We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hospitality in a lovely town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine House
Ranked #8 of 58 Jasper B&B and Inns
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality in a lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I spent 2 nights in late June at Karen's lovely B&B with my husband and teenage son during a Rockies driving trip from Calgary through to Vancouver. From the time of our booking Karen couldn't do enough for us. Being from Australia and knowing little about the area, her tips on the best places to visit on the drive up from Banff/Lake Louise to Jasper were helpful and spot on. The room itself is a spacious self-contained unit (microwave, toaster and coffee maker in the kitchen) situated below the main house and has it's own private entrance. The garden is lovely and the area is a quiet residential street. Parking on the street was right at the gate so easy access to bring in those heavy bags. The breakfast....what can I say? The fresh (and I mean fresh) home-baked breads every day were a real treat and there was a lovely basket of the most amazing fresh summer fruits, all beautifully ripe and ready for eating. Homemade yoghurt, REAL coffee and the most amazing preserves made sure we did not want for anything. It's an easy drive to the centre of Jasper or, if you wanted, not that far to walk. We even saw a bull elk just around the corner, so watch out for the wildlife! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation away from the touristy main centre of town but within easy reach of everything. Thanks Karen, hope to see you again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotosbyLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just spent 3 nights in July at Columbine House. The owner, Karen is very friendly and detailed. You can find all information in the room. B&B room is spacy. You have a lot space to move around. The breakfast is simply, but fresh. Bread and yogurt are freshly home made. All different kind of fresh fruits were there for you to consume. The location is very convenient and easy to find.

We definitely will stay there in case we will visit Jasper in future

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank susan888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natanya
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I found Columbine House on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. It was as welcoming and charming as it was shown to be. The house is in a quiet residential street, surrounded by a lovely garden. The center of Jasper is a minute away in the car and a few comfortable minutes walk on foot. The sitting space and the bathroom were both roomy, the bed comfortable and everything fresh and clean. Karen was a an excellent hostess, with great suggestions, maps, brochures and lots of help! Unfortunately we had to shorten our planned stay from 3 to two nights and Karen was more than understanding, gracious and generous. We couldn't have wanted (or found) a better place to stay in Jasper!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiraNatanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

As did previous reviewers, we did our research prior to travelling to Jasper and were most certainly delighted with the results. Columbine House offers a perfect place to stay in an extremely well appointed and comfortable environment. The house is in a quiet street, but still within walking distance of the centre of town. Karen is the perfect host, offering invaluable advice as required and offering wonderful goodies for breakfast. We had yummy home made yoghurts, preserves, and bread, fresh orange juice, granola, and lots of milk. A perfect start to any day. Contact with Karen was ahieved via email, and the booking process was smooth and efficient. There is no point in repeating what other people have said about the comfort and contents, suffice to say Columbine House offers just about everything you will need in the way of accommodation (and more) for a great stay in Jasper. Karen even collected us from the station, which was a huge bonus! Being visitors from overseas, it was an added attraction for us that we could pay our deposit by credit card, a facility not generally offered by accommodation providers in Jasper. We would totally recommend Columbine House to fellow travellers, you won't find much better - and thank you Karen it was wonderful!

Room Tip: There is only one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvillecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Prior to travelling to Jasper we read all the reviews and chose Columbine house. Once again - the "system" works perfectly!
Everything said about this lovely accomodation is bang on. Karen was a gracious hostess, friendly, helpful and accomodating, without being intrusive. The B&B is well located on a quiet street - although in fairness, Jasper is pretty compact, so most places are fairly central. The "room" is actually a fully self contained apartment - bedroom, sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom - all compact but extremely well appointed. The bed was very comfy, there were lots of books and brochures describing the surrounding area and its flora and fauna, even a CD player with a pile of CDs of local music. To round it off, the apartment has its own private entrance - so it really feels like coming home after a day's visiting the magnificent Jasper park.
Karen provided breakfast supplies that were over and above anything we could possibly finish in a breakfast! One HAS to note her fantastic home-made bread, with generous slices hot from the oven....yummy!!
All in all, a lovely, clean and convenient place for a couple (like us) or even a small family with one or two youngsters. Highly recommended!

.....oh, and we saw loads of bears and moose!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

An excellent choice for a few nights in Jasper. Karen actually collected us at the railway station, and showed us a little bit of downtown Jasper to orientate ourselves as we were hiring a car the next day, She also gave us recommendations on several restaurants which we found to be very good. The appartment is ideally situated at garden level and totally private, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The love which Karen has for her home town and surrounding area is evident in her vast knowledge of all the best things to do even for a few days in Jasper. The legendary breakfasts and house keeping go way beyond normal expectations, and I feel very fortunate to have been able to stay in Columbine House. Good luck Karen and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Good location, friendly host, breakfast nice and spacious accommodation for a Jasper sojourn. Stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine House

Property: Columbine House
Address: 1118 Patricia Street | PO Box 2607, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At Home in the Canadian Rockies"... A private, self-contained & spacious bed/sitting room with private entry, en-suite bathroom with shower, equipped kitchenette. Sleeps four guests, on a king-size bed with quality bedding & down duvet; a queen-size sofa-bed for two more. The room is spacious for two (approx. 550 Sqft/50 sq m) or ideal for a family of three or four. Recommended for kids 6 yrs. And over. WiFi, satellite TV, DVD/VCR & videos, IPOD/mp3 dock, hiking & nature books. Kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffeemaker, etc. In-room self-serve breakfast provided - cereal & milk, juice, yogurt, bread, butter & jam, fresh-ground coffee, tea. Easy Access - level entry (no stairs), a short walk to street parking. Enjoy mountain vistas & relax on your sunny rock-garden patio. Quiet residential neighbourhood. Knowledgeable host is happy to answer itinerary questions. Laundry service available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing