We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mistake staying - camping next time”
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Jasper
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in other HI hostels all with excellent 4-6 people dorm, but this Jasper one is a complete let down! Don't be fooled, it is sub-standard! They have official brochure saying $22/night, but upon arrival, its $28/night, which they point out the tiny 'from' price. Ok, my mistake for not reading more careful. Regardless, it is still cheaper than other HI, so we proceed with our booking.

Then we were told laundry has broken down 'right now', when I voiced my disappointment, they say facilities are not guaranteed? Really??? I then found out from local laundry that their laundry has broken down for a month already. Not acceptable for not fixing their equipment in peak season, especially because they are 5-10 mins drive from town, most backpackers don't have a car.

We then found out their 'collective dorm' is 30+ beds in a common room. It is NOT partitioned as other reviewers suggested. It is an L- shape room, plus another room with no doors all link together. So although you don't see all beds at once, you certainly can hear everyone in the room. People were talking loudly pass 12am in reception, and sound travel clearly in the dorm, there was no one to enforce the quiet time. Needless to say it was a sleepless night.

Their saving grace is good kitchen & common area, and clean bathrooms (although only 2 out of 3 shower cubicle works in the female, as one closet to sink don't mix hot & cold water).

We original thought staying in a HI for 1 night as a treat, BIG MISAKE! Definitely NOT Jasper HI . Camping is far better when it comes to this HI hostel. This one is a complete let down. Only stay here if you have heavy duty ear plugs, and don't mind in the middle of no where.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 'collective dorm' unless you don't mind snoring from every corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairyland_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staff weren't very welcoming and friendly and kept to themselves. Although great kitchen and living area the lack of atmosphere meant it was empty at times when other hostels would be buzzing. After staying at HI Toronto and HI Banff which were beyond awesome this place was so disappointing.

Don't get me started on the location!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Key to a nice stay in this hostel is expectation management. It is, after all, a hostel, at a rate of 25 CAD per night per bed, you should expect to get just what you pay for.

It is a big room with lots of people sleeping there. Expect that on warmer days the room would be smelly due to the number of people. On colder days the room could also be quite cold. There is a bin with lots of blankets and another shelf with clean sheets in case you need it. As all big open space, you can expect there will be loud snoring, the key to a comfortable night is to have your ear plugs with you, very important! The curfew of 11 pm and 8 am is strictly enforced, the lights in the dorm room go off automatically, which is good, but bring a torch in case you need to move around. Under the beds there were drawers which you could lock your personal belongings, but bring your own lock! The female bathroom has 3 toilets and 3 showers, during rush hours (right before bedtime or early morning) there could be sometimes a que for shower. Do not expect too much privacy. Wifi included in the rate.

We did not use the kitchen / living room area so cannot comment on that.

As for location, the hostel is located far far away (3 km) from the Jasper town, if you don't have your own transportation this would not be too convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goofymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for several nights in May and stayed in a private room. The rooms were comfortable and offered ample space. The female bathrooms were located in the bathrooms downstairs although they were not the cleanest.

The kitchen and eating area was very large and had multiple fridges and stoves for the guests to use. There was even a computer for guests to use.

The wifi worked well in both the common area and the bedrooms.

There was a female receptionist that was amazing but looked very overworked. There was a male receptionist who appeared to prefer drinking and lazing around with some of the clients rather than do any work.

I would advise that guests rent a car when visiting Jasper as the hostel is further away from the town but would also be helpful for visiting the nearby sites.

Room Tip: For the little bit extra the private rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After having read the trip advisor reviews, we were going to stay somewhere else (even in our car) but finally, we are happy to say that we had a good night. The 11 oclock curfew was well followed and we slept pretty well. This is a hostel and it is important to not have too high expectations when you sleep in a 28 bed dorm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGin600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was disappointed of this place. HI hostels are normally so nice, but this place was weird. The female dorm has 27 beds! I was surprised that I could sleep! But there is no privacy at all. Everything was just okay, kitchen quite small, just 3 showers in the female restroom, staff was not so nice.I think I would choose another place next time, especially because it's not in town itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiss-muffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We decided to give the kids a taste of hostel living so got a private room which 5 of us snugly fitted into with a playpen. The room had towels and sheets and a door that locked. The room could do with a good spring clean, but the beds were good. The kitchen was well stocked with room for food. The bathrooms only had 3showers and toilets, but never had to wait. The location was nice, out of town and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
751 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.5 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
744 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: $45 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing