We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Service -> atmosphere dated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassios Italian Restaurant

Cassios Italian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Centrally located across the street from Jasper's train station. Open for breakfast [summer months) from 7 am to 10:30 am and daily for dinner (year round) from 5 pm. Soft colours welcome you to enjoy Jasper's only real Italian food, made from old family recepies using local products where available. A small but select wine list offering many by the glass.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service -> atmosphere dated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We (7) went for dinner on a Saturday evening and had no issue getting a last minute reservation. The restaurant is right downtown in a great location. It is dated, think 80's decor and family verses upscale or fine dining. That aside the service was good, efficient and attentive. The food was excellent, I had pasta which was perfect, others had steak and fish which were cooked properly, hot and extremely tasty - kudos to the kitchen. We passed on desert but overall we would go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    179
    75
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
282 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

It took a while to get water, and then trying to get a refill wasn't easy. Service was ok, but not great. Food also just ok, not great. If you want to split an entree, they charge $6, even though we were ordering an appetizer. Waitress said if I bring the appetizer as your meal we won't charge the split fee, which seemed strange to us, since we would have liked the appetizer first. Prices were kind of high for what you got. We got chicken over pasta and there was a very little amount of chicken in the dish, mostly just the pasta which is cheaper. They really try to push you to buy wine, which was expensive also. It was an ok meal, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnp1941, Owner at Cassios Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
It baffles me why one would come into an Italian restaurant and order water. In fact any restaurant not just an Italian restaurant. If a staff person does not get right to your table with a free glass of water, as we do not charge for water unless you order bottled water, is it really a major incident that you have to write and complain about it. It's FREE to you. but it is not free to us to supply it to you as we have to pay for water and also pay for the cleaning of the glasses when you are done.
With regards to our chicken portions we serve a full 5 oz breast with nothing added. It is pure chicken.
For our wine prices being high, we are competitive for what we have to pay for wine and yes we do push our wines, that is why we are in business.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Michael Cassio, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Zinfandel, bruchetta trio, bison burger and a nice looking restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here for bison burger and their zinfandel. Saw bruchetta trio, ordered also.
Their manager, I assume, brough the wrong wine for me. She switch it back to my Zinfandel swiftly. But, not before I took a picture.
The Zinfandel is much better than the Kozore's is serving as this is dryer as the ones from Kelowna.
Complimentary bread with balsamic vinaigrette are great.
The bruchetta trio is the problem of this meal. The trio consist of : bruchetta( grape tomatoes, parsley and garlic) ; antipasto( sweet tomatoe sauce with french bean and olive that taste like from some brand of pre-made open-and-serve type) ; and tapenade( made by grinding up three different types of canned and salted olives).
The fresh bruchetta is great because grape tomatoe is much sweeter than roma. The antipasto I don't like so much because it's from a jar. The tapenade I can not stand because they didn't drain the brim water before grinding up in the food processor hence it is extra salty. The worst is actually the toast they serve with the trio. Dry as bone. I need to soak in the bruchetta juice to soft them up before consuming. They might as well give me the complimentary bread with the trio so I can throw the dry baguette slices into the fire.
The bison burger came is a proper burger. I can't really taste the bison as it is not as gamy as elk might be which is probably why there a slice of goat cheese on the top of the bison patty for extra flavour. Not bad at all.
One complain, the server didn't ask what kind of side I wanted. I got French fries as result.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mememdeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff was very friendly but seemed to be overrun be the large amount of customers. This resulted in a less attentive attitude: we never received any water, while all the other tables did. The food was well portioned, but the seasoning could have been better. I ordered the cannelloni, which was covered in plenty of mozzarella. It missed some spicy flavours to contrast the cheese. Pricing was decent for the food, but not for the wine although they have a broad selection of wines.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maarten92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnp1941, Manager at Cassios Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
we do not serve water unless asked by the customer as we are doing our part to conserve energy as the majority of water is usually thrown out and wasted. That is one reason we sell bottled water as customers then realize that there is a cost to water..
We do not over spice our foods to ensure that the custonmer gets the taste of the item ordered and not some over spiced sauce.
Hope you will return so we cam make it up to you .
Michael Cassio, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice setting and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant staff who were very attentive. We sat at a window table but the tables at the back are more intimate and in a nice setting. Food was good nicely presented and fairly priced, hot and tasty. Recommend the the pasta dishes. Beware quite large portions.wine selection good and reasonably priced too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassios Italian Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Cassios Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing