We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After reading mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“After reading mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised...”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We read lots of mixed reviews about this hotel. I imagine in the peak of summer it may be as others have described -busy, noisy and no options but to pay ridiculous prices at the restaurant. However, in the off season (ie. the last week it is open) it was a delight. The room was large enough for five of us. It didn't have a fridge, but luckily it was cold enough for us to leave the milk out in the car!! We borrowed bowls and spoons from the kitchen and had cereal with us to have breakfast in our room. We ate in the Restaurant one night, and we were offered such a cheap rate, we stayed a second night but drove up to Jasper and had dinner there. The view of the Glacier from the room is stunning (albeit the window a bit small). We loved the isolation and quiet after the tour buses had gone. We bundled up warmly and did a walk up to the bottom part of the glacier which was wild, windy, icy and good fun. And the bus trip was good -blizzardly cold but fun and novel for the kids. My husband did say however he heard a mouse like creature in the room the first night (he didn't tell the rest of us till after we'd left!!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australians_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    161
    110
    54
    28
See reviews for
162
203
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mts NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed here last year as well as this year. Last year we stayed first day of cheaper time- half price in September so if on a budget do this( a lot colder though) Excellent food in the restaurant. Great to be there when all the other tourists have gone. Terrific view so if you'll only go once make sure you get the glacier view. It is an expensive place to stay but certainly memorial.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshBlueMtsNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Glacier View Inn for one night in early August. We decided to stay at this Inn basically for the convenience of being next to the Columbia Icefield area, with a great view of the glacier from the room and also as a strategic location close to some great hiking trails. The Glacier View Inn occupies the third floor of the Icefield Center. The Front Desk, gift shop, Glacier Experience Terminal and Jasper National Park Information Desk occupy the main floor. On the lower level, the Jasper National Park operates "The Glacier Gallery", this is an interpretive center with information on the Columbia icefield area.

We booked a room with a view to the glacier (how many times will we get to have this opportunity again anyway?). We booked through Expedia, got a fairly good deal considering the high season (183 USD including taxes). We were pleasantly surprised to get a large room with a den area that includes two twin beds, the room can easily host 6 people (pictures attached)... certainly more space than what we really needed but it was still nice. The room had no radio and a TV that was not operational, no remote control and the ON/OFF switch had been removed. We decided not to make a big deal of it but we wondered why they had that skeleton TV at the room in the first place. The room was clean and decently furnished. The nicest thing about the room was the view to the glacier and the Columbia Icefield area, it is a truly special sight (see pictures of the glacier taken in the early evening and in the early morning).

The Inn offers a full dining room and a cafeteria. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was actually better than expected (given all the reviews we read). My husband ordered fish as the main course which was quite tasty and portion was the right size. I ordered two appetizers (soup and fried calamari), both of them really good and plentiful. The wait staff was friendly, cordial and offered fairly good service. Overall we got a nice impression of the restaurant and service.

Parking for hotel guests was located in the south side of the Inn (close to where the buses come in and out); there is a footbridge that connects the parking area to the south side Inn entrance. The Inn offers service to pick your luggage at your vehicle if you request it at the lobby area, but it is a short walking distance from the parking area to the Inn if you are bringing carry on luggage.

We recommend to stay at this Inn for the convenience of being close to the Columbia Icefield area, especially if you plan to take one of the morning tours to the Glacier, either the icewalk or the Snocoach Tour. This place is also close to the Parker Ridge trail which is a must-do for hikers, with spectacular views of the Saskatchewan Glacier from the ridge top trail. Don't expect a five-star hotel service, but overall it is a decent Inn in a great location and with many services for tourists visiting the Icefield Center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here in mid August as we wanted to be on the first Icefield tour then away. I got a reasonable rate booking early on expedia. If this hotel were anywhere else then not many would stay here. As previously mentioned the only place to eat is the on site restaurant, the food is average and expensive.
The cleaniness of the rooms left a lot to be desired, on opening the pullout sofa bed I found some grapes left by the previous occupier and there were cotton buds on the floor next to the double bed and hairs in the bathroom.
I could not even turn the tv on because the on switch was missing.
Because this place is self sufficient and they generate their own electricity we got very little sleep due to constant noise of the generators.
Because they have no competition at all in the area it seems they can take liberties, luckily we had a very enjoyable trip the following morning on the glacier and an excellent driver but we were glad to have checked out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here due to the location. We had a nice room with a great view of the glacier. It was great to be in the first group out to the glacier in the morning. We had dinner in the dining room. Service was good and food was good. We did have breakfast included the next morning and did have the breakfast buffet. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very expesive and no better than many Super 8 Hotels for 5 times the price. Save your money and drive on to Jasper or Lake Louise after seeing the glaciers. Just a 1 hour and 20 minute drive south you can stay at places 10 times better for half the price. We were very disapointed with both the service and lack of any amenities at this hotel. Shame on Parks Canada for such a sham. After relizing how bad of a deal this was, we were told we could not cancell the room. There is No WiFi in the room and were told we could use the public terminals for $1 per 15 minutes in the main concourse. The Cafe and Resturaunt are a rip off also. We paid $18 for a beer, a bottle of water and plate of fries. Pack a Lunch, come see the glaciers and stay somewhere else. Everthing closes here at 6pm except for a very expensive resturaunt that closes at 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sultansofscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Glacier View Inn was a huge disappointment. We felt utterly robbed. After staying there I really must question the validity of reviews that give this hotel a good rating.

First of all, it's in the middle of nowhere and the amenities are sparse. The building is essentially a bus terminal with motel style rooms above. The distance from the car park to the hotel is a huge inconvenience if you have luggage and no one will help you with your bags.

We booked a room which was suppose to have a view of the glacier..HA..what a joke! The window was so small that only one of us could view the glacier at a time whilst standing up. If you sit, there is a huge black bar from the window that blocks the view of the glacier. It is a disgrace that they charge extra for this limited view.

Priced at $304 dollars a night (with tax) we expected a decent room but what we found were several pubic hairs in the bathroom, the room smelled of stale cigarette smoke, no minibar to keep our drinks cold, a water saving tap that made shaving, brushing teeth and hand washing a real pain.

My advice is stop at the glacier and move on. Do not stay at the Glacier View..move on to Jasper where there are better hotels for far less money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#12 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#10 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing