We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rustic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasper House Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Set beside a beautiful glacier fed river, this charming property is a delightful place to stay. There are log cabin type bungalows and motel type rooms. We were on a group tour and had one of the motel type rooms that did not have kitchen facilities. We had 2 double beds, a small bathroom. Beds were comfy. There are walking trails along the river. There is a community fire pit. Elk frequently can be seen near or on the property at dusk. There is a restaurant on site that is adequate, but the food is nothing special. The servers were great. We loved being away from the busyness of the town and enjoyed the rustic setting.

Room Tip: Chose a riverside room/bungalow and you can go to sleep hearing the rushing river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slorettao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 439 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I will get the bad points out of the way.
- The cabin was dark and a bit dingy
- Cooking facilities were borderline ok but the pans and crockery were from the 70's
- Walking to Jasper is probably borderline for an evening out (2km one way)

However on to the positive points
- It really must be one of the best places to stay in Jasper.
- The grounds are a great combination of well kept managed "park" and wild Rockies.
- Just 30 steps out of the door and you have a great view down the river and onto wonderful vistas.
- Housekeeping was good - everything kept clean.
- Jasper itself is a lot quieter but a lot nicer than Banff. Wish I had stayed here more than 3 days (both the accommodation and the town)
- Value for money.

Room Tip: Only pick the cabins on the river - the other cabins have less of a good view (onto the car park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and wished it could have been a lot longer. They had bungalows situated around the grounds and by the lake. Talk about private! They had walking paths lined with lantern light fixtures and it was so romantic. We had a wood burning fireplace in our room and a killer view. The hotel had two restaurants and they both are fantastic. It was just the two of us, but families were also there and seemed to be having a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funtraveler646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you like semi-rustic, then this is a good place for you.
These dark interior wooden cabins are not air conditioned, but you are provided with a portable fan. There are no room darkening shades so that the room is lit up at daybreak. These wooden
structures do not have a sprinkler system - not even in the dining room. There is a fire extinguisher in the room, but it i placed next to the heater - the most logical place where a fire would begin. It should be placed by the door.

I found the bed uncomfortable - but that is a personal taste. No place in the room to plug in an electrical device unless you have an extension cord. Even in the bathroom, you could not have a night light unless you turned on the switch for the room light - HUH?

Coffee machine with tea, coffee and decaf coffee in room. No telephone in room. The shower was forceful and hot

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirmontSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with three kids (aged 8, 10 and 12) in the middle of a camping trip around the Rockies. The staff were friendly and the place was clean and modern. We were in a deluxe suite which provided a double bedroom, and a sofa bed and small double bed in the living area. We used the room's cooking facilities and ate in the restaurant one night. It isn't a luxury restaurant but both the food and service was good and great for a family dinner or at the end of a long day sighseeing. There is a coin laundry on site too which was really useful for us to get washing done mid way through the holiday.

The location is really easy for Jasper and a great base for the hot springs and ice fields parkway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one week in August 2013. We asked for a river front end suite and we're glad we did. The suite part of the buildings faces the river and a small pathway, which goes down to the river and is delightful.(We saw some caribou one night.) We enjoyed relaxing in the picnic chairs provided facing the river after a long day of hiking. The structure we were in was a an attached 4 unit . We never heard our next door neighbors and I think it's due to the fact that there's a small hallway/entrance in between adjoining structures so you're never bedroom to bedroom, unlike many motels and hotels. One of the rare annoying features of this setup was that you could always here when someone used the water system, pipes et al. Can't really help it in that kind of building, and it wasn't really that big a deal The bedroom itself is small but we didn't really care that much..more a place to relax and sleep and we had the suite part to hang out in during the evenings.. TV worked fine. I found the beds a bit on the hard side((and mine squeaked) and the pillows quite thin but being really pooped after some vigorous days, I slept fine. Our mini fridge was a bit noisy due to some loose metal but a few vigorous hand pats took care of things. I dealt with the afternoon/evening front desk person and she was delightful and very helpful whenever I asked for anything.(more pillows.) The facility is a quick 5 minute drive from Jasper and very close to the Tramway which is really worth taking. We didn't eat there but were told by others that did that the food was very good. There are quite a few bus tours that stay here (for 1 or 2 nights at a time) but they never bothered us and were situated in another part of the grounds. We did notice that there is a stand alone unit #28 which might be nice for a sense of privacy. We were also told it's booked up quite a bit in advance. I'd say it would be worth trying that one but be aware it's pricier. Unlike previous posts, we had no issues with mosquitoes at all. Maybe it was the time of the year we went (mid-late August) post bug season? We also used the coin operated laundromat on premise, which was very helpful after a long rainy slippery hike we did one day.
We actually liked being in this quiet serene location away from town yet close enough to go in almost nightly for meals and some looking around. Very conducive to reading, relaxing, resting and sleeping.
House service was prompt and did a good job, on a daily basis. All the staff seemed friendly and accommodating .
Jasper itself is way over priced and this facility is a nice compromise between comfortable rustic and reasonable pricing. Luxury it isn't so don't stay here if you're looking to be pampered.
Again do ask for a riverfront suite..it's far from the road and you hear the gentle sounds of the river going by..Lovely...

Room Tip: Ask for river front or #28 if you want an unattached unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights having travelled from lake louise and before we went on the rocky mountaineer train to Vancouver . The site is out of the town but in a beautiful location . There is an on site restaurant which we used one night . A simple menu but the service was excellent . It was so nice to sit outside to eat on the hot evening . The bungalows are very comfortable , equipped with everything you need . The highlight was the family of elks walking past our window in the early morning and late evening . We wish we had stayed longer , everyone was so helpful .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helyvic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
4.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper House Bungalows

Address: Highway 93, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasper House Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jasper House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper House Bungalows Hotel Jasper National Park
Jasper Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing