding metal picnic table and folding wooden chairs. Bed was comfy, however it would have been nice to have had a comfy chair to sit on instead of having to sit on the bed or the uncomfortable folding chair.
We tried very hard to like this house but unfortunately a few aspects let it down. Having stayed 2 nights our room was not cleaned, bed not made, bins not emptied and tea/coffee not replenished. Also the entrance down to the basement was not clean as something had been spilled on the steps and there was vegetation which had blown down by the wind. Not a good first impression! The owners, who we presumed returned the next day as we could hear them upstairs, did not come near us and the whole experience was very impersonal.
This is a Bed without Breakfast which we knew beforehand but was our one bad choice of accommodation in our trip to Canada. It was expensive for the lack of service we received. We are sorry to say we could not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LMBL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sure the room is clean and modern but its a room in a basement with no natural light. The quarter window looks into a well so you can't tell if its day or night. Being a bed and breakfast, you get no breakfast. It you do get a toaster and coffee machine. Next time, I'll rent a room with a view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times when we make our trips to Jasper in September and February. Clean, comfy, and oh, those showers! Patti is a joy, but I'm still irked with her for putting in bug screen tvs! (Even if it means I don't miss Criminal Minds!) Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here about 3-4 times over the past couple years and this is our first choice everytime! The house and suites are beautiful and clean, modern, and quiet. The residents (owners) that live there are friendly and welcoming and accommodating.
I have nothing bad to say about The Fitzhugh House.
I would highly reccommend staying here when you can! We have stayed here in the summer and winter months and its always cozy and warm.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both suites and both are equally excellent. Whichever is available, you will be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was a bit concerned to arrive outside a private house. We got a warm welcome but not until 5 pm
It is a new building and has 2 rooms in the basement. It is all done beautifully and a little kitchen area with microwave and fridge. Spacious and with own exit away from owners who
Live upstairs. Easy walk into town and is in a quiet street. Only downside you could hear the plumbing from upstairs in the morning. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fitzhugh for two nights. The room was beautifully furnished and had excellent amenities. Our bathroom had a fab walk in shower. There was a fridge, microwave, toaster, crockery, etc. There is a supermarket five minutes walk away and a further five minutes takes you to the centre of Jasper with a large selection of restaurants and bars.
It was an excellent base for exploring Jasper National Park.

Our only slight niggle was it was a little noisy, the extractor fan in bathroom ran constantly however as long as we kept the bathroom door closed it wasn't.t too noticeable. When the guests in the neighbouring room had a shower the noise of the water running did wake us. I am assuming their shower was the other side of the wall to our bedroom.

However none of this distracted from our stay and we would recommend the Fitzhugh to anyone heading for Jasper

Room Tip: Ask for the room nearest the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
748 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
0.9 mi away
Celtic Haven
Celtic Haven
#11 of 57 in Jasper
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bear Hill Lodge
Bear Hill Lodge
#1 of 21 in Jasper
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzhugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzhugh House

Address: 119 Patricia St., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range: $106 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home run tourist accommodation located in the basement of the home with private access to outside and private bath. Clean well appointed rooms on par with hotels at a fraction of the cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fitzhugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing