We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Jasper”
Review of Columbine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine House
Ranked #9 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Jasper”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Prior to travelling to Jasper we read all the reviews and chose Columbine house. Once again - the "system" works perfectly!
Everything said about this lovely accomodation is bang on. Karen was a gracious hostess, friendly, helpful and accomodating, without being intrusive. The B&B is well located on a quiet street - although in fairness, Jasper is pretty compact, so most places are fairly central. The "room" is actually a fully self contained apartment - bedroom, sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom - all compact but extremely well appointed. The bed was very comfy, there were lots of books and brochures describing the surrounding area and its flora and fauna, even a CD player with a pile of CDs of local music. To round it off, the apartment has its own private entrance - so it really feels like coming home after a day's visiting the magnificent Jasper park.
Karen provided breakfast supplies that were over and above anything we could possibly finish in a breakfast! One HAS to note her fantastic home-made bread, with generous slices hot from the oven....yummy!!
All in all, a lovely, clean and convenient place for a couple (like us) or even a small family with one or two youngsters. Highly recommended!

.....oh, and we saw loads of bears and moose!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

An excellent choice for a few nights in Jasper. Karen actually collected us at the railway station, and showed us a little bit of downtown Jasper to orientate ourselves as we were hiring a car the next day, She also gave us recommendations on several restaurants which we found to be very good. The appartment is ideally situated at garden level and totally private, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The love which Karen has for her home town and surrounding area is evident in her vast knowledge of all the best things to do even for a few days in Jasper. The legendary breakfasts and house keeping go way beyond normal expectations, and I feel very fortunate to have been able to stay in Columbine House. Good luck Karen and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Good location, friendly host, breakfast nice and spacious accommodation for a Jasper sojourn. Stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Columbine House is a great place to stay in Jasper. Close enough to the town centre but far enough away to be peaceful. Karen is an excellent hostess, full of ideas of what to do, especially if you are hiking. There is also a lot of information in the accommodation by way of books, leaflets and videos. The accommodation is clean and spacious and we enjoyed having the outside area to relax in after a day out. The food left each day for breakfast is good, with a selection of fruit, cereal, Karen's home made bread and yoghurt. as we were half way through a three week trip Karen's offer to do our laundry was also very welcome. Overall an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This spacious basement apartment has its own entrance at ground level, close to on-street parking, and no stairs to navigate. It was too chilly for us to enjoy eating outdoors in the garden, but we thoroughly relished Karen's daily bread, yogurt, and other breakfast amenities provided in the mini-kitchen. In addition to an extensive library of books and videos about Jasper and the surrounding area, Karen is a fount of knowledge and answered all our questions, both before and during our visit. You'll have a most pleasant stay at Columbine House!

Room Tip: You'll be the ONLY guests in this very private accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Columbine House is a great little B&B in a nice quiet location in Jasper. We stayed for 4 nights and it provided us with an excellent self contained base to explore Jasper and surrounds. Plenty of space, clean and tidy, very good bathroom, kitchenette and lounge area as well as a comfortable bed. Continental breakfast in the room with fresh juice, fruit, yogurt, ground coffee and fresh home made bread everyday. Karen is very helpful and even provides a laundry service which was a tremendous help as we had been traveling for several weeks when we reached Jasper. High speed WIFI was also very handy. Heaps to see and do around Jasper and our host, Karen, provided us with info and links before we arrived. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This B&B ticks all the boxes. It is in a quiet residential area, about 15 min walk from the town centre. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well appointed, and the kitchenette was well equipped. A highlight was the home made bread and jams that Karen (the owner) provided each morning. We had the basement room (maybe this is the only room?) which has its own entrance and a pretty garden out front where we enjoyed our morning coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ussherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine House

Property: Columbine House
Address: 1118 Patricia Street | PO Box 2607, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At Home in the Canadian Rockies"... A private, self-contained & spacious bed/sitting room with private entry, en-suite bathroom with shower, equipped kitchenette. Sleeps four guests, on a king-size bed with quality bedding & down duvet; a queen-size sofa-bed for two more. The room is spacious for two (approx. 550 Sqft/50 sq m) or ideal for a family of three or four. Recommended for kids 6 yrs. And over. WiFi, satellite TV, DVD/VCR & videos, IPOD/mp3 dock, hiking & nature books. Kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffeemaker, etc. In-room self-serve breakfast provided - cereal & milk, juice, yogurt, bread, butter & jam, fresh-ground coffee, tea. Easy Access - level entry (no stairs), a short walk to street parking. Enjoy mountain vistas & relax on your sunny rock-garden patio. Quiet residential neighbourhood. Knowledgeable host is happy to answer itinerary questions. Laundry service available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing