We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“neat place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“neat place”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while travelling through the Rockies with family. It is a neat place to stay for a night because of the novelty of the icefield but there isn't much else to do. For us, that didn't matter as we were knackered and went to bed early!

My only complaint would be the prices in the dining room. I paid $19.00 for average spagetti and meat sauce. Of course, there are no choices up there so they can charge whatever they want. We should have been more prepared and eaten en route. Our meal for four cost almost as much as our room did, and we only had water to drink. Crazy prices!

It was really nice to get up and be able to take the first bus trip onto the glacier. The bus was practically empty - not many tourists at that hour! By the time we returned to the chalet, the place was buzzing with activity but we avoided it and went straight to Jasper.

I would recommend this hotel, but only for one night, and only if you don't mind having nothing to do. It is quite relaxing if you just want to hike a bit and then veg out!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    161
    110
    54
    28
See reviews for
162
203
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

While I researched this location, I did not fully realize just how remote this place was until we arrived. We only stayed one night, as I was not feeling well and didn't want to be THAT far from civilization for too long. It is exactly what it states...ICE FIELDS.

Pros:
The view was indeed breathtaking and the hotel rooms were
extremely clean. If you want nature, this is THE top place to visit in Canada. Go during the "off-peak" seaon and save around $100 a night like I did (pay around $150 instead of the summer $250 rates).
We left some important papers behind at the hotel shuttle and the staff made sure to call us and get our address to mail the papers home. Fantastic wildlife photo ops along the way. We spotted bears, elk, etc. Simply beautiful.

Cons:
The stairs (in the high alititude) are impossible for a lot of people
to climb. Even after seeing the pictures on the web site, I thought we could climb them...until we arrived in the cold rain and found out
otherwise (thankfully, a shuttle was there to pick us up). No air conditioning. While it was cold outside, the rooms (especially the loft above) became too warm. Opening the window wasn't an option (rain) and it would not have helped the upstairs part of the room anyway. You pay for wilderness, so no pool, tv with only four channels, and NO cell phone service or internet.

Overall, this is a very nice place, but it's only for those who really want to get away from it all. Don't even bother looking for a gas station or convenience store nearby...there are none. Pack most
of what you'll need for your duration and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — Spectacular view
  • Disliked — Extremely remote...no cell phone service or service stations
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie32Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

We stayed at the Chalet in September on our trip through the Rockies. Our room had a glacier view, it was spectacular watching the sun set over it. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The loft rooms would be great for a family with older kids. Too many steps to the loft bed for really young children. The Cafe does close at 6pm which only leaves the restaurant to eat at. We enjoyed a fantastic meal while looking out over the glacier. What a view to have while enjoying a fabulous meal and excellent service. When your a long way from any other towns I think you have to expect meals to be dearer but the food was fantastic. Would stay there again and definately recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TkynF6496NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

What an experience. We arrived around 5:00 PM as the tourists were departing. It does not get dark until after 10:00 - the experience of going out and viewing the glacier with no one around was amazing. We did not have a glacier view, but had many opportunities to go outside to view. The rooms were very nice, especially the loft. I had read the reviews of the meal options. We did have dinner with meals around 22.00 dollars each. But with an amazing view, who could complain - and the food was great. Actually the hamburgers we had in the cafeteria the next day were interesting (we actually wondered if it was hamburger). The staff was extremely helpful. Would we stay there again? Yes! It was an experience to ge in the middle of nowhere with modern luxuries with amazing scenery. Well worth the $225.00 dollars.

  • Liked — the scenery
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smoky624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We found our room spacious and comfortable. It was good value at $110 in early June (but it's more in the peak season). There were tea and coffee making facilities. The dinner at the restaurant (in the same building but apparently separately owned and run) was quite nice.

Unfortunately you need to walk up 74 steps to get into the building, not an easy task with luggage. If you arrive by bus this probably isn't necessary, as the bus parking lot is on a higher level. Clearly they had recognised this problem, and offered assistance with luggage, but when we arrived the porter wasn't around and we would have had to wait half an hour. When we left they took us down the hill to the car in a courtesy shuttle.

Our room had only one, small, north-facing window and no overhead lights so it was rather dark. The room smelt of Chinese food when we arrived.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

The Chalet was perfectly situated with great views of the Icefield. Our standard room was very large, spacious and exceptionally clean. The Chinese Restaurant served up fantastic (and huge) meals, not one of the cheapest we had during our holiday but well worth the extra, along with great service by very cheerful waiters enquiring about our holiday plans! We had breakfast in the cafeteria which was slightly cheaper than the restaurant whilst overlooking the glacier. We recommend the Glacier Hike which lasts 3-4 hours and much more exciting than getting the sno-coach, that's if you have the stamina for it!!!

  • Liked — Close to the glacier for great hiking
  • Disliked — The amount of steps you have to climb to get to the reception!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — If in two minds, do the glacier hike rather than take the Sno-Coach
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

The Icefield Center has a fabulous location and the views of the glaciers and icefield from our room were terrific. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
The rooms, however, were annoyingly uncomfortable for the most mundane of reasons. We were going to stay three nights in order to be there while celebrating our 44th anniversary. But we left one day early and had to travel on our anniversary.
The faucets in the bathroom sink are spring loaded. What this meant was you needed three hands to work the water. You had to hold the faucet open with one hand which meant you either had only hot or only cold water. Aside from freezing or burning yourself you are unable to wash your hands if your hand is holding the faucet! This may seem trivial, but it is extremely annoying. Even public restrooms with five or ten second delay faucets are more convenient to use. Eventually I found it easier to wash my hands in the bathtub. Considering the prices for rooms I don't think a useable sink is unreasonable.
The location of the hotel is far away from any city and surrounded by tall mountains so naturally there isn't cable TV. They claim to have a satellite hook-up, and the picture quality seems to support that. If they have satelite reception it seems reasonable that they could receive more than 5 channels.
There is a restaurant and a cafeteria on the second floor. The cafeteria had a limited but somewhat reasonably priced selection. The restaurant is simply grossly overpriced. As there is nowhere else to go for anything within an hours drive it is important to note the cafeteria closes at 6 PM and doesn't serve breakfast. Only the overpriced restaurant serves a breakfast. You can, however, make do with a pastry and coffee from the cafeteria.

As fascinating as seeing the Icefield from our room and the tour out onto the glacier which is offered from the Icefield Center; I wouldn't recommend staying there for more than one night at the very most. Since the tour lasts about an hour and a half and it is only about 75 to 90 minutes from Jasper it is easy to stay elsewhere and enjoy the glacier experience. It is also possible for a slightly longer drive to stay in Banff or Lake Louise.

Helpful?
4 Thank rrrfrstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#12 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#10 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing