We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Jasper Hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seldom In Guest House
Ranked #4 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Jasper Hosts!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Seldom In at the end of August and have nothing but good memories from our gracious hosts! Doug and Sherill have lived in Jasper for decades and have expert knowledge of the local trails, wildlife, and First Nations stories. Doug took us on a hike to look for bears! The day we left we even had live entertainment with Doug's guitar skills!
The rooms are comfortable, wi-fi access, very clean and quiet. Seldom In is in a great location, close to town but also the hiking trails up to Pyramid Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
70
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nites in the middle of Sept. 2012. We had the greatest weather when we were there and that always helps. The hosts are very freindly and offer great advise on where to eat and sites to see. One of the best parts of our trip was recommended by Sherrill when she sent us to Moose Lake. We walked around the lake on the small and hidden trail and at the end we were rewarded with a moose eating seaweed out of the lake. Canadian Rockies are a great trip to make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNoffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This proved to be a great choice for my wife and I on our recent trip to Jasper. Doug obviously enjoys making you welcome to his house, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless. I can only confirm what other reviewers write. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Doug and Sherill are the genuine article - warm, kind people who just sense intuitively what it is you want from your trip. Whether it's a good quality coffee to start the day, tips on seeing the wildlife or the best places to eat they are ready and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are clean and stylish and access to their wonderful home with an eclectic mix of visitors makes for an interesting and stimulating experience. There are no other choices in Jasper if you want to stay in comfort at a reasonable price. It's not a corporate hotel chain and you may need to accommodate proximity of other guests but I'd strongly recommend staying here to friends and family above the dubious attractions of other more commercial enterprises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and we had a good time. Sherill is such a nice host, we really enjoyed our stay there - a clean and friendly place. Since Jasper is not that big there is not such as a bad or a good place. In Jasper you find everything you need (from smaller supermarkets to shops to laundry to pubs) and there area around Jasper is just great. Make sure you drive the road from Jasper (to Banff) to the icefields - amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoergLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of August and are so glad we did. Doug and Sherrill are wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave. Their rooms are great and we really enjoyed our time getting to visit with them. They both work for Parks Canada and go out of their way to give you advice on hikes, locations to visit, wildlife, restaurants, etc. Doug set us up with maps and an itinerary for the remainder of the day as soon as we walked in. And Sherrill sat with us in the living room at night helping us make plans for each day. They have a few guestrooms and you will likely meet some other interesting guests during your stay. The kitchen is available for use and they have have plenty of fridge space. Also, the location is superb as you can walk to the local bakery and you are just a couple blocks away from a trail that rises above the town. It's good for a walk or even a run (ask Sherrill about this). I spotted a bear and a large elk on the trail just minutes from the house. If you stay here you have in-house 'tour-guides' who are more familiar with the area than any information booth you can visit. We left the Seldom Inn wishing we would have spent even more time in Jasper and with new friends in Doug and Sherrill.

Room Tip: There is one room with a private bathroom. Those without a bathroom tend to be a little larger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mile429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. Sherril and Doug are fantastic owners. We suggest this B&B for the price, the quality of the rooms and the hospitality. We had a double room with shared bathroom but this was not a problem: the shared bathroom is very clean (the only problem is the "traffic" but it can be easily solved talking with the other guests!). For the breakfast/dinner a room with microwave owen is available. Caffee is always available. We used this room for breakfast and dinner buying something at the market/bakery: you cannot have great meals but anyway you can avoid to go in a restaurant and save some money!
Actually the dining room, the living room etc. are shared with the owners: staying here means staying in a family and after three days it was difficult for us leaving this "new family".
Probably the best place we stayed during our three weeks trip in Canada!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinosaurjr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seldom In Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seldom In Guest House

Property: Seldom In Guest House
Address: 123 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing