We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Gate Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newagen Seaside Inn(Newagen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boothbay Resort(Boothbay)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bradley Inn(New Harbor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
216
103
36
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
103
36
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfping ponghot tubcedar buildingsouthport islandboothbay harbormadding crowdthe owner managerbook storequiet oasisexercise roomoff the beaten pathlobster bakequick lunchgeneral storeten minute drivecold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 376 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This resort has been our family favorite for many years ... Boothbay Harbor, Pemequid Point Lighthouse, and Monhegan Island are close and make for wonderful day trips from the resort. Remodeled rooms have been greatly improved with new pillowtop matresses and grounds are just beatuful. Even got to see a seal while we were kayaking this time just in front of Oceangate!!

Room Tip: Cedar Building has an excellent view and access to resort amenities
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you crave rest and relaxation then this is the place to go. The staff were friendly. We had a king room in the building on the water and it was like being right on the water. From the balcony the only thing you see is the water, the ospreys in their nest and the boats going by. As this is an inlet the boats were not running at full speed so even they were quiet. The grounds are beautiful with deep blue hydrangea's and Adirondack chairs. The included breakfast had plenty of variety and filled your belly for the day. The pool was clean but the liner could use a little fixing up. Unfortunately the hot tub was running through a cleaning process so we were not able to use it. The resort is close to Booth Bay Harbor where restaurants and shopping are to be found. This was our first stay here but not our last.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

When you first drive into Ocean Gate, past the swinging bridge, you drive through the "woods" on a dirt driveway and aren't really sure what to expect. The grounds are well-kept and boast bright blue hydrangeas. Check-in on a Sunday afternoon was painless. The desk manager, Georgina, let us know where the Waterfront building was and let us know that because we were celebrating our 10th Anniversary (and my 39th Birthday) that we were assigned Room 115, which is a corner room on the second floor with tons of privacy.

The room itself is not fancy, but the views are breathtaking. It's like being on a ship. We had panoramic views of the water and saw birds, lobster boats, kayaks, etc. right in front of us. Because we had a corner room, we also had this view from a window. The breeze coming off of the water was cooling -- no need for air conditioners and we could keep our slider and window open all night. The balcony was large enough to sit on and enjoy.

We had a King bed and flatscreen TV, and also there was an extra sink in the living area, which was convenient. The bathrooms looked like they had been redone. Good water pressure, but it did take a bit for the water to get hot -- no big deal.

We used the pool and hot tub and were the only ones in both when we visited late on Monday afternoon after we cycled Southport Island. I guess the only minuses were that the horseshoe "court" and minigolf "course" were both sadly lacking attention. The fitness center should not have even been called that -- but why work out inside when you have the natural surroundings to explore? We did not use the launch to kayak because we didn't have time, but it would have been a great activity.

Breakfast was fine - nothing spectacular, but certainly a step above the typical breakfast you get for free with chain hotels. The service and smiles from the staff made up for the lack of fresh fruit and variety, but I was not there to eat a gourmet breakfast anyway! Note that this resort does not serve lunch or dinner, so plan to leave the resort for those two meals!

I would say that the rustic feel actually relaxed us. The quiet was so welcome after a day of sightseeing in busy Boothbay. I would never stay in Boothbay after staying at Ocean Gate. It's really close to the Southport General Store and the little beach on the island. It's also close to Robinson's Wharf, where we ate lunch one day. We had some fun driving around the area and also found East Boothbay to be charming.

Give it a try. If you are looking for a classic Maine getaway, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Stay in the Waterfront Building and ask for Room 115.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a 4 and 2 year old and cannot recommend this resort highly enough.
It was our second visit to the resort travelling from the UK and we planned this trip to New England around 3 days at the resort.
Rooms are great and the view out on to the water is fantastic.
We took out kayaks, swum in the pool, played basketball and crazy golf in a packed but relaxing 3 days.
Staff were great, alway happy to help and took time to chat which gave the place a real family feel.
The breakfast was a bonus as it provided really good fuel for the day and was one of the best we had in out 2 week trip to the US.
We visits the aquarium and botanical gardens as well as an hour trip out on a boat from the harbour, all of which were well worth doing.
Saw a bad review on Trip advisor and cannot believe they went to the same resort we did as it is nothing like what we have experienced on both our visits.
Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Cedar rooms have a great view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitchintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

THANK YOU! We can't wait for you to come back as well. Thank you for comments that I think are typical of our guest experience here at Ocean Gate. We're glad that enjoyed your visit!

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our third time to stay at this place. The rooms are older but very clean and comfortable. We travel with a small dog and find this to be a very good place to stay. Nice views. The only negative is that the towels are very small and thin. They do serve a good breakfast. All of the workers we encountered were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews