We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst places I have stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasper House Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour so I did not have a choice. The location is terrible. You are about two miles from anything. It is on a river but there is only so long you can stare at a river. The food was poor and ridiculously overpriced. Beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Water was even quirky at times. Turn it to the left: hot water. Turn it to the right: hot water. Forget internet. If the lodge's own internet were this poor, they could not run a business. Of course, no air conditioning. If you have a cross wind cabin, you can possibly get a breeze but not if your cabin faces the other way. I have a thermometer and the room temperature got into the 80s both days we were here. My wife and I are very experienced travelers and have done the lodge routine before. We don't expect the Hilton but it should be better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which the cross wind will go through the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasperHS, General Manager at Jasper House Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hello Deltatraveler2012

thank you for taking time to give us your feedback regarding our resort. We were surprised to read that you didn't like our property because of our beautiful location, food, internet and lack of air conditioning. As EXPERIENCED travelers I would strongly recommend going to the front desk to express your concerns such as the water tap so we could have fixed it at the time of your stay. We also would have gladly found you alternative accommodations in the center of town with strong internet and air conditioning in one of the many large motel style hotels.

As our location is outside of town the(satellite) internet is weaker especially during the world cup. We are currently working on it to make it stronger for all guests but in the meantime we will continue to NOT advertise on our website that we offer wifi. All rooms have a fan supplied during our two to three week period on warm weather.

sincerely,

Ryan Osmond
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 439 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location on a beautiful river with majestic mountains in the background. Would highly recommend this for families. Beautiful river trails. Cabins were clean, we'll equipped and very spacious. Pleasant staff. The only drawback was the buffet breakfast that was cold and not well prepared.

Room Tip: The family cabins were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the view out of the window of the Athabasca river and the mountains was wonderful. The small kitchenette enabled us to prepare breakfast/snacks at our leisure and Jasper was only a short distance away. There is also an on site restaurant. Unfortunately on the night we ate there we experienced a considerable delay between ordering our meal and its appearance however in response to our query regarding the delay apologies were promptly offered and we were given a discount by way of recompence and the meal when it arrived was good. (I think the arrival of a coach party might have contributed to the delay). All in all we would stay here again if we had the opportunity.

Room Tip: Go for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheenaEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

1) On the Athabasaca River - beautiful location
2) Looks like it was built in the 1950's inside the rooms
3) Beds had Army type matresses - very thin and very bouncy - bottom fitted sheet didn't fit
4) At night, lighting is very weak
5) No air conditioning - so if hot - deal with it - small oscillating fan provided
6) Restaurant there on premises but owned separately so can't charge to your room - buffet breakfast was good and service was good.
7) Place is frequented by bears (some big grizzlies) so very cool if you like bears - which we do. Just look around first. Also frequented by elk, deer lynx etc.
8) Nice benches by river to sit and enjoy the scenery - gazebo with seats and views also - very nice.
9) We travel to see bears - 20 different sightings in Jasper area in 2 days so rooms to us not really important - just place to to sleep.

Room Tip: Request room by river - nice view and love sound of flowing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Jasper House last Sep. We were so happy with the environment that we decide to make it "THE" place to stay on our annual trip to Canada. We were there again 3 weeks ago and found no reservation because I didn't to click " FINISH " icon to complete the reservation.
Luckily, we not only had room to stay for 5 days but also got discount for returning to stay, thanks to Ryan and Michelle.

Can not say enough about this place , it is the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a few nights here and I have to say it was fabulous. Relaxing, lovely little walk to the river and saw heaps of local wildlife including Mum and Cub on way badk from gondola. And had a near run in with an elk. The young girl on the reception desk was lovely. Wifi was a bit ify from the room so spent a bit of time in the office area on the comfy lounge uploading to FB. Keep this place in mind if you are after a neat tidy, relaxing place to return to after a long day of sight seeing or hiking.....

Room Tip: There are some nice rooms down the back on the river if you are after something on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniC957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely small bungalows, fairly well equipped, friendly staff, lovely views of the Athabasca River, a little away from the main town- almost 3 kms, but if you are driving around- very convenient with free parking. No breakfast in the hotel- so one has to go into the main town to have the first meal of the day which was a little inconvenient...washing machine and driers within the premises making it easier to travel light,

Overall, a nice experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter100169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
4.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper House Bungalows

Address: Highway 93, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasper House Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jasper House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper House Bungalows Hotel Jasper National Park
Jasper Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing