We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but accommodation ooking very "tired"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasper House Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasper House Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but accommodation ooking very "tired"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Jasper House Bungalows in a 1 bedroomed unit with kitchenette. The location is excellent. The accommodation however is a different matter. I am sure at one time it would have been charming but now the furnishings and fittings are quite worn and tired and kitchen equipment (pans etc) below standard. The bath towels were the size of large hand towels. The room was advertised and booked and confirmed with free WiFi - in fact the Wifi did not work at any time during our stay, no matter where we positioned ourselves on the property. The laundry facilities were in terrible shape - 2 out of 3 washing machines were not working and the room itself was dirty and the one rubbish bin, overflowing. We did bring this to the attention of the receptionist, but it was received with the casual indifference which seemed to be her modus operandi. On the positive side we loved the position of the unit and its layout. However, given we paid 425 CAD for two nights including taxes, we do not feel it was value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    152
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
116
193
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Set beside a beautiful glacier fed river, this charming property is a delightful place to stay. There are log cabin type bungalows and motel type rooms. We were on a group tour and had one of the motel type rooms that did not have kitchen facilities. We had 2 double beds, a small bathroom. Beds were comfy. There are walking trails along the river. There is a community fire pit. Elk frequently can be seen near or on the property at dusk. There is a restaurant on site that is adequate, but the food is nothing special. The servers were great. We loved being away from the busyness of the town and enjoyed the rustic setting.

Room Tip: Chose a riverside room/bungalow and you can go to sleep hearing the rushing river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slorettao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I will get the bad points out of the way.
- The cabin was dark and a bit dingy
- Cooking facilities were borderline ok but the pans and crockery were from the 70's
- Walking to Jasper is probably borderline for an evening out (2km one way)

However on to the positive points
- It really must be one of the best places to stay in Jasper.
- The grounds are a great combination of well kept managed "park" and wild Rockies.
- Just 30 steps out of the door and you have a great view down the river and onto wonderful vistas.
- Housekeeping was good - everything kept clean.
- Jasper itself is a lot quieter but a lot nicer than Banff. Wish I had stayed here more than 3 days (both the accommodation and the town)
- Value for money.

Room Tip: Only pick the cabins on the river - the other cabins have less of a good view (onto the car park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and wished it could have been a lot longer. They had bungalows situated around the grounds and by the lake. Talk about private! They had walking paths lined with lantern light fixtures and it was so romantic. We had a wood burning fireplace in our room and a killer view. The hotel had two restaurants and they both are fantastic. It was just the two of us, but families were also there and seemed to be having a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you like semi-rustic, then this is a good place for you.
These dark interior wooden cabins are not air conditioned, but you are provided with a portable fan. There are no room darkening shades so that the room is lit up at daybreak. These wooden
structures do not have a sprinkler system - not even in the dining room. There is a fire extinguisher in the room, but it i placed next to the heater - the most logical place where a fire would begin. It should be placed by the door.

I found the bed uncomfortable - but that is a personal taste. No place in the room to plug in an electrical device unless you have an extension cord. Even in the bathroom, you could not have a night light unless you turned on the switch for the room light - HUH?

Coffee machine with tea, coffee and decaf coffee in room. No telephone in room. The shower was forceful and hot

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirmontSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with three kids (aged 8, 10 and 12) in the middle of a camping trip around the Rockies. The staff were friendly and the place was clean and modern. We were in a deluxe suite which provided a double bedroom, and a sofa bed and small double bed in the living area. We used the room's cooking facilities and ate in the restaurant one night. It isn't a luxury restaurant but both the food and service was good and great for a family dinner or at the end of a long day sighseeing. There is a coin laundry on site too which was really useful for us to get washing done mid way through the holiday.

The location is really easy for Jasper and a great base for the hot springs and ice fields parkway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one week in August 2013. We asked for a river front end suite and we're glad we did. The suite part of the buildings faces the river and a small pathway, which goes down to the river and is delightful.(We saw some caribou one night.) We enjoyed relaxing in the picnic chairs provided facing the river after a long day of hiking. The structure we were in was a an attached 4 unit . We never heard our next door neighbors and I think it's due to the fact that there's a small hallway/entrance in between adjoining structures so you're never bedroom to bedroom, unlike many motels and hotels. One of the rare annoying features of this setup was that you could always here when someone used the water system, pipes et al. Can't really help it in that kind of building, and it wasn't really that big a deal The bedroom itself is small but we didn't really care that much..more a place to relax and sleep and we had the suite part to hang out in during the evenings.. TV worked fine. I found the beds a bit on the hard side((and mine squeaked) and the pillows quite thin but being really pooped after some vigorous days, I slept fine. Our mini fridge was a bit noisy due to some loose metal but a few vigorous hand pats took care of things. I dealt with the afternoon/evening front desk person and she was delightful and very helpful whenever I asked for anything.(more pillows.) The facility is a quick 5 minute drive from Jasper and very close to the Tramway which is really worth taking. We didn't eat there but were told by others that did that the food was very good. There are quite a few bus tours that stay here (for 1 or 2 nights at a time) but they never bothered us and were situated in another part of the grounds. We did notice that there is a stand alone unit #28 which might be nice for a sense of privacy. We were also told it's booked up quite a bit in advance. I'd say it would be worth trying that one but be aware it's pricier. Unlike previous posts, we had no issues with mosquitoes at all. Maybe it was the time of the year we went (mid-late August) post bug season? We also used the coin operated laundromat on premise, which was very helpful after a long rainy slippery hike we did one day.
We actually liked being in this quiet serene location away from town yet close enough to go in almost nightly for meals and some looking around. Very conducive to reading, relaxing, resting and sleeping.
House service was prompt and did a good job, on a daily basis. All the staff seemed friendly and accommodating .
Jasper itself is way over priced and this facility is a nice compromise between comfortable rustic and reasonable pricing. Luxury it isn't so don't stay here if you're looking to be pampered.
Again do ask for a riverfront suite..it's far from the road and you hear the gentle sounds of the river going by..Lovely...

Room Tip: Ask for river front or #28 if you want an unattached unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper House Bungalows

Property: Jasper House Bungalows
Address: Highway 93, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasper House Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jasper House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper House Bungalows Hotel Jasper National Park
Jasper Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing