We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Ice Walk

Ice Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided interpretive hikes on the Athabasca Glacier at the Columbia Icefield, since 1985.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a must do if you are in the area. You walk up the glacier with an experienced guide (we were lucky enough to have Bernard Faure who has spent the last 40 years in the mountains) who brings it all to life. You get to see the cravaces from close quarters, feel the air in the mountains and touch the glacial waters.

Don't make the mistake of going up on one of the noisy, smelly buses which slog their way up full to the brim with 40 or so others and no opportunit to stand, stare and behold the wonder of where you are.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshburtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    25
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batya
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible tour”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A group of 2 families tok the tour ( 10 people) including 9 year old children.
From the dressing up in spikes to the marvelous views of the ice the tour was incredible.
We saw the glacier like no one sees it. The clear blue ice, the wells, the eater under our legs.
For people coming from a warm country this was a once in a lifetime ecperience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank idanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A fantastic experience and one we will not forgot. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out many interesting features. I'm a Geography teacher and I learned a lot from him! If you can manage a gently sloping 3 hour walk then we would thoroughly recommend it as opposed to the 'bus tour'. Be sure to wrap up warm though. It really is chilly even in August!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudgazer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Glacier Visit”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Banff and Jasper a few weeks ago. The Ice Walk was one of the highlights of our trip. Our kids (8 and 11) are active and it was a great way to get out of the car and get out on the ice. They both loved looking into a crevasse and learning about the Athabasca Glacier. Our guide did a really nice job keeping them interested as we walked up and then back down with tidbits of information and humor. We hiked the afternoon tour and were there from 1-4:30. They also provided us with boots (I loved mine and will buy some if I find them) and hats/ mittens which were needed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hpvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
286 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Take a guided walk on a glacier”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the Banff/Lake Louise area, be sure to plan a day around the 3 hour "Ice Cubed" hike at Athabasca Glacier. The hike, led by experienced guides, provides insights into the dynamics of a glacier. We took the 10am hike which was done by 1:00pm. While steadily uphill it was not a demanding hike at all. Athabasca is likely one of the more accessible glaciers in North America. It was certainly one of the highlights of our time in the Canadian Rockies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Walk also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Ice Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing