We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Gate Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
$186
$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newagen Seaside Inn(Newagen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linekin Bay Resort(Boothbay Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
216
103
36
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
103
36
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfping ponghot tubcedar buildingsouthport islandboothbay harbormadding crowdthe owner managerbook storequiet oasisexercise roomoff the beaten pathlobster bakequick lunchgeneral storeten minute drivecold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 376 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I loved the Breakfast. The place is dated. Views were wonderful. Older TV. Our room was very clean. We were only there one night. Familes would have many things they could do. They had Putt Putt golf, pool, hot tub and boating. I would go back. The owner was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEasternShoreBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGate, Owner at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! It was great to hear that you found the rooms and beds to be comfortable and inviting. Our full hot breakfast buffet is always a hit so we are happy to hear that you are a fan as well! We are addressing the few weak spots in our wi-fi to provide better consistency throughout our expansive property.We look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We only spent one night in mid September but were very impressed. Beds were comfortable. Nice amenities. Pleasant and kind staff. Great all you can eat breakfast to get you going for the day. Took the free canoe for a paddle around the surrounding waters. The views from the rooms are simply breath taking. Only room for improvement was weak wifi in the room. Had to go to the pavilion to get wifi access. Could have just been a weak signal in our area. Highly recommend the resort. A little expensive but well worth it. You get what you pay for in this case.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Cedar building on the hill have been recently renovated and are great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_333_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first time staying at the resort. It was my wife, two kids (6 years old, and 2 years old) and myself in a newly remodeled unit with two queen beds, in the oceanfront building. I thought that the condition of this resort was remarkable considering its age. The grounds ranged from very nice to absolutely stunning. The location was superb, and the available activities made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts were very convenient and delicious, and the room service was very detail oriented. Our crib was waiting for us in our room when we arrived, which was the first of many excellent experiences with the service. Cheryl and Bernie were very warm and gracious hosts, checking in on us from time to time to see how we were enjoying our stay and to give us a tour of the resort. They also gave us great advice on things to do and places to go in the area. Bernie even gave my son and I a can of worms when he saw us walking toward the paddleboat with our fishing rods. Fortunately, we didn't even need the worms since the hungry bass anxiously sipped my dry flies off the surface while my 6 year old paddled me around the fish pond a half dozen times! The kayaking and canoeing was fantastic in the calm saltwater inlet. Lots of birds and scenery around every corner. We were there for a break from the heat of the Texas summer, and this portion of our trip was refreshing and memorable. Thanks Ocean Gate!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room. Not all have been remodeled.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akbugguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The resort is tucked away in a remote area of Southport yet close enough to the traffic laden area of Booth Bay. The grounds are clean and detailed. The owners take great strides to insure a quality stay. The rooms are comfortable and all have a beautiful view of a tranquil bay. The amenities are plentiful and the breakfast is amazing. Bernie, the resort manager is a hard working, courteous man devoted to make your stay as pleasant as humanly possible. I would most definitely return and highly suggest you try this one... especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a place!! This resort was carved out for the express goal of making the traveler relax and feeling pampered. The resort, though remote, is close to the Boothbay attractions. Our room had its own balcony and since it was located around the corner from a marina, we enjoyed the boat traffic, from yachts and pleasure craft to sailboats and kayaks. The friendliness of the staff is a plus, they know how to make their guest feel special. The multiple amenities give no excuse for boredom. Included are: kayaks, canoes, an Olympic-sized heated pool with a view of the bay, mini golf, ping pong, tennis, a fitness center and lots of places to sit on the lawns and have conversations. The hot breakfast didn't leave anything out, from lovely scrambled eggs and Canadian bacon to waffles, pancakes, hot cereal, just to name a few treats, was unexpected and appreciated. We didn't need lunch after that. The grounds are beautiful, flowers all around and ocean, ocean, ocean. Who can ask for anything more? Do yourself a favor and be good to you by reserving a place at Ocean Gate Resort, Southport Maine.
Two very satisfied Massachusetts residents who call Maine our second home.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews